We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,190)
Filter reviews
2,190 results
Traveler rating
1,313
735
101
23
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,313
735
101
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuidobashi stationgreat hotelminute walkrelaxation roomconvenience store next doorquiet streetthird floorlaundry machinesamusement parksmall gymjr linemita linestandard roomquiet hotelnarita airporteasy accessjapanese style
Filter
Updating list...
1,225 - 1,230 of 2,190 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2012

First visit in Japan, First experience of an earthquake, anyhow the stay in Niwa hotel remains a good souvenir.
The staff was helpful during this crisis period. Rooms are quite, safe and confortable. Breakfast are really well furnished.
I highly recommend this hotel for the price / quality offered

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fdevienn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for choosing HOTEL NIWA TOKYO and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy hear you enjoyed the good time with us.
Please recommend to your friends about hotel.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip to Tokyo.
Take care until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The particulars of this excellent property are well documented elsewhere on this site ( please refer to the excellent review from a fellow traveller from Toronto). As with most entities that make the top of any Trip Advisor list it's those indescribable intangibles that truly make for a memorable travel experience. The Hotel Niwa is just such a place. After fighting crowds of Japanese boys in Akibahara or their female counterparts in Shibuya returning to this placid piece of heaven was eagerly anticipated at the end of each of our six days there. The Relaxation Tea kit in each room, the free massage chairs, the design of the rooms and public spaces all combined to make this a special stay.

Room Tip: Less expensive food options are plentiful in the area, including the huge food court at the nearby Tokyo Dome City
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
When you visit Tokyo next time, please stay with us.
We look forward to serving you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Hotel Niwa Tokyo

The hype on this site over this hotel is worth it. I'm also now worried that the reviews will mean that this hotel will jack up it's prices; however, that would be a mistake as the reviews temper price paid for value received which is why the reviews are so favourable.

The place is a little hard to find, as are most places in Tokyo. Not exactly directly on a metro line, but only a short 10 minute walk from the station.

Early check in was allowed and was much appreciated. Was in room in less than 5 minutes upon arrival, stopping to take many photos on the way.

The hotel is beautifully modernized whilst keeping with a Japanese theme. The little touches are everywhere from the new year's display in the lobby to the small lantern lights that illuminate the floor of the guest hallways. The paper screen on the window and the tatami like carpeting complete the details that remind the traveller that they are staying in a great hotel in Tokyo.

The bathroom featured a tub and shower combination which was much appreciated as was the Japanese toilet. The room was large by Tokyo standards and although the view of Tokyo High School was not the best the room did offer a slight view of the Tokyo tower in the distance.

No need for ear plugs as the usual slamming hall doors and noise in the hall or outside were non-existant.

Some English channels on the television, but not a great assortment.

In room tea, no coffee, kettle provided. Mini-fridge with complimentary bottle of water provided.

Free in room internet access, wired, not wireless.

Did dine in the western style restaurant. Very expensive, over $100 for one person, but well worth for the experience. Most expensive small glass of wine I have ever had for $30 a glass! The meal was perfect in every respect from the service to the food itself. A true work of art, but again, you're paying for it.

The gardens and common areas of the hotel are all well documented in traveller photos for good reason. The place is beautiful both inside and out. The designers have done a fantanstic job and should be commended for their efforts.

Believe the hype, the Niwa is worth trying.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YYZAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2012

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
We are so happy that you had a good time with us.
Our concept is “Beautiful Japanese Hotel”, so we believe many foreigner’s guests will love our hotel like you. Please recommend to your friends about our hotel.
When you visit Tokyo next time, please stay with us.
We are looking forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I stayed here twice, at the beginning and end of an extended trip to Japan. The rooms were small, as expected, but very nicely designed with storage a desk and good lighting. The bathroom was a pleasure with a deep soaking tub, strong built in shower in the tub and decent storage options.

As others have said this is a very well situated hotel for transport to and from the airport - bus to the Dome Hotel is about 3 blocks away, JR line is a 5 min walk from the hotel and neighborhood is the Uni district.

Staff were very helpful and arranged for a very early taxi to the Tuna Auctions for me. They also provided the usual maps etc.

During my trip around Japan the hotel let me store my extra baggage for free and it was waiting for me on my return. I had no worries leaving it there.

Only one small hiccup in the arrangements; there was some confusion about the rates for my room upon my return - think it was mainly because of some gaps in language skills, I have no Japanese and there seemed to be some limits to the English some of the staff had. So, if you are going to do as I did then be sure you sit down with the concierge or the manager and review your return plans before you leave, including your room rates

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atravellingiwillgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

Thank you very much for staying with us 2nd times and for taking the time to write your review.
Some of them cannot speak fluently English yet, however we are doing English lesson for them. We hope you feel more comfortable for your next stay.
All our helpful staff we are looking forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I spent eight days here in December. As a woman travelling alone I felt very comfortable. The staff were fantastically helpful, the room (a comfort so slightly larger than most Tokyo rooms) was exactly as described, comfortable. The hotel is close the the metro and JR line so it is easy to get to just about anywhere in Tokyo, the area is quiet but there are a lot great places to eat nearby. I didn't eat at the hotel except for an exquisite traditional breakfast in the very beautiful Japanese restaurant. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will definitely be staying again when I next return to that extraordinary city, Tokyo.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydneysiders2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking time to write your review.
We are so happy that you had a fabulous time with us.
As you comment, we are located near the JR and subway stations and we believe
Hotel Niwa Tokyo is very comfortable hotel.
Please recommend to your friend about our hotel and when you visit Tokyo next time,please stay with us.
All our fantastically helpful staff we are looking forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews