We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,686)
Filter reviews
1,686 results
Traveler rating
1,303
273
68
29
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,303
273
68
29
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horizon club escort service train station lobby lounge narita express corner room meet and greet daimaru department store japanese restaurant nespresso machine office building little things beautiful room rain shower wet room city view rooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
907 - 912 of 1,686 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2012

only one night was all it took, but would need more nights to really settle in but couldnt stay any longer this time around as other hotels were on the schedule so i had to leave. the room was perfect with goodies to match. loved the warm toilet seat always welcoming to my derriere

Room Tip: this was booked on wotif as an aus $1200.00 room but on special around $850.00 so that’s where the bargain was well worth it. no noise as the reception was on the 8th floor to start then all the rooms were above.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charisma007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

A great hotel... but one small think ruined the experience.. and usually the Shangri-La chain is not this "cheesy." My reservation said "1 Deluxe Bay View Room (King)." So I woke up and opened the window expecting a view of a "Bay." Nothing but buildings as far as I can see... so I called the front desk and the said I was in a Bay room but "its complicated because the Bay is very far away but you can see it sometimes." So - the lesson - don't pay extra for the Bar View... pay extra for some of the other amazing amenities in the Hotel..

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RT1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Tokyo has plenty of first class hotels, but the Shang is in a class of its own. Very high quality furnishings and decor, plush carpets and couches even in the basement taxi lobby, and a scent that always takes me back each time I step into the hotel. The rooms are also fantastic, well equipped with every amenity you could think of (the small shaving cream sprays were a very welcome touch for someone like me with a 5 o clock shadow by 2pm!). The rain shower is a delight, and beds are some of the most comfortable I've slept it. But above all, the service is top notch with friendly staff and courteous greetings on every occasion. They always help explain my destination to taxi drivers, and bags are taken care of.

Areas to be improved: the gym is somewhat small and sparse, although it does come with free weights, which are rather rare in hotels. The pool is a little small but adequate. Really, little to complain about except that sometimes I can't get a room because they always seem fully booked at all times of year! I will be at the Granbell Shibuya hotel next time I'm in Tokyo this month (personal trip), but wishing I were in the Shang.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the train station - beautiful at night when lit up, but truly stunning at sunrise/sunset with the view over Tokyo. The club lounge is also a great way to start the day
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelmunkeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

One of the best rooms I've ever stayed in. The bed, work area and especially the bathroom were perfect. Service is excellent but most hotels in Tokyo have great service. Restaurants and bars are very good. I especially thought the breakfast buffet had an excellent selection.
Gym facilities, despite having a pool, are lacking by five star hotel standards (see Four Seasons Marunouchi) but in line with high end Tokyo hotels where the locals clientele doesn't work out.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tkyrnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Stayed 3 nights last week. Overall, the premium quality of the hotel is evident from the momemnt you are greeted at the door to the details in the finishing of the rooms. Room and toilet were luxuriously fitted out and full range of toiletries provided (comb, toothbrush, moutthwash, sewing kit, Occitane soaps/shampoos). Found the beds too soft for my liking. Hotel kept luggage for 4 days whilst we went to Nagano for skiing without any hassle. Location (next to Tokyo station) was very convenient if you intend to use the JR trains to go to other prefectures. Tokyo station itself has tons of shops and eating places.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeanieHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews