We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel at Great Location”
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel at Great Location”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I and my four years old daughter stayed at a superior twin room on the top floor. It was really quiet and beds were so comfortable. Bath room was spacious even though the room itself was not as spacious as we saw on pictures before. It is conveniently located - has access to both JR and Toei Subway. There are several convenient stores as well as many restaurants around the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lonnie-Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
As your comments, we are located closed to the JR and Toei Subway station and access.
We are so happy hear you enjoyed great location.
Please recommend to your friends about HOTEL NIWA TOKYO.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    655
    84
    20
    13
See reviews for
344
848
247
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We tried out the Niwa Hotel on a recent visit to Tokyo. It is a beautifully appointed hotel that captures the essence of Japanese culture--from the Japanese Lantern in the lobby, to the breakfast lounge where you can gaze at a tranquil garden, and from the rooms with their shoji screen door-effect, in place of window drapes, to the colourful Japanese tea sets. There is a fitness club, an outdoor patio, vending machines (for convenience--and with the same prices you would find in street vending machines), and warm, comfortable colours throughout the hotel. The staff were quite friendly, and the breakfasts were well prepared and quite tasty.

Once you arrive at the hotel, it is easy to navigate the 10 minute walk to the Suidobashi JR Station and then on to the various Tokyo subway lines. However first time visitors may have a bit of difficulty finding the hotel, especially if they arrive at night time. The limousine bus from Narita goes to the Tokyo Dome Hotel where, they say, it's a 500 meter walk to the Niwa. It is much easier to take a taxi from the Tokyo Dome the first time, in order to get your bearings. The walk, for those unfamiliar with the area and for those with luggage, would be challenging, to say the least. But again, once you find the hotel and get your bearings, it is a wonderful get-away from the larger, more neutrally decorated brand hotels that you would find in Shinjuku (for example), where in fact you could be in any one of those brand hotels anywhere in the world. When you check into the Niwa, you know you are in Japan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erewon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing HOTEL NIWA TOKYO and for taking the time to write your review.
As you comments, we are located closed to the JR Suidobashi station.
We are so happy hear you enjoyed great location.
Our concept is ‘Beautiful Japanese Hotel’ we believe many foreigner guests will love our hotel like you.
Please recommend to your friends about our hotel.
All our quite friendly staff we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

During a trip to Tokyo, we stayed at Hotel Niwa twice - each for 2 nights. Both times the hotel was an excellent place to say, with a friendly welcome, spotless presentation and comfortable rooms.

The staff on reception all spoke at least basic English, and were very polite and friendly throughout. Sadly arriving early an early check-in wasn't possible, but our bags were tagged and looked after until the room was ready, when they were taken to the room.
The room itself was, as to be expected in Tokyo, relatively small. However, based on some of the other reviews, I had expected a tiny box. This being Japan, everything fitted in what space there was - there was room to get both sides of the bed; a small fridge and shelves; a desk and chair. Admittedly a large suitcase might have had trouble laying out on the floor, but there was an area big enough to lay out a medium size case.

The room itself was spotlessly clean, and kept that way throughout the stay. The view from the window was of an office block, but decent blinds were provided to both keep daylight out, and a sliding paper screen kept the view inside attractive.

We didn't try the lounge or any of the facilities outside the room and common areas, so can't comment on those.

As others have noted, the restaurant was quite expensive - even the room service bento box was approx £25 ($38-40). To be fair, I don't think the prices were out of range of a good restaurant in Tokyo, but there is a convenience story next door for snacks. Also, one block away (on the road leading from the train station) a range of restaurants offered choices from fast-food Japanese style, to Western style cakes/toast/sandwiches.

Niwa's location was about 500m (5 mins or less) to the JR rail station. For tourists with a JR Rail pass, this was ideal as you could get around most of Tokyo on the JR network, and indeed get to/from Narita or Haneda (via Monorail) using your pass. It is about a 10minute ride to Tokyo mainline station, and from the Niwa you can walk to the war memorial/museum in one direction, or a slightly longer walk to the Imperial Gardens.
From the rail station to Niwa, the obvious route is over the pedestrian bridge - but with luggage it is easier to walk down the road (past the restaurants), turning left at the first set of traffic lights.

The only minor irritation was that the wifi was slow. Could get connection to the service, but the actual speed when connected was very very slow - so don't expect to be doing large downloads!

If I ever return to Tokyo, I would certainly stay at Hotel Niwa again. It was a lovely clean, modern and comfortable hotel in central Tokyo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy to hear that you had a good time during a trip to Tokyo.
We believe HOTEL NIWA TOKYO is very comfortable hotel for foreigners, so please recommend to your friends about our hotel.
We look forward to seeing you and your friends in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Hotel Niwa is a beautiful boutique hotel in Suidobashi. This is not a great location because you need to change trains and with luggage it's difficult. Furthermore, this is a self-service hotel so you need to bring your luggage to/from your room. We were given a smoking room when we have a young child. Furthermore, the restaurant is really overpriced. We ordered some late night fettuccine. We were given spaghetti (not fettuccine) and the bill was steep. We were tired and had a guest with us so we didn't complain at the time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandwaterpalmtrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
As your comment, HOTEL NIWA TOKYO is a beautiful boutique hotel.
We believe many foreigner guests will love our hotel like you.
Thank you again we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Got lucky on this one, I must say. In a recent trip to Japan I needed a place to overnight in Tokyo after arriving from US, but was late booking a place and all reasonable hotels near train lines from Narita were booked up. Then I found a half-price deal for this hotel on Expedia.

This hotel is extremely centrally located, just a short walk from the JR/Metro Suidobashi station and not far from Tokyo Dome. I'd characterize this hotel's approach as the review's title says - it doesn't provide too many "bells and whistles" but delivers quality in what a traveler really needs. Both the public area and the room are nicely designed in a Japanese-modern style. The single room (inevitably small, as this is Tokyo) had a comfortable US twin-size bed and ample desk space for working. The room did lack, however, any drawer space; fine for overnighting but, at least for me, it would have become an issue for a multi-night stay.

One minor problem I had was that I couldn't connect to their wi-fi network. I contacted the front and they troubleshot for me, but in the meantime I could get on to the Internet using a wired connection in the room.

As mentioned, the Expedia deal (just shy of 10,000 yen including tax) made this an outstanding value. Not sure if I would so consider it at full price; hence four rather than five stars in the "Value" rating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WWWandLBOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for choosing HOTEL NIWA TOKYO and for taking the time to write your review.
As your comments, we are located to the JR / Metro Suidobashi station and not far from Tokyo Dome. We are so happy hear you enjoyed very good location.
Please recommend to your friends about HOTEL NIWA TOKYO.
We look forward to serving you again near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We thought this hotel was lovely. We stayed here first night on our honeymoon and it had great ambience, and was beautifully fitted out. While the rooms were on the small side, this didn't bother us, the place was spotless and the bed was wonderful to sink into after our flight. We loved the sliding screens at the windows and the pre fab bathrooms.
It was our favourite place of all the places we stayed at in Japan - even some that we double the cost.
We thought the location was great - very close to Suidobashi which gives access to all the spread out attractions in Tokyo.
Stay here - it's great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenGWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for choosing HOTEL NIWA TOKYO your honeymoon and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy hear that you had a wonderful time with us.
We believe HOTEL NIWA TOKYO is very comfortable and lovely hotel for foreigners, so please recommend to your friends about our hotel.
Thank you again and our helpful staff we look forward to seeing you again.
Wishing you and yours a very Merry Christmas and a happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for 8 nights, based on good reviews here. All I can say is that not in the top ten hotels in Tokyo for nothing! Can't think of many useful things to add, but I would say that its an excellent location if you don't want to stay somewhere like Shinjuku. I guess this was the one aspect that I was unsure of before I booked this place, but the transport links were ten times better than I was expecting. The usefulness of Suidobashi station (less than 5 mins from hotel) having both JR and metro links cannot be overstated, and I can't think of a single place that was difficult to get to from there. Lots of wonderful restaurants nearby, many of which are cheap. Great rooms, helpful staff, great base for exploring.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulklee2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
As your comment, we are located close to the JR and Metro Suidobashi station.
We are so happy hear that you had a good time with us.
Thank you again and our helpful staff we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,038 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niwa Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Property: Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Address: 1-1-16 Misakicho, Chiyoda 101-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Niwa Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Niwa Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Niwa Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing