We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Outstanding Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-8-3 Marunouchi | Marunouchi Trust Tower Main, Chiyoda 100-8283, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Name/address in local language
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

From the extremely helpful and courteous staff, to the beautiful and luxurious facilities and the excellent Horizon Lounge, the Shangri-La Tokyo was the best hotel experience I've ever had in over 40 years of travelling.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CVB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    191
    53
    24
    11
See reviews for
305
346
87
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I'm usually not one to writ reviews ( this is my first), but after staying at this hotel, I must say that I was inspired to do so. I've traveled to a lot of countries, (I have even stayed at the Shangri- La before) and while many of them were very good, I have never felt as welcome as I did at the Shangri- La in Tokyo.

The hotel is beautiful and very conveniently located near the Tokyo railway station, which makes travel within the city extremely easy. The decor is classy and the room we stayed in was spacious and gorgeous, with a lovely view of the city outside. I am generally rather picky about the bathrooms in the places I stay in, and I have to say, that this one did not disappoint.

As nice as the rest of the hotel was, I was actually most impressed by the staff there. They were courteous and friendly and I have never met a more efficient group of employees. Whether it was our flight details, train tickets or information about the city, they took care of everything! We were even provided with an escort service to drop and pick us up at the station, whenever we needed to travel. From the concierge to those who assisted with our luggage, their efficiency is truly commendable.

All in all, I had a wonderful stay at this hotel and would definitely visit again, in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Shangri La Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank ShadowsInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our room had a beautiful view of the city. The huge window provided us with an excellent view of the cityscape. We could look down on Tokyo Station and see the trains coming and going all day and night. The hotel itself was 5 stars. Unbelievable class and attention to details. The best part of this hotel for me was the location to Tokyo Station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Gorgeous rooms and modern Asian design. All persons I encountered were exceptionally well informed, helpful, articulate, and they showed a high enthusiasm for their hotel and roles. Entering and leaving a hotel which begins at the 27th floor is a bit odd.

Room Tip: Easterly or South Easterly view is less than NorthEasterly view, but I think equally fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank 550TLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Words cannot describe how wonderful this hotel is. Our every need was attended to quickly and graciously. The food, service, rooms.....everything was perfect!!! This hotel goes far beyond any 5 star hotel that I've ever stayed at before.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank TerriK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Luxury at it's finest - I couldn't fault Shangri-La from the moment I stepped into its entrance. I was lucky to be upgraded - and what a sight I was greeted with: the Tokyo Skytree was in view amongst the beautiful skyline of Tokyo.

The room was clean and spacious with a beautiful bathroom complete with a contemporary waterfall shower and in-built bath overseeing a spectacular panorama of the city skyline. Free wifi and a host of world channels on the TV made the stay that much more comfortable.

Breakfast was gorgeous and the menu quite varied - something for everyone. I was particularly enamoured with the various fruit juices and muesli!

My flight was relatively early in the morning and knowing the enormity of Tokyo station, decided to check out early. Although last minute, the concierge offered me to be escorted by a delightful bell boy all the way to my platform and carriage!

From the concierge to the beautiful king size beds and a spectacular view to boot, I enjoyed every second of my stay. My first and definitely not my last - will return when I am next back in Japan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the end of August. Really enjoyed my time at the hotel. Was there for business and needed to be central so this fit the bill just perfect. Food was great and slept like a log. Awesom hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank RedHotLugNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
The Tokyo Station Hotel
#4 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Peninsula Tokyo
The Peninsula Tokyo
#7 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,454 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,612 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#2 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Address: 1-8-3 Marunouchi | Marunouchi Trust Tower Main, Chiyoda 100-8283, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#4 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The splendid Shangri-La Hotel conveniently located adjacent to Tokyo Station. Guests will appreciate Shangri-La's unique brand of hospitality and service, as well as the very finest facilities and amenities while staying within the comfort and warmth of this luxurious Tokyo hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Shangri La Tokyo
Shangri La Chiyoda
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing