We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$441
$398
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$512
$326
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $373/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Imperial Hotel Tokyo(Uchisaiwaicho)
$406
$278
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $322/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Palace Hotel Tokyo(Marunouchi)
$839
$470
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$264
$217
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$651
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$251
$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $197/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Peninsula Tokyo(Yurakucho)
$642
$452
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $538/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo(Chiyoda)
$134
$86
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,655)
Filter reviews
1,655 results
Traveler rating
1,279
269
67
27
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,279
269
67
27
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorizon clubtrain stationescort servicelobby loungecorner roommeet and greetnarita expressjapanese restaurantdaimaru department storenespresso machineoffice buildinglittle thingsbeautiful roomrain showerwet roomcity viewrooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
944 - 949 of 1,655 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2009

I spent a really amazing week at this hotel.
Everything is great, and people were really nice.
Maybe just one thing about food, it could be better. I mean it look like classic food you can find in any hotel of this kind.
I was expecting something different...

Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
2  Thank Catsecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

After a 6.5 hours flight from Singapore, we arrived in Tokyo via the Narita Express (one hour ride). Upon leaving the train, we turn to our right and saw the sign 'Yaesu Central', but there was no 'Yaesu North' exit anywhere , as advertised on the Hotel's website. So, we walked towards this Yaesu Central exit, turn to our left and finally found the right exit near the Daimaru Departmental Store. From here, turn left, walk straight and turn left again, its another 1-2 minutes slow walk to the Hotel's somewhat nondescript ground floor lobby.

We then arrived on the 28th floor check in area. This is a classier area, styled with elegance and alot of thoughtfulness. The receptionist lady was friendly and courteous, however, the procedures to get checked in seemed somewhat slow to two weary and tired travellers. We booked the lowest room category, the Superior rooms, and was assigned room 3121.

This room, being located near the corner of a walkway, is both spacious and really quiet for a good nights sleep. Everything was new and high tech, however, there was no mood lighting as with the case of the Peninsula Tokyo which we had stayed last year. The clear glass Bathroom comes with a nice tub, huge overhead Rain shower and a standing shower. Curtains can then be drawled to ensure privacy. But alas, the bathroom door is also in clear glass, so when my mum showers, I cannot use the wash basin area, since it was adjacent to the Bathroom. The single wash basin is huge, however, we would prefer two smaller basins to one large basin.

Toilet wise, in a separated cubicle, is also rather high tech. However, whenever one walks near it, the toilet seat cover would automatically moves up, creating some noise when one visits it late at night, and this might disturb the other sleeping partner. The other gripe was the expensive breakfasts - Continental & Oriental, both at 2,700 yen each, European 3,500 yen and Japanese, 3,900 yen! Since we are no breakfasts people, we didn't dine at the Hotel.

Our twin beds, was, very comfy and spacious indeed. Curtains and blinds are all automated, huge flat screen TV right in front of the bed and beside the wash basin. Writing table also serves as our breakfast table, which was nice! There was even daily complimentary mineral water, tea and coffee bags. On arrival, we even get a plate of yummy chocolates! Both pyjamas and yukatas are also available in the room, what a thoughtful gesture!

The two female Conceirges at Reception was ultra friendly and extremely helpful! They even helped to book our train tickets to Nikko with no extra charges, print out tour and travel info on Nikko without us even having to ask for them ... really touched. And oh yes, they all speak very good English! Everyone was really kind and helpful to us, calling for taxis whenever we needed one at the Basement level.

All the good points as mentioned above, with the Hotel's superb location, just next to the Tokyo Station, is every weary traveller to Tokyo's dream! Our favourite Tokyo hotel to date, the Peninsula, even requires a short 5-10 minutes taxi ride, but this brand new Shangri-La is even better, doing away with the need of a taxi ride!

A few tips about staying here - the nearby Daimaru has a wonderful food hall at its basement level and the subway ride to Shinjuku on the Rapid Chuo Line is only but a 4 stop journey (GO- platforms 1 & 2, BACK - platforms 7 & 8)... and do ask Receptions for the Subway map. As for Nikko, the cheapest option would be taking a cab (10-15 minutes) to the Tobu-Asakusa station, 1,800-2,000 yen depending on traffic. A normal one-way ride is 1340 yen, while a faster one is 2620 yen. Compared with the Tokyo station's JR Shinkansen, which will set you back about 5,400 yen, the Tobu ride is a better option. Moreover, the Tobu trains are non-stop, while the JR Shinkansen requires a change of train.

All in all, we had a wonderful two nights stay at this superb Hotel. If we return to Tokyo again, we wouldn't stay anywhere else but here. However, we would love to try out their higher room category the next time. Hope there would be more surprises then?!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

After a long flight from London, the location of the Shangri-La Hotel right by Tokyo station made it incredibly easy to access from the Narita Express. The hotel is situated on the top floors of an office tower, so you start the experience by entering a street level lift lobby that whisks you straight up to the 28th Floor. The staff greet you at every stage with a beaming smile and impeccable politemess.

Check-in was swift and efficient and our room was ready for us, even though we were arrived a few hours earlier then the official check-in time. We were escorted to our 'Deluxe' room on the 35th floor and guided around the various features of the room.

The room was absolutely amazing! It was a large, very well appointed room with a stunning view over Tokyo Station and the Imperial Palace and over to the skycrapers of Shinjuku in the distance. There was more than enough storage available, a huge TV with a BOSE sound system that also connected directly to a laptop or i-Pod should you want to play your own music through the system.

The bathroom was out of this world with 3 distinct areas to it - the wet room with a huge overhead rainfall shower plus a deep soaking bath, the main washbasin was massive with a great selection of amenities and finally the show-stopper.....the hi-tech Japanese toilet! Fully automatic, right down to even lifiting the lid, the toilet was a real novelty with a heated seat and various heated water spray options!

The beds were extremely comfortable with full bedside controls for almost everything in the room, including electrically operated window blinds.

As our room rate did not include breakfast, we ordered room service on a couple of occasions and that was also perfectly presented. Basically, it is impossible to fault anything in this hotel!!! Obviously, a luxury 5 star hotel in Tokyo is not going to be cheap and the food and drinks were very expensive but that's normal in a city centre hotel.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a few days of absolute luxury and excellent service, in a central location handy for Tokyo station and access to the Tokyo Metro for getting around the city.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GDP747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Beautiful, sparkly hotel (there are crystals everywhere) In a brilliant central location right next to Tokyo station, it makes getting around Tokyo very easy as most public transport goes through Tokyo station. Good views to Mount Fuji and into the gardens of the Imperial Palace. The service is impeccable, the staff cannot do enough for you. The rooms are spacious, quite business like rather than very sexy, but have everything you could want right down to the heated loo seat. Nice if small gym with very lovely spa, the hot tub is out of this world!!! In a slightly business-y area in terms of restaurants in the evening but there are good local places to be found and karoke nearby!!
If you get invited to use the Horizon club, its fantastic and the complimentary snacks and drinks from 6-8pm is a fantastic way to start your night. The room service food was also very good, if not cheap!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Oscarlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

The new addition to the Shangri-La family provides a very intense personal experience with outstanding service and attention to detail. The staff are excessively attentive and hosusekeeping service is the best I have seen anywhere. The hotel is well located adjancet to the main Tokyo station situated in the upper parts of an office block. As you might suspect this hotel does not do "casual" so expect fine meals and wines not casual quick snacks. The rooms are very well equipped and designed (with the curious exception of the washroom TV, commented upon by another reviewer). The Horizon Club offered an attentive service and I am grateful to the wonderful staff there for their assistance in arranging travel and helpful conversation each day. Its a great place for a business stay. Thanks everyone!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TechnoProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews