We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and convenient choice”
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Welcoming and convenient choice”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed for six nights in Hotel Niwa which is a few minutes' walk to one of the JR stations and slightly longer to a major garden. The hotel is modern with western-oriental touches. The room was comfortable and quiet, especially considering a university campus is next door. Staff were helpful and pleasant on all occasions providing assistance appropriately when requested. Free wifi. Close to a street with many restaurant options, the hotel provides fine dining in separate international and Japanese restaurants. The hotel is highly recommended for your visit to Tokyo.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
As your comment, our room is comfortable and quiet.
We are so happy hear that you had a good time with us.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again!

Mie ITO
Guest Relations Manager
HOTEL NIWA TOKYO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    655
    83
    20
    13
See reviews for
344
848
247
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
180 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a very good hotel on a quiet street. It's also close to public transportation and is an excellent choice if one wants to be away from the hectic activities in a city the size of Tokyo. The rooms are well-appointed with fine, comfortable beds but--again--the rooms are smaller than travelers might expect in other countries. It's a good idea to carry a card from the hotel with its address written in Japanese because some taxi drivers have difficulty in finding the street. The restaurant is efficient for breakfast but, on the first evening, the dinner service at the same location was slow and disorganized. Stay away from Japanese wine. The stuff seems just as bad as Japanese beer is good!

Room Tip: I assume all rooms are good but small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
As your comment, we are located on a quiet street and close to public transportation.
We are so happy hear you enjoyed good location.
Please recommend to your friends about Hotel Niwa Tokyo.
We look forward to serving you again!

Mie ITO
Guest Relations Manager
HOTEL NIWA TOKYO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Hotel Niwa is the perfect location for the first time traveler to Tokyo. It is centrally located within blocks of the Suidobashi train lines. Walking toward the Jimbocho subway station, there are a number of restaurants. The staff was wonderful. They were attentive and helpful and could not have been more pleasant. The food was very good, and the rooms were modern and clean - with free Internet. I don't know how the hotel could have been any better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesseIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo and for taking the time to write your review.
As your comment, we are located to near the Suidobashi train station.
We are so happy hear you enjoyed good location.
Please recommend to your friends about Hotel Niwa Tokyo.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Mie ITO
Guest Relations Manager
HOTEL NIWA TOKYO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Tokyo is expensive. During festivity, even more. Niwa remain reasonably priced and fit my standards. Small but clean room. Centrally located, 3 stops from tokyo main station. It's my second time here and it's definitely a good choice for a couple trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herb360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy hear that you had a good time with us.
Please recommend to you friend about Hotel Niwa Tokyo.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again.

Mie ITO
Guest Relations Manager
HOTEL NIWA TOKYO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nites with husband during visit to Tokyo, found this hotel is very nice. We took JR chuo line from Tokyo st got out in suidobashi st, took East exit. Walked the right direction fr exit, crossing narrow street until big intersection after family mart store. Crossed the big street and walked the south east, found the hotel direction. This hotel is very clean, room have a good space knowing other hotel in Japan, staffs are so helpful. Definitely will reccomend to others.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
Our hotel concept is Beautiful Japanese Hotel we believe many foreigner guests will love our hotel like you.
Please recommend to your friends about Hotel Niwa Tokyo.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Mie ITO
Guest Relations Manager
HOTEL NIWA TOKYO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I found Hotel Niwa in Tokyo thanks to TripAdvisor and I can only say good things about my choice. I stayed at Hotel Niwa for accommodation only, in a single room at the 7th floor, for 12 nights from March 31 to April 12, 2013. Re: the reception - they speak good English to be in Japan and are smiling and helpful. Re: the room - my single room wasn't so small to be in Japan and was cosy, comfortable, very silent and perfectly cleaned every day. Within the room there was anything you might forget home e.g. teeth paste and brush, comb and pijamas, and also complimentary tea and mineral water every day. Re: the location - there are a lot of convenience stores in the surroundings and one located exactly next door, where to buy everything you may need during your stay e.g. food and beverage, cosmetics and pharma. At 5-minute walking distance you can find one underground stop and one train station to connect you to everywhere in the city, as well as several typical and international restaurants including Saint Marc Café, a good French-style cafeteria where to get European continental breakfast for little money. At a very good price to be in a quite central location in Tokyo, Hotel Niwa was really an excellent choice. Should I be in Tokyo again (as I do hope), I'd like to book at Hotel Niwa again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FBG_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
All our room types have comfortable square shaped space and are equipped with a specious bathroom, a large flat TV, and custom made furniture, including luxury hotel quality bed. And our hotel concept is Beautiful Japanese Hotel we believe many foreigner guests will love our hotel like you.
Please recommend to your friends and family about HOTEL NIWA TOKYO.
Thank you again and our smiling and helpful staff we look forward to serving you in the near future!

Mie ITO
Guest Relations Manager
HOTEL NIWA TOKYO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A small business hotel with new, tasteful rooms. Rooms have a contemporary Japanese atmosphere with light woods and shoji screen windows. Complementary water / tea / internet. Some of the top floor rooms have nice views. The hotel has a small terrace and relaxation room as well as a gym.

Located close to the Chuo line Suidobashi station, it is a ten minute train ride to Tokyo station, and a ten minute walk to Iidabashi or Akihabara. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Rooms are particularly good value when you stay 3 nights or more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
Our hotel concept is Beautiful Japanese Hotel we believe many foreigner guests will love our hotel like you.
Please recommend to your friends about HOTEL NIWA TOKYO.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Mie ITO
Guest Relations Manager
HOTEL NIWA TOKYO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,030 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niwa Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Property: Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Address: 1-1-16 Misakicho, Chiyoda 101-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Niwa Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Niwa Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Niwa Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing