We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with great views”

Shunju Tameikesanno
Ranked #177 of 6,885 Restaurants in Chiyoda
Price range: $63 - $90
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Description: To enjoy the night view, table seats near windows facing Shinjuku area are recommended! Limited to 5 tables. The most important element in Shunju cuisine is to be able to truly appreciate the four seasons and the blessings which mother nature has bestowed upon us. Ultimately this is what we consider to be the new Japanese cuisine. Our special is seasonal food. Specials of the day are the Saga beef and the sliced raw fish assortment. Thanks!
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Shunju in Akasaka is a very nice restaurant. The food is always fresh, tasty, and creative. The staff is very attentive. And the views from the restaurant are great - as it is on a high floor, rather in the basement of some building, that often happens in Tokyo.

1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Shunju Tameikesanno
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 68 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

I wrote a glowing review of this place 3 months ago, but I've never ever seen a place becoming SO MUCH WORSE within such a short period. Went there with a larger group of people and ordered most of our food in advance. The bad signs started early on our visit. At just before 19:00 in an otherwise quite empty restaurant, we wanted to change one item from our pre-order and add some additional dishes. Everything that we wanted to have was out of stock, even simple things like tomatos or meatballs.

Then the food was served. First came some vegetables, strange stuff that didn't look fresh. Not what we had the last time. Bad start. It became worse. The Sashimi platter had a selection of salmon and different cuts of white fish, very different to what you are usually served. No tuna, because out of stock. Quality was mediocre. Next came the 5 different kinds of Sushi. Same here, just 5 different kinds of white fish. Because that's all they had on stock. Quality was poor. Next the charbroiled tuna, which was far from the dish we ate 3 months ago. Then came the meat. First the quantity served was just a fraction of what we pre-ordered a week ago, because most dishes were out of stock. Worst, the meat was served completely cold. They served a few other dishes and I could go on complaining how poor it was, but it's just a waste of time.

And this was business entertainment, a complete embarrassment for me. My worst dining experience EVER in Japan, in 14 years of living there and another 10 years of frequent travelling.

It's just beyond imagination that a place which was REALLY great 3 months ago could become THAT BAD within just a short period of time. But if a place is out of stock of almost everything, it probably will be out of business shortly...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael-Traveller-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had dinner here one night after an incredible meal here on our last visit. Sadly, it didn't quite live up to our previous experience. That said, there was a wedding in the main restaurant the night that we went (no mention of this was made on booking) so we dined in the bar. We had the full menu but it just didn't quite deliver. Service was great though and the they serve good drinks. We enjoyed our night and I would probably give it another go...after all, everyone has an off day every now and then.

Thank marniemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Entertaining foreign visitors who are on a short trip, I like bringing them to upscale modern Izakaya's, where they can sample a variety of Japanese food in a nice environment. Usually this is a safe formula that visitors appreciate. But to Japanese the food quality in many of such establishment is mediocre.

Not so in Shunju.

First I was impressed by a bilingual menu in flawless English. We ordered a variety of dishes. All dishes were served in the right order, appetizers first, followed by fish and finishing with meat, and well paced. I'm pointing this out as it often is a problem at other places of this kind.

We started with an amuse, which tasted very good. But don't ask what it is... I won't tell. Next was some Sashimi, nicely presented and very good. In general, food presentation is great here. Then we had Sushi in good Sushi bar quality. A highlight was the charbroiled tuna, served with 2 sauces. In combination with the Tomato-mayonnaise, it was spectacular. This was followed by oven baked Yellowtail head, another fabulous dish. Finally we had 3 different kinds of Japanese beef and Iberico pork. The pork was great and the beef too, although one of them was a bit too well done.

The ambience is modern, but warm, with great city views from 27th floor. The service is quick and efficient. They have a good winelist, although a bit on the pricey side.

Shuju has made it to the top of my list of Modern Izakaya's. It also is more expensive than most, but truly worth it. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michael-Traveller-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We went there with a couple of colleagues and it was just great. First the view is fantastic and the tables are quite spaced so you can enjoy some privacy and a quiet conversation without having to yell to hear anything. Second we've ordered a lot of dishes (sashimi, lamb, beef, chicken, pork, duck, onigiri, croquettes, etc.) and they kept coming quite rapidly. The lamb and the pork were spectacular and just melted in your mouth. The croquettes were great too and I've always had a weakness dor sashimi. Last, the service was efficient and friendly. A fantastic dinner on the 27th floor.

1  Thank Ch90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shunju Tameikesanno also viewed

 

Been to Shunju Tameikesanno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing