We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,234)
Filter reviews
2,234 results
Traveler rating
1,340
747
103
25
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,340
747
103
25
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews suidobashi station free massage chairs great hotel minute walk relaxation room convenience store next door quiet street third floor laundry machines amusement park small gym jr line mita line standard room narita airport mini fridge japanese restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
1,155 - 1,160 of 2,234 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This place is great, and all the reviews are accurate. The rooms were quite. Hotel clean and quality. We had 2 standard rooms next door to each other (requested by email) for 2 adults and an 11 year old. A lot of questions about getting to the hotel are posted. For your first trip to japan you may find the connections from Akihabara challenging particularly with baggage. But try this , Skyliner train from Narita (6000yen 2xAdult 1Child) to Ueno (pronounced Weno) is easy. Then take a 15 minute 1500 yen cab ride to the hotel, easy and fast. (train from Ueno to Akihabara to suidobashi would have cost 600+ yen). Note If you take the cab, at Ueno walk out the main exit, to the left, and cross over the road to the taxi rank. The one way traffic prevents you getting a cab on the station side. Print out google earth directions to get the hotel address etc in Japanese for the cab driver and you are set. Aussie skiers this is a great hotel if you are in transit to nagano. Easy to get to, walk to the ski shop district 10min, buy your gear walk back and head off to Ueno station for your train connection. (or go to electronics central - yodabashi camera- at Akihabara - 2 train stations away). Enjoy!!!!!! We loved it.

Date of stay: January 2013
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank OverKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for choosing HOTEL NIWA TOKYO and for taking the time to write your review.
We believe HOTEL NIWA TOKYO is very comfortable, clean and quite hotel for foreigners. So please recommend to your friends about our hotel.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here for a total of 7 nights, first at a superior room, later the premium room. The rooms are comfortable and our stay was very satisfying. Good value. The hotel is located in a quiet area, with easy access to the rest of the city with the metro or local train.

Room tip: It's not too expensive to upgrade your room, compared to the relatively low room rate.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minnea87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
The premium room type with whirlpool bath with built-in TV, a separate walk-in shower.
We are so happy hear that you had a comfortable time with us.
Please recommend to your friends about HOTEL NIWA TOKYO.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Had the opportunity to stay at Hotel Niwa with my wife during our trip to Japan in the month of November. This hotel was certainly the jewel and all the reviews do not make sufficient justice to the actual quality of the boutique hotel. Service is attentive and spot on in successfully answering our inquiries. Management has done an impeccable job in attention to details throughout the lobby and room, making it a place to look forward to getting some rest after long Tokyo walks. Location is great; Suidobashi stations for JR service or Tokyo metro are a short walk away. Yes, although the rooms are small by western standards, this was not a nuisance at all. Did not use the hotel bar or restaurant options, as there are plenty to choose from in the surrounding area, plus we had set target locations for food and drink. Overall a fantastic stay; and next trip to Tokyo this will be our go to place.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mramirez2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
As your comment, we are located close to the train station.
We are so happy hear you enjoyed great location.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

On arrival, we were offered a low-cost upgrade to a premium room on an upper floor. The hotel presents very well from the moment one catches a first glimpse. The garden is delightful and the lobby is uncluttered, modern and welcoming. The hotel is spotless and the (upgrade) room was large by Tokyo standards and very comfortable for two Aussies! The bathroom was immaculate with separate bath and shower, the former having a TV screen wall-mounted above the taps plus spa jets. Very luxurious! There was no mini bar in the room but a small fridge contains free water bottles (renewed daily). There is a well-stocked convenience store next to the hotel so we did not use room service or eat in the hotel restaurant. The location is outstanding with the station being only a few minutes (safe at night) walk away. It is possible to access all of Tokyo by subway and JR easily and we travelled extensively both near (Imperial Palace) and far (Tokyo Disneyland)! The only time we used a taxi was to travel from the Hotel to Ueno Station to catch the Skyliner to Narita Airport - easiest route with suitcases! Two things to note: On our arrival at Tokyo Station (from Kyoto) the taxi driver was unable to locate the hotel using the map I provided and could not program my English address into his Japanese GPS. As mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel is not well-known (it should be famous!!) so take a map and the Niwa street address in Japanese characters.... We ended up having to "ask a policeman" at a Police Kiosk and he consulted a number of maps before he could tell the driver where to take us! Secondly, the hotel provides a wonderful Relaxation room which is available for guests' use at any time. On the 3rd floor, it has vending machines, laundromat facilities, a workout room, massage chairs and an outdoor garden area with seating. Late checkout is expensive but the relaxation room can still be used after you checkout. Thus, if you have a late flight from say Narita, you can checkout at 11am, leave your luggage at the hotel, fill in your day as you would wish and access the Relaxation room at any time, collecting your luggage again later that day. When we are next in Tokyo, we will certainly return to the Niwa. It is an excellent hotel with dedicated staff, comfortable rooms and a very pleasant atmosphere.

Room tip: Upgrade to a Premium room on a higher floor if the price is right. You'll appreciate the extra space and the room will certainly be quieter.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keriblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Geust Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you for choosing HOTEL NIWA TOKYO and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy hear that you had a good time with us.
We believe HOTEL NIWA TOKYO is very comfortable and lovely hotel for foreigners, so please recommend to your friends about our hotel.
Thank you again and our great staff we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and a happy new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Niwa in November and really enjoyed it. Here are my comments:

Pros:
1. Very clean, new feeling property. Bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was impeccable. I have heard that a lot of Tokyo hotels feel old and tired. Certainly not the case here.
2. Location is good. It's in a quieter, but still central neighborhood with a number of convenience stores and ramen places nearby. Certainly not the center of a busy area, but it was nice to have a quiet place to go back to.
3. Staff was very friendly and helpful
4. Wifi worked great

Cons:
1. The only negative I can think of is that the room I was in was pretty small. It was fine for one person and would also be fine for a couple that doesn't mind close quarters. I don't think three people would have fit.
2. The shampoo and soap in the bathroom came out of dispensers (not your own bar/bottle). This didn't bother me, but if it does, I would just bring your own.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StargazerFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy hear that you had a really enjoyed with us.
Please recommend your friends about HOTEL NIWA TOKYO.
Thank you again and our very friendly and helpful staff we look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews