We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smart hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Smart hotel in a great location”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Hotel Niwa is a very short walk from the railway station. It's located in a quiet street and is easy to find. The staff were welcoming and helpful, and the room was beautifully decorated. If you don't mind walking it's a reasonable minute walk to Ginza, Nihonbashi, the Imperial palace, Tokyo Dome, or just a couple of stops on the train to Akihabara, Tokyo station, etc.

We stayed in a superior twin, the sleeping space and bathroom were both large and spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable. It had more "traditional" features than other western style hotels - sliding screens in the window, an iron teapot and green tea cup set with green tea bags to make a welcome cup of tea.

There was free fast wifi in the room. The hotel was peaceful and quiet and I didn't hear any noise during the whole stay.

A great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcus_uk2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your review, and feedback. We appreciate to hear that your had comfortable and pleasant stay with us. Yes, we do have a unique concept of Modern Japanese, which has been very popular and gaining high reputation among overseas guests. Once you are getting into our hotel, you will find difference between ohter hotels.
Once again, thank you for choosing us while your visiting Tokyo, and We hope that you will be back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,185
    647
    82
    20
    13
See reviews for
342
836
244
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

First I would like to state that Hotel Niwa is absolutely fantastic. The staff was exceptionally nice, the rooms were of great standard and cleanliness. The breakfast buffet was very good and the miso soup served was probably the best I've ever tasted. When choosing a Hotel to stay at when you're going to Tokyo, I think you need to take in to account where you want to be and what you want to see. Unless you have your eyes set on an area where you mainly want to be during your stay in Tokyo, I think the location of Hotel Niwa is spot on. With less than a 5 minute walk to the Suidobashi station and then a 5 minute train ride to Akihabara or 10 minutes to Shinjuku, you could not ask to be more central.

Also, and this is a big one, Hotel Niwa has comfortable beds! It was only after we left Niwa for another Hotel in Kyoto that we came to appreciate it so much. Compared to the three other hotels we stayed at during our two week long holiday to Japan Niwa had, by far, the most comfortable bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback as it would help us to improve our quality of service.
Here at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, we always try to make our guests to relax, feeling like at home with our concept "Modern Japanese". It was very nice to hear that you had a good stay and liked our style. We hope that you will be back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The rooms were very clean and the bed inredibly comfortable. The price did not reflect the quality of the hotel, the service and the location, just a couple of stations away from Ueno, Akihabara and Shinjuku. Would not stay anywhere else in Tokyo. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FriaRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo as your home away from home. I appreciated that you have taken the time to let us know your experience and feeling towards our hotel. Hoping to have continuous support from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

the location is excellent, a 5 minute walk from the sudobashi station (and 10 minutes from 2 other stations). as you walk in you're greeted by a peaceful entrance and you instantly relax. the front desk staff were very attentive and helpful, and our check-in was faultless. the room itself was tiny (as one would expect in tokyo) but it had everything you need. the bathroom was brilliant, with all the toiletries and thingies beautifully wrapped and presented. and of course, the fully automatic toto. i can't vouch for the food since we didn't eat there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drsoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy heat that you had a good time with us.
We have two restaurants-Grill&Bar LIEU and Japanese Cuisine YUKURI.
Please try to eat at our restaurant LIEU and YUKURI for your next time.
Thank you again and our helpful staff we look forward to serving you again!

Mie ITO
Guest Relations Manager
HOTEL NIWA TOKYO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

As soon as entering the hotel, you are in a nice peaceful atmosphere that whole lobby is nicely decorated as “modern Japanese”. The staff were very friendly when checking in. I dropped my suitcase off before check-in time and it was already in my room when I checked in. After the check-in process, the staff took me to the elevator hall and had a bit of conversation while waiting for the elevator, which had a nice personal touch! The hallway and the room were again nicely decorated in modern Japanese style. The room was decent size, spotless, great and comprehensive cable/wireless internet available for free.
In the hotel, there was a room with massage chair which was very nice (!), and a gym next to it – both rooms face onto a Japanese style garden. There was a laundry room with two washing machines and dryers (unfortunately I couldn't use them coz they were occupied, but was impressed how the laundry room was again spotless!).
This hotel is reasonably priced for the level of the service and facilities. I will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwicatNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relation at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo as your home away from home.
I appreciated with your comments which, you did like our hotel concept “ Aesthetic Modern Japanese “, and not many of hotels in Japan have thisy kind of style. In addition, we always try to provide comfort environment for our guests, and are very pleased to hear all of your experience during your stay .
Once again, thank you for staying with us, and hope to be in your service again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in Niwa 3 nights (after reading the reviews in tripadvisor) and loved it. Our room was spotless, the bed was very comfortable (and long enough! not something you take for granted in Japan) and the bathroom very well equipped; a powerful shower, a shining bath and of course, a Japanese toilet (-: Having a safe (free of charge) was very useful too.The air-con is quiet which is also a bonus. If I would change one thing it is the quilt that was too warm for the season. Other than that, perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hila5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy that you had a good time with us.
Our hotel concept is Beautiful Japanese Hotel we believe many foreigner guests will love our hotel like you.
Please recommend to your friends about our hotel.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again!

Mie ITO
Guest Relations Manager
HOTEL NIWA TOKYO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here during by trip to tokyo in April 2013. Getting here the first night was a bit of project when you don't exactly know your way around. But once we settled in, the walk to the train was about 5-7 mins. There a convient store right down stairs and some pretty good and cheap noodles shops/and bakeries just a few blocks from the hotel. If you are visiting that side of tokyo then this would be a ideal hotel. There's really nothing else around there without taking the train.

The room is small but clean. They give you everything..pajamas, slippers, shaver, etc. its awesome. The best thing is they have 2 laundry machines near their gym. Its great when you are traveling for many days and have lots of dirty laundry in your suitcase. Near the laundry machines are some massage chairs. Came in handy after a long flight.

The staff was nice and helpful. They spoke enough english to get by. Everything I asked for, they delivered in less than 5 mins. The only problem I had was when I originally booked this hotel, the only room available was a smoking room. Boy was that a mistake!! Even if I was a smoker, I would not want to stay in that room. Its smelled like an dirty ashtray. I opened the window and the front desk gave me air freshner, it was still not enough.I've been to smoking rooms before, this was the worst. So I was thankful that they had a non-smoking room the next day and switched us. So if you dont really need to smoke in the hotel room, I would reccommend an "non smoking room". Besides I see a whole line of people smoking right downstairs by the convience store ashtray.

I would recommend this hotel. It had all the basics, and I would have no complaints if it wasnt for that smoking room.

Room Tip: Do not get a smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lexxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy hear that you had a good time with us.
When you visit us next time, we recommend to you Superior (24sq.m), Comfort (30sq.m), premium (36sq.m) which is bigger than Standard.
Thank you again and our nice and helpful staff we look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Mie ITO
Guest Relations Manager
HOTEL NIWA TOKYO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
2,985 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,173 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niwa Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Property: Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Address: 1-1-16 Misakicho, Chiyoda 101-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Niwa Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rakuten, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Niwa Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Niwa Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing