We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, modern hotel in Japanese style”
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 8 nights in this great hotel. The rooms are excellent if u are willing to pay the small upgrade to a comfort room. The standard rooms are really small
The service is, like almost everywhere in Japan, just great.
The restaurant is nice too, even if they dont really serve Asian food. However, after 8 days Asian food we loved to have a nice beef fillet :-)
We highly recommand this hotel... But the comfort room is a must!!! ;-)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gourmet87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you very much for staying 8 nights with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy that you had a excellent time with us.
Please highly recommend to your friends about our hotel.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip to Tokyo.
Take care until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,094 - 1,100 of 2,103 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at his hotel for one night in November 2012. The purpose was pleasure/sightseeing.

The "standard" hotel room was nicely designed (as can be seen in the pictures on this website) however tiny. Even though this might be the norm in Tokyo in this price category, I can say that we experienced a larger room with sofa for less cost in Tokyo before in a hotel apartment.

The location is relatively close to some sights, however not that close to Shinjuku or Shibuya where many of our activities were concentrated.

The subway station Suidobashi is very close by, however the location map and "how to get there" indications on the hotel website to our surprise does not mention it (the hotel website only indicates to take a taxi from Tokyo station).

Given the tiny room and the location, I am not sure whether this hotel is the optimal choice to explore Tokyo during a longer stay; however as it was for only one night only we were not unhappy with the hotel choice, yet not delighted, thus our overall grading as "average".

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for choosing HOTEL NIWA TOKYO and for taking the time to write your review.
As your comments, we are located to the JR and Subway Suidobashi station.
We are so happy to hear that you had a good time with us.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Niwa is nice, has great, contemporary design. Bit of an oasis upon entering the place. Service was good as well, and there is free wifi. Breakfast is rather steep 23 Eur per person (or 29 Eur for the Japanese version), and we didn't try it.
Yes, location is not very central, but it's 5 minutes from a metro/train station away, which is pretty good.
The room itself was nice, though small in typical Japanese fashion (one of the photos shows the only storage place, a very small wardrobe.
We were very disappointed when we heard that they wanted to charge 35 Eur a night for a baby bed. Sure, it's a service and we are happy to pay for that, but this is a ripoff at a level we've not had before at a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nkerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
Our hotel concept is Beautiful Japanese Hotel we believe many foreigner guests will love our hotel like you.
We are so happy hear that you had a nice and great time with us.
Please recommend to your friends about HOTEL NIWA TOKYO.
We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here for three nights Oct 19-21 2012. Very near Suidobashi station ...easy 10 min walk.
Very new and comfortable hotel, friendly staff, seismically isolated, some English channels on TV.
Great value for the money would not hesitate to recommend.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
As your comments, we are located very near Suidobashi station…about 3 min by walk.
We are so happy hear that you had a good time with us.
Thank you again and our friendly staff we are look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 6 nights in a non-smoking double room in this hotel in October 2012. The room was indeed smaller than we are used to when travelling, but after hearing that small rooms were the norm across Japan, we weren't bothered at all and adjusted quickly. The room was clean, the bed comfortable though slightly smaller than a standard double bed, and had a nice bathroom etc.

The location we thought was terrific. It is located in a quiet street surrounded by Nihon University buildings, which meant that during the day there was a reasonable young crowd around and was vibrant, and at night it was very quiet equaling a good nights sleep each night! The presence of a university crowd also meant lots of reasonably affordable eats close-by. The hotel is only a short 5 min walk to Suidobashi JR station meaning you are only a short train trip to Akibahara (Electric Town), Tokyo Central for the Shinkansen bullet trains, and Shinjuku for the nightlife and all things crazy Tokyo.

The previous reviewer noted the hotel was hard to locate. Yes it was initially for us too and even the taxi driver was a little lost. But once one knew where to go there was no problem afterwards. Tokyo is one of the safest cities I have ever been to around the world, and I have been to a few now, and at no time did it feel like this hotel was in an unsafe area. The presence of another hotel on one side, and a Family Mart Store (similar to 7-Eleven) right next door meant there was almost always people around and the area was well lit accordingly.

Hotel staff were also excellent. Their English was not the best, but our Japanese was worse, and even so they were very patient and keen to help us. We were there 5 hours before check-in and were quite happy about looking after our bags while we went out to explore.

There are also two restaurants in the hotel - Yukuri which serves traditional Japanese food, and Lieu Grill&Bar. We only tried Lieu. The food was at best average though somewhat expensive. I would suggest eating elsewhere in the area for afforable food and if you want to splash out do some research on other 5-star places as there is plenty of choice in Tokyo.

Overall we thought the Hotel Niwa was a terrific hotel and it was our favourite hotel while we were in Japan. We ended up comparing other places too it and found others wanting in many ways. We also got a discount on the room rate by doing some online comparison shopping, which made it much more affordable that other similar hotels in Tokyo. We would definitely recommend others stay at Niwa and if we ever get back to Tokyo we will consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Do some online research to find a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camnicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for choosing HOTEL NIWA TOKYO and for taking the time to write your review.
We are very glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.
As your comment, we have two restaurant ― Grill&Bar LIEI and Japanese Cuisine YUKURI.
Please try to eat at our restaurant YUKURI for your next time.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

After three weeks of traveling around japan, this was our last weekend. We took the hotel due to the many recommendations on tripadvisor, and we didn't like it at all.
The part that ruin it for us was the location - don't be fooled by the photos, it is located on a very dark street (no street light or any visible sign of where you are, if it wasn't in Tokyo I would be scarred) that is very difficult to locate unless you are walking with a GPS and night-vision. It's funny cause both me and my girlfriend had trouble finding it coming back from the city, every day, during our 3 days stay. We went out of the subway and we were complete lost each time. Especially in the evening.
But it's not only the location that was bad: we booked non-smoking room. But when we arrived the receptionist advice us that we got a smoking room. I said, No sorry, but I booked non smoking one. She insist I was wrong, mention that "all non smoking are booked", and want to see proof. The print from booking.com didn't specified it, so I had to drill into my iPad to locate the mail and prove her wrong. Which I did. Once she saw I was right she took 10 mins to discuss it with her manager then came back ...and suddenly there is a non smoking room available, out of nowhere. She said our booking system has issues and that she is sorry. Maybe she is right, but why not trusting the customer and why lying about no room availability (non smoking room).
I love this country (Japan), and so this was our first disappointment for the various hotels we took.
Last point, the double bed is very very small, more like large single bed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ahirschb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The amenities are basic (by Japanese standards) in that there are limited leisure facilities on-site. Rooms are smallish by North American standards, but beds are very comfortable and the room is well-appointed and freebies (fresh pajamas and toiletries supplied daily) abound. 2 coin-op washers and dryers are very handy for keeping packing to a minimum. Staff are very friendly, the on-site restaurants are pricey but very good (especially Sunday brunch, a Japanese-Western hybrid, which is very popular). There's even a fantastic Kaiseki dinner (a must-do in Japan) offered at a reduced rate for guests. Best of all is the location; steps to a JR train station that goes directly to Shinjuku and Harajuku and also handy to three subway lines. It's close to schools, so there is a great strip of lively, modestly-priced restaurants around the corner and a cute bakery down the street for coffee and pastries in the morning if you opt out of paying for breakfast at the hotel. (There's also a convenience store next door that sells all kinds of food options as well as cheap beer, all of which can be brought back to the lovely Zen terrace on the 3rd floor...or you can grab a brew at the vending machine in the lounge) Finally, the hotel is a 5-minute jog to the popular Imperial Palace running loop if the little but well-stocked exercise room doesn't do it for you.

Room Tip: Many "double" rooms have single beds to appeal to business travelers. Couples should speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy hear you enjoyed the very good location.
Please recommend to your friends about our hotel.
We believe many foreigner guests will love our hotel like.
Thank you again and very friendly staff we look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 117 in Minato
3,308 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niwa Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Address: 1-1-16 Kanda Misakicho, Chiyoda 101-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: $115 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Niwa Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Niwa Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Niwa Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing