We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The place to stay!”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed for six nights as a couple at this lovely boutique hotel near Tokyo Dome city. Location wise it doesn't get any better than this with Jinbocho station nearby and convenient to Shinjuku, Ginza, Tsukiji and Asakusa. The rooms were small and we booked through Agoda but perfectly functional with meticulous housekeeping, fresh pajamas and large bath. With the benefit of hindsight we will book the comfort or premium rooms next time. We got the red eye in from Singapore arriving into Haneda just after 5am and check in is not till 3pm. By chance I happened to see an ad for spa Laqua in Tokyo dome city that was 7 min walk from the hotel. The hotel was kind enough to hold our luggage for us. We checked into the gender separated hot spring spa at 11.30 and didn't leave till 3.30pm. It was awesome - pay a top for the healing rooms which allows for mixed gender usage and the spa completely relaxed us for our holiday. Something to think about if you just want to rest after a long flight in. It cost us about 80 bucks for the two of us. We later checked into the hotel and had a very pleasant stay. Would not hesitate to recommend and certainly will be our first choice for a return visit.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are on the small side. Pick a twin or comfort room if you want space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam_meiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you very much for saying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.
When you visit us next time, “Comfort”(30 sq.m) or “Premium”(36sq.m) which is bigger room than Standard.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,185
    647
    82
    20
    13
See reviews for
342
836
244
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh
Level Contributor
127 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Set back from the main road, and a fairly new hotel, so best make sure you have the full address written down and maybe print a map off incase the taxi driver doesn't know it! Beautiful entrance to hotel. Staff speak excellent English and very friendly. Room is average size based on european size rooms and we only had the standard room. Room is well designed and they have used the space well! Room to store our 2 backpacks in wardrobe and our holdall under table. Wifi is free, stays connected sometimes a little slow. Tv has 3 english channels. There is a shop next door to the hotel selling water, snacks etc, and also an ATM in there too (tip: if you have a MasterCard you need to go to the 7-11 store 5 mins up the road just opposite Mcdonalds). Some small Japanese restaurants on the main road, and the Tokyo Dome is 5 min walk away. Hotel can lend you umbrellas if it rains. 

Also has a refresh lounge, with vending machines, massage chairs, small garden and the gym, as well as laundry machines.

Nearest metro is JR Suidobashi. Can take you anywhere you need to go!

If you book through Agoda make sure you have selected the correct number of people per room - I accidentally only booked for 1, so when we arrived had to pay an extra ¥4620 per night for the extra person!

 A really nice hotel, very quiet, and built with earthquake resistant technology. 

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayleighTasha_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy that you had a good time with us.
When you visit Tokyo next time, please stay with us.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Free wi-fi in the room was what swung it for me. Even though it was a bit patchy, it was invaluable to us! Room was small, but had all the amenities you'd need: temperature control, kettle, fridge, safe, desk, wardrobe, slippers, pyjamas etc., The iron and ironing boards are stored on the floor next to the lift and we had no trouble getting one when we needed it. Bed was a bit smaller than usual, so there was a bit of elbowing going on! Lots of lovely pillows though.

We found the location excellent -- a 5 minute walk to Suidobashi station on the JR line. For those coming from Narita airport, we bought a SUICA card from the JR station there, took the Skyliner to Ueno station, then transferred to the JR Keihin-Tohoku line to Akihabara, then transferred to the JR Chuo/Sobu line to Suidobashi. If you have a JR pass, you would only need to buy the Skyliner ticket. A little tip as well if you're transferring from the Skyliner to the Subway system... when you go through the gates you insert your Skyliner ticket and then tap on with your SUICA card in one movement through the gates. Seems like lots of people were getting caught out with this!

The 7-11 next door was a great place to get the little incidentals like milk you needed.

Staff were excellent, had excellent English and there were 3 English TV channels as well.

Highly recommended for your next trip to Tokyo!

Oh, we also had a minor earthquake while we were there and only felt the slightest movement -- yay for modern technology!

Room Tip: If you're used to a queen size bed, it might be worth upgrading from the Standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Please highly recommend to your friends about our hotel.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I spent 4 nights at Hotel Niwa in early April and definitely enjoyed my stay. The room was clean and efficient and had some nice design touches. The hotel had easy access to two train stations and though it may not be in the most exciting part of town (e.g. Shinjuku, Shibuya) there are plenty of restaurants, cafes, shops and bars around to fit most people's needs. The staff at the hotel was pleasant and helpful. My only complaint was as a solo traveler, I would have liked a bit more of a social atmosphere like a lobby bar, but other than that, I was happy with my stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndh_ama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed our very convenient location!
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming again for your next visit to Tokyo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsJD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Hotel Niwa exceeded my expectations. The room, though smallish, was beautiful and spotless. The bathroom was a good size and it had all amenities (toothbrush, toothpaste, combs, hairdryers, razors with shave cream etc) No moisteriser though. Loved the complimentary pajamas. The bed was massive. I would have also liked some instant coffee (they only had different types of tea in the room).
The staff were extremely polite and helpful. The relaxation room with the massage chairs were a bonus.
I agree with the above comments - forget the hotel breakfast and go to CHOCO-CRO around the corner. Loved their hot chocolates and croissants. The hotel dinner was also very expensive 4500 yen for small serve of beef.
There's also a convenience store next door to grab what ever else you need (like instant coffee)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
When you visit Tokyo next time, please stay with us.
All our helpful staff we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We had no idea what to expect from this business hotel but were really impressed. The hotel is modern, and more stylish than most. The staff were very helpful. The location worked out well for sight-seeing and was also very convenient for Narita airport - transfer time was just over an hour using the train from Suidobashi and then Sky Line from Nippori. Nice and close to Ueno park too for the incredible cherry blossom. Finally the room pricing was very reasonable given the quality of the hotel and the central location. No criticisms at all - highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy that you had a good time with us.
Please highly recommend to your friends about our hotel.
When you visit Tokyo next time, please stay with us.
All our helpful staff we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I would echo all the other 5 star reviews. This is a great find and is outstanding value for money in an expensive city.

The hotel is very very clean and well-kept. I had a standard room and there was ample space for me as a solo traveller, but if you are travelling in a couple it would be worth upgrading to one of the bigger rooms as there isn't much storage space for two people. Rooms are clean and modern and have free fast wifi.

I loved the massage chairs after a day of sightseeing. I also loved the Japanese touches to the hotel and rooms so you do actually feel like you are in Japan rather than just a hotel that could be anywhere in the world.

Location is good - close to metro and JR lines so you can get anywhere easily, but it is located off a main street so bring a Japanese map with you so that the taxi driver will be able to find it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy that you had a good time with us.
Please recommend to your friends about our hotel and massage chairs.
When you visit Tokyo next time, please stay with us.
We look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
2,985 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,173 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niwa Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Property: Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Address: 1-1-16 Misakicho, Chiyoda 101-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Niwa Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rakuten, Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Niwa Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Niwa Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing