We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks good, smells weird”
Review of remm Akihabara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
remm Akihabara
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The hotel overall is OK. The room is unsurprisingly very cramped and had the most unbearable smell. It was a mix between tiger balm and moth balls. It was like I was staying in a third world hospital. The smell made me so uncomfortable that it ruined my stay here in Tokyo. I had to buy a spray across the street at the mart to attempt to fix the problem. Unfortunately, the smell did not go away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wookiefurball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 521 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

Immaculate and in a perfect location to pretty much everything!
Great little pub across the street. Had a real melting pot of partiers.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knotguilty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I live near Tokyo so I usually stay in budget hotels when I come to the city since I will be returning home soon. So, this time I was pleasantly surprised by the room. It is very small but quite normal by Tokyo standards. However, the shower was nice, large and modern. It was definitely worth the $30 or so more than I normally spend on a double room elsewhere. The bed was actually comfortable which is more than I can say for some of Tokyo's 4 stars. Japanese people tend to prefer firm beds but this bed meets somewhere inbetween Japanese and Western tastes. Not overly pillowy but heads and shoulders above most I've slept in. The TV was large for the room size and the massage chair was a great added plus. The hotel is decorated pretty well. The toiletries were a step above regular budget hotels and were in-line with the slightly upper price point.
It was still a decent price and had a GREAT location, right next to Akihabara station.

Other people have commented on the bad service or lack thereof but I honestly think it was because of staffs' limited English skills. I speak Japanese (but look obviously western) but no one attempted to speak English to me while I was there. Some tourists seemed to have trouble communicating at the front desk when I was there. My personal recommendation is to be patient and if they say "No" or "I don't know", ask the same question in very simple English. This goes for basically all traveling in Japan, but instead of saying "Hey, do you mind if we leave our bags here while we shop?" is a rather complicated English sentence. Try saying "Can I put my bag here? I will return later." That sort of thing.

The hotel's breakfast was pretty lacking for the price. Try going to McDonald's or Starbucks or really any of the countless restaurants in the area for a cheaper, better breakfast.

Room Tip: Book on a hotel booking site rather than the hotel's website. Rooms for this month were around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lana190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

stayed here with my brother who was on a business trip right after my stay at Ueno for a few nights. i must say i love the location, directly connected with JR station. and just a little walk away , the subway. it's in one of the most happening areas , where you can find gadgets, food and maid cafes if you are into those stuffs.
the rooms were quite nice and clean, and has a very modern feel to it, especially the washroom and shower area. but it was a bit pricey. and the service was not really good. one time we asked the receptionist whats the charge rate to call a local number, she said she doesnt know and didnt really look it up. also another time, when we came back, the bed was made up but the cups wasnt washed and wastepaper basket was still full. was still a pleasant stay nonetheless .

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cryspower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights in august. First the good: location is excellent for shopping (Akihabara) and the rooms are nice, small but good. I liked the massage chair and the glass-wall shower. Price was also good for the room (and included breakfast). Now the bad was the indifference of (certain) staff, just not very helpful. We asked to store our luggage and they just looked at it and sort of shrugged and acted like it was in the way. I don´t expect super friendly politeness all the time but it was enough to annoy me. Other than that no problems, and it was very convenient and close to the major Akihabara train station.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmiliaStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

hotel is located RIGHT above the subway station - which made a big difference. Tokyo stations are different than NYC stations - there is a lot more walking involved. So it really helped to be able to just get out and go into the hotel. it's Tokyo - don't expect king size bed with space to stretch out - room was small but enough. and it came with a massage chair which was used every morning!
overall - very clean modern hotel in a convenient location in Tokyo.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sozturkcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

REMM Akihabara made itself one of my favorite hotels in Tokyo very quickly. It is located directly above the Akihabara tain station, and across the street from Yodobashi Camera's massive Akiba (a.k.a. Akihabara) branch. When I checked in, I was greeted by a front desk staff that speaks excellent english. Overall, the hotel staff met the usual Japanese standard of top-notch service. If you have a lot of luggage, though, this may not be the hotel for you. The rooms are tiny but very well designed. Through clever use of glass and sleek design they make a small room seem much larger than it actually is. The highlight of the room is either the massage chair (seriously, it rocks...or at least it rocked my world.... :) ) or the glass shower that allows you to watch TV whilst you take your morning constitutional. The Akihabara Tolim development in the same building houses a Uniqlo clothing store as well as many dining and drinking options, and the neighborhood overall is very friendly.

If your Japanese is limited (or non-existent) there are a good selection of restaurant in the area that can accommodate you, so Akihabara can be a good choice for the Japan novice.

When you get to the JR Akihabara station, take the Showa Dori exit. When you go through the gates, turn right, and the entrance to the hotel will be on the right, just past the Starbucks.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CoastieCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Akihabara Washington Hotel
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 78 in Chiyoda
2,069 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Asakusa
Richmond Hotel Asakusa
#4 of 124 in Taito
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Via Inn Akihabara
Via Inn Akihabara
#38 of 78 in Chiyoda
231 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to remm Akihabara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about remm Akihabara

Address: 1-6-5 Kanda Sakumacho | TX Akihabara Hankyu Bldg, Chiyoda 101-0025, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#12 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#15 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: $100 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — remm Akihabara 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your remm Akihabara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Remm Akihabara Chiyoda
Remm Akihabara Hotel Chiyoda
Remm Akihabara Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing