We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel.... Highly recommend”
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hotel niwa was close to everything and so easy to get around the city. It was the first time to Japan for us and I must admit I really didn't know what to expect. The staff were very helpful before and during our trip and the location of the hotel is excellent and easy. We stayed 5nights and it was very comfortable and a great price. The third floor is great with free massage chairs and a laundry service which is helpful when your moving on to another location. Highly recommend this hotel and the many restaurants around including one on the corner of the main road with a big white sign that says Japanese dining.... Amazing food!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brooke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you for choosing HOTEL NIWA TOKYO and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy that you had a comfortable time with us.
Please highly recommend to your friends about out hotel.
Thank you again and all our helpful staff we look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,029)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Niwa Tokyo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,017 of 2,029 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

Fine hotel, rather basic, small rooms and very small beds. We had to upgrade to a room with two double beds to get a good night sleep. And that's not because we are supersize. I actually wear XS-S in Uniqlo sizing!
The best thing about the hotel was perhaps their breakfast - a wide variety, to all tastes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Euridice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy hear that you had a good breakfast time with us.
When you visit Tokyo next time, Please stay with us.
We look forward to serving you again.

Mie ITO
Guest Relations
HOTEL NIWA TOKYO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

After a bit of a mission getting there by taxi we arrived to a warm welcome and very helpful, efficient staff.
We stayed here for a week and had requested a quiet room, we were fortunate enough to get a room at the back (facing the University) on a high floor. Superior room was spacious with a large bathroom, toiletries were plentiful and replenished every day, even the perfectly pressed dressing gowns were changed daily. Lovely 'proper' tea in posh silk bags was supplied. Room was decorated with a mix of tradition and modern comforts, loved the paper lined backlights behind the beds and the paper shutters across the windows.
They even had massage chairs free of charge by the launderette - again this is a great bonus when you are travelling away for a long time to avoid overpacking.
Well located 5 mins walk from the Suidobashi station and lots of cheap eateries within 5 mins walk on the main road.
Staff were so helpful in giving directions, making recommendations where to visit etc - you soon learn this is a real perk as English wasn't that widely spoken amongst the locals and it's really easy to get lost.
A fantastic hotel and huge credit to the staff, they are a real asset. Would definitely stay there again next time I'm in Tokyo.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BerkshireWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
As your comments, we are located to near the JR Suidobashi station.
We are so happy hear you enjoyed good location.
Thank you again and our helpful staff we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here for the 4 nights of our Tokyo visit. I have been to Tokyo twice before and this is by far the best stay and value for money so far. Right from walking in the hotel is impeccable with a beautiful lobby and super friendly helping staff. The room was amazing, so lovely and clean with a great bathroom with cute complimentary toiletries and such a comfy bed! The room was also spacious for Tokyo hotels, especially one in such a central location. Very close to the Suidobashi train station, very convenient under a 5 min walk away it was really easy to get around. There are heaps of cheap places to eat near also. I have to highlight how amazing the service was, the room is cleaned with fresh towels and brand new complimentary toiletries everyday. The staff was so helpful, my boyfriend pulled a rookie error and lost his wallet in a club in Roppongi (watch your valuables here), we got back in to the hotel at about 4am and the staff so kindly helped me ring through to the club and ask about the wallet, they also rang again in the morning for us before the club closed and also further helped by calling the police station the next day, sadly the wallet didn't turn up but I couldn't thank them enough for the help they gave.
The only very very minor negative we experienced (not at all anything to do with the hotel itself, and this could actually be a positive for some people) was that there are no bars in the area, it's quite quiet location, so you have to get out somewhere else relatively early because the train station closes at around 11.30-12 pm, but in saying that you can get alcohol anywhere any time. Overall we had a really amazing stay at the beautiful Hotel Niwa and would definitely recommend to anyone! Big thanks to the staff and their impressive hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We believe HOTEL NIWA TOKYO is very comfortable and beautiful Japanese hotel for foreigners.
We are so happy hear that you had a really amazing stay.
Please recommend to your friends about HOTEL NIWA TOKYO.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Enjoyed my stay here for a little over two weeks in January. Great location, about a 5 minute walk from the Suidobashi Station (JR Chuo line). This can work against the place as well (it took me a day or two to get over the train noise in the night, but thankfully no trains run past midnight?!). Rooms are definitely larger, compared to the norm in Tokyo, and there are all kinds of restaurants and the ubiquitous convenience stores that dot the neighborhood. Good same day laundry service as well as two coin operated washer and dryers that make it convenient for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajMadras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
As your comments, we are located to the JR Suidobashi station.
We are so happy hear you enjoyed good location.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank john n
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel Niwa for the last 6 nights of our 3 week visit to Japan. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from both Suidobashi JR line and metro/subway stations, and there are signs directing you as you approach the hotel.

By this stage of our trip we had stayed in some tiny hotel rooms, so it was nice to end the trip at Hotel Niwa, where the room was a little larger than your average small Tokyo hotel room. The room is beautiful, with modern decor which referenced the clean lines of a more traditional ryokan. The bathroom was large and modern and there was a fridge, TV, and desk also in the room. The room also had an aircon, and as we stayed in winter, it was great to be able to control the level of heating in our room. The room was quiet and we couldn't hear anything from the hallway or other rooms. The room also had Wifi which worked perfectly.

The hotel also has a few washing machines and dryers (¥300 and ¥100 respectively) which is helpful when you've been travelling for a while as we were. In the same area, there are also vending machines and 2 massage chairs free for use, which become very popular later in the evening. There is also a gym and outdoor balcony all on Level 3.

The staff and their excellent customer service really sets this hotel apart from others we stayed at. We asked for the staff to assist us in making a restaurant reservation, finding the address of a department store, and also to store our luggage on the last day following check-out. All of these requests were met with smiles and assistance.

We would recommend staying here and would stay here again the next time we're in Tokyo.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank r v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We believe HOTEL NIWA TOKYO is very comfortable and beautiful Japanese hotel for foreigners.
We are so happy hear that you had a wonderful time with us.
Please recommend to your friends about our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 112 in Minato
3,185 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niwa Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Address: 1-1-16 Misakicho, Chiyoda 101-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: $115 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Niwa Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Niwa Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Niwa Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing