We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service? read my review, please.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent service? read my review, please.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I'm a regular visitor of this hotel. Not staying guest but using their restaurants. Though I'm not a high-profile spender, the staff are used to see my face.around.

Some are nice and some are totally arrogant simply ignoring my presence not saying hello or irasshai-masen. Especially the Concierge lady who probably thought I was just lingering around the lobby passing my time.

The only staff who recognised my presence is the Bell Desk Captain. Although in the beginning she wasn't friendly but over the time she sees me walking in and out she recognized and say hello each time I'm there. Some Bell Desk staff should be trained to be more natural as it's The Shangri-La. I noticed one or two are so fake in their smiles. Perhaps they were trained at the Disney...lol.

The Lounge staff is friendly and try to accommodate me even when I visited in the most uncomfortable time of their schedule. I only wish their Managers are the same.

The joke I like to share here is one day I walked in to make a reservation for an Afternoon Tea. As I walked into the lobby the staff were suddenly so warm and friendly and welcomed me with great enthusiasm. Even the unfriendly Ms Kobayashi at the Lounge was eagerly taking my order. I thought that was strange...and I look around and saw there, the General Manager was standing around the corner. No wonder......!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    229
    59
    24
    11
See reviews for
349
401
98
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Tokyo was my last leg of my trip to Japan, after Kyoto and Mount Fuji. The Front of the House staff was well groomed, professional at all times and was able to converse fluently in English. The rooms are very spacious (especially for Tokyo) and reasonably priced. We had our first breakfast using room service, but we ordered after the time period. The order taker said she would call me back to let me know if they can do anything. Within 5 minutes, she called me back, passed the order and got delivered within 20 minutes. I need to highlight the excellent service of the bar tender where we went 2 nights in a row. he was very engaging. The day before our departure, the receptionist kindly offered us to buy our train tickets to Narita Express. The check out was fast. i have considered other international hotel brands before choosing Shangri la, as I had good experiences in Hong Kong and Paris, and they lived it up to it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Cedric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

As being my favourite hotels chain, i have stayed for business trip. The room is spacious. However, I did not like the lighting. The location is very convenient to whom using the trains since it is close the main station. The hotel provided all services beautifully. Except I face issue in requesting deposit even when you order food and even I am a member of Shangri la club. It was the only disappointing feedback.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mustantm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Very nice hotel with good sized rooms, located very close to Tokyo Station. Decent views and staff we're very friendly. There is a supermarket next door & lots of nice restaurants within 5 minutes walk.

We travelled with a one year old, and while the start was promising (the cot was great & they provided a nappy bin & baby bath products complimentary), the reality was it wasn't great for the baby. We weren't allowed to use the pool with the baby, his sleep times got in the way of room cleaning & I had a floor supervisor chasing me every time I left the room asking when we would be back, how long the room would be free for, etc. and there was no communal space suitable for the baby.

I'd recommend for business or a couple, but there are better family options

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaftAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

During a recent stay in Tokyo we split our time between the Shangri La and the Park Hyatt (I also reviewed the latter). Perhaps I'm being a bit harsh due to the extent to which I was impressed by the Hyatt, because this is also a really great hotel. Fabulous views, great location, attentive staff etc.

But in small ways - mostly down to personal taste - I didn't like it as much as the Hyatt. The service feels a little slavish to me. The decor is OTT and occasionally tasteless. The hotel is more business-y and less understated, and you feel they are trying to suck up to you with extra pointless touches rather than just do things well. (An example - I had to move to check in to the 'Horizon Lounge' for some reason and instead of making things quicker we had to sit in what amounted to a sort of airline departure lounge for ages while they sorted things out. The tablet you add your details seems cool but ours didn't work).

However, lots about it is excellent. The beds are supernaturally comfortable, the spa is good. Breakfast is excellent and the bar is not priced for oligarchs. It's still a really great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheoTenCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
233 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Enjoyed the "Autumn Afternoon Tea" here. Spectacular views, elegant dining room, beautiful china and silverware. Excellent tea menu. Staff incredibly friendly and helpful. Two hours of bliss for any tea lover.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josch1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Shangri-La was all the name implies. A truly elegant, luxurious hotel in Tokyo, just a minute's walk from Tokyo Station (if you find the right exit). Stayed 4 nights on first visit to Japan and highly recommend this establishment. Location can't be beat for access to subway and trains. Breakfast buffet was fabulous as was every aspect of room. Staff go out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Rooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Peninsula Tokyo
The Peninsula Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Address: 1-8-3 Marunouchi | Marunouchi Trust Tower Main, Chiyoda 100-8283, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#4 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The splendid Shangri-La Hotel conveniently located adjacent to Tokyo Station. Guests will appreciate Shangri-La's unique brand of hospitality and service, as well as the very finest facilities and amenities while staying within the comfort and warmth of this luxurious Tokyo hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Orbitz, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Shangri La Tokyo
Shangri La Chiyoda
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing