We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,194)
Filter reviews
2,194 results
Traveler rating
1,315
736
102
23
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,315
736
102
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuidobashi stationgreat hotelminute walkrelaxation roomconvenience store next doorquiet streetthird floorlaundry machinesamusement parksmall gymjr linemita linestandard roomquiet hotelnarita airporteasy accessjapanese style
Filter
Updating list...
1,174 - 1,179 of 2,194 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Thoroughly recommend this hotel. Based a stones throw from Tokyo dome and a 5 min walk from a Jr station. It was nice and quiet at night and next door to a 7/11 which was handy for buying a cheap breakfast. The room was reasonably spacious for a Tokyo 'small double'. A super clean and spacious ensuite was a real bonus. Each day we had complimentary water bottles/ pyjamas/ tea coffee/ toiletries which was unexpected. The hotel restaurant looked lovely but slightly too expensive for our budget. We ate in some cheap noodle bars around the corner instead. There was a 'relaxing room' with free gym and massage chairs to unwind after a busy day sightseeing.

I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucyandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
As your comment, we are located near the Tokyo Dome and JR station.
We are so happy hear you enjoyed the very good location.
Our concept is ‘Beautiful Japanese Hotel`, so we believe many foreigner’s guests will love our hotel like you.
Please recommend to your friends about our hotel.
All our staff we look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

An expert in Japan recommended it to me for my summer trip to Japan and it was perfect for Tokyo: price, location, nearby public transport and restaurants, big room, comfortable, wi-fi in the room (no that typical in Japan!).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Castelldefels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy hear that you had a good time with us.
Please recommend to your friends about our hotel and when you visit Tokyo next time,
please stay with us.
We look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is my first stop on 2-week holiday with my friend. It's a bit more expensive but the lobby is grand with small garden outside, the receptionist is beyond helpful, the bathroom is superb, the room is - although a bit small - is nice too. What impresses me is they don't just provide yukata (cotton kimono), they also provide pyjamas.

I'm not happy with the complimentary drinks, there's only tea provided in the room, but this applies to all hotels in Japan, so if you're a coffee drinker like me who needs coffee right away after waking up, you better stock up or you need to wait until you get down for breakfast.

The hotel is not too far from the train/tube station, and it's safe and we're confident to walk to/from hotel in the middle of the night. It's got convenient store right next to it, and another near station. It's not too close to areas like Shibuya/Shinjuku, but it only takes about half an hour or less to get there. From the hotel to Tokyo station (for taking Shinkansen train) will cost around ¥1200 by taxi.

We didn't book the breakfastt so I cannot comment on that.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to those who want a bit of a splurge and want to stay in a quiet location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FinallyWoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
As your comment, we are located not too far from Suidobashi station.
We are so happy hear you enjoyed great location.

Please try to eat breakfast at our restaurant Grill&Bar LIEU for your next time.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel was a really nice, clean hotel. There were 3 of us travelling, so finding a hotel in Tokyo that would suit 3 was slightly difficult. We had a triple room that was actually made for two people with a roll away bed in the middle of the room. This roll away was just a comfortable as the other two beds and did not seem at all like a temporary fix. We had to get slightly creative with our suitcase placement, but we got it figured out and the room was more than adequate. The bathroom was exceptional with all the amenities and even a heated toilet seat.

The room was kind of pricey, but you get what you pay for. My mom and friend went to the restaurant downstairs for dinner one night, but they said it was not worth the money and the food was not that great, so try to find something else.

Overall a great experience and we had a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cortney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy hear that you had a great time with us.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip to Tokyo.
Take care until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The hotel is located 5 minute walk from Suidobashi (I11) and 10 minutes from Ochanomizu (M20) metro stations in a quiet neighborhood, in an area with schools and university. It was a great base for exploring Tokyo, and a interesting place to check out, as it is an area without too many tourists.
Our room (a standard room) had a reasonable size, and was very clean and up to date. The bed was 140 cm wide, and very comfortable, and the room was equipped with a flatscreen tv, with both CNN and BBC. The bathroom was fairly large and contained one of those wonderful japanese toilets with warm seat, and warmth in the mirror to prevent steam - nice.
On the 3rd floor was a small gym with a couple of treadmills and some massage chairs.
The staff was english speaking and very friendly and helpful. The only negative thing, was the breakfast in the restaurant which I thought was a little pricey (I think it was 2900 yen for japanese breakfast), and therefore I did not try this, as it wasn't included in our hotel package.
All in all, we had a wonderful stay at Hotel Niwa and I would certainly return next time I am going to Tokyo.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelToMars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
As your comment, we are located near the Suidobashi train station and Ochanomizu metro train station.
We are so happy hear that you had a wonderful time with us.
Please recommend to your friends about our hotel and when you visit Tokyo next time,
Please stay with us.
All our friendly staff we look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews