We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Chaska, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is incredible. Dont go for just one night. Stay longer! We could only stay one, the night before we left. So close to the station which made getting around really easy. Great staff and very helpful. The horizon club is fantastic, and the rooms are amazing

Helpful?
Thank MCaughron
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    191
    53
    24
    11
See reviews for
306
347
87
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I love Tokyo and this hotel added to everything thing I love about this city. This was my 4th trip to Tokyo and my 1st stay at the Shangri-La.

Since the Tokyo train system is once of the best most people including myself prefer to ride the train that a car. My wonderful experience started with the hotel once I booked my train ticket from Narita station to the Marunouchi station. The hotel concierge explained that this station was large and challenging to navigate if your first time to that station. She insisted on meeting me on the train track and all I needed to do was provide my train number and car number. Upon exiting the train the concierge was dressed with a hotel sign waiting for me and to help navigate my way through the VERY busy station. I think we walked for approx 15 minutes just to get through the station as the trains traveling to and from the airport are in a different part of the station from the trains that most take around Tokyo. The crowd was also larger than normal because they had recently opened up that portion of the station after years of renovations and both tourists and locals were taking photos of the renovated station.

The Shangri-La is a beautiful hotel and I was greeted with a smile from the front desk staff upon check-in and escorted to the elevator where I was met by the bellman at my room door with my bags. I had two twin/double beds but after a long flight and wonderful reception I was not complaining, nor did I complain at any part during my stay. The room was very nice and modern with a view of Tokyo. The meeting space this hotel has is amazing the ballroom doors have crystals in all the door handles and mirrors, simply beautiful.

Breakfast was included in my negotiated room rate every morning and I ordered the same coffee and sparkling water the staff had it ready once I sat down. This again adds to the service that the Shangri-La and provides in making sure their guests are comfortable. I had high tea in the lobby lounge one afternoon, it has some great views of the city but high tea is expensive, keep in mind Tokyo in Oct was listed in the 5 top most expensive cities in the world. I often thought that I was the only one in the hotel on business as most people looked like they were only there to lounge and enjoy the view. None the less I would recommend a cup of tea or a glass of champagne while sitting back and enjoying the view. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Tokyo on business or pleasure as the train station is less than a 3 minute walk (central Tokyo lines) and you can get to most locations via train including the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cazjamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Shangri-La Hotel in Tokyo. Used the Limousine service to and from the airport as I was afraid to use the train. Excellent service throughout this hotel, all the staff are courteous and will go out of their way to do anything to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank sunicicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Next to the Yaesu side of Tokyo Station. Arrange for hotel staff to guide us to hotel via Narita Express (located at Basement 5 of Tokyo Station which is huge). The staff already waited for us when we stepped out of the train.

Lobby is not located at ground floor but not a problem at all.
I stayed for 4 nights (3 nights in premium room, 1 night in horizon club) and checkin was good. last night when i need to swap rooms, the luggage was moved to new room and getting new keys for the room was a breeze.

Concierge was excellent. They already assisted before we checkin by helping via email on some queries. They also have the portable wifi router and price is reasonable.

Everything in the room worked as it should. Fantastic large rooms (especially for Tokyo standards) and bathroom was also excellent. Room is also very clean.

Loved it!

Room Tip: Horizon Club is worth it if you spend more time in the hotel. Breakfast can be in-room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NFChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Only one night in this beautiful hotel, and what a shame. This place is elegant, guests are treated with a high level of courtesy, and the rooms are amazing. My large room with a king bed overlooked the city, and so did my bath tub! The amenities were all you could expect. Never got a chance to use the fitness center or pool. The lobby bar was a great way to start the evening. This place is expensive, but worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room ending in "19". You'll really enjoy the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TallRedChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very modern hotel next to Tokyo station. Ginza (shopping district) and the imperial gardens are in walking distance. The atmosphere in the hotel is pleasant and the staff is very helpful. Our room was on the 37th floor and offered great views towards the Bay of Tokyo. Will definately stay here again if going back to Tokyo!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We managed to get a really good corporate rate here which was a great start, especially for Japan 5* prices. We also stayed in the Park Hyatt during the same visit, to see different sides of Tokyo so have something to compare. The Hotel is located extremely close to the Tokyo station, which is so convenient (if you take the right exit). So it is easy to come here straight from the airport as the Narita Express goes direct to Tokyo Station. It is also a stone's throw away from Marunouchi area, which has nice high end shops, and lots of great restaurants for lunch (not just japanese cuisine) which was a relief, especially the Dean and Deluca close by. It is also very easy walking distance to Ginza area (20 mins) and the Imperial Palace Gardens (15 mins).

We did have to wait a rather long time for the room to be ready, as my brother tried to check in early at 11:30, but we didn't get the room till just before 3pm, which was a little disappointing. The hotel lobby is actually based on the 28th floor if I recall correctly, which makes for great views once you are there, with a nice bar and a lot of people having afternoon tea, we didn't get chance to try that. The rooms are fantastic, contemporary and really big! Much bigger than we expected, and we were in a standard twin. The bathroom was the best, extremely comfortable with heated tiles in the shower / wet room. They also had the latest version of the special Japanese style toilets, I later discovered there are older ones, with less functions in other places and hotels.

The views were fantastic , we were on the 33rd floor and the electric blinds were perfect for keeping the light out. The beds were reasonable, not firm enough for my liking, but still got a good night sleep. The service was also excellent.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel, particularly for the location and proximity to the Tokyo station, but also the neat modern rooms were just want you want in this city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Nadeem_Uddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
The Tokyo Station Hotel
#4 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Peninsula Tokyo
The Peninsula Tokyo
#7 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,455 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,612 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#2 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Address: 1-8-3 Marunouchi | Marunouchi Trust Tower Main, Chiyoda 100-8283, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#4 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The splendid Shangri-La Hotel conveniently located adjacent to Tokyo Station. Guests will appreciate Shangri-La's unique brand of hospitality and service, as well as the very finest facilities and amenities while staying within the comfort and warmth of this luxurious Tokyo hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Shangri La Tokyo
Shangri La Chiyoda
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing