We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart business hotel in a handy enough location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
the b tokyo ochanomizu
Ranked #29 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2012

although our booking was messed up we supposedly had booked a double room for just one person??? the manager was very helpful and polite in sorting it out for us. in general the staff were really great and always smiling. the room, although small was definitely not the smallest we have stayed in throughout japan and lan was pretty speedy. it was probably one of the nicer and more modern that we've stayed in too - pretty quiet too. we thought it relatively good value for a hotel of that standard in tokyo although it's not that central it is a couple of minutes walk from the subway. breakfast was well stocked but the same daily but had enough variety for a four day stay. would probably return or try one of the other hotels in the chain if they were as reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianinsaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo ochanomizu, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear ianinsaigon

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the b ochanomizu.
We sincerely apologize about your reservation and the confusion but are glad we were able to solve it upon your arrival. Also thank you for your comment regarding our breakfast. We will make sure that your voice will be heard.

Please do come back and stay with us or one of our hotels again - we have eight locations, 5 in Tokyo, 1 in Nagoya, 1 in Kobe and 1 in Hakata, and they all are centrally and conveniently located to many famous sites, restaurants and more! We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best Regards,
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 201 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

Had 4 night stays in this hotel. We reserve a non-smoking room online but end up still getting a smoking room instead. They compensate by upgrading into bigger room. The size of our room very comfortable. Not sure about other room. So I guess this is a common problem for this hotel for giving a smoking room too. Wi-fi not available in our room and lobby area and not so convenient for us.

Our room is at the top floor and at the corner, not sure why there is some sort of machine noise coming from next buildng but just a minor bearable sound on and off. Still manage to get a good night sleep for us.

Basically room is clean , looks new and they change the bedsheets daily.
The location is just 2 mins walk from Awajichio station and very convenient and quite centralised to all places of interest in Tokyo rather than to stay in Shinjuku area. This saves a lot of travelling time from point to point. But if you are more keen to visit Ameyoko Street ,Ueno Park, Zoo, Asakura-Odaiba (specially Sakura season, stay nearby Ueno Station is better. Ueno is easily acessible from Narita Airport thru Keisei Ueno. ( Direct and hassle free and cheaper mode of transport too). Staying near Ueno,Ginza line to avoid the need to transfer train is a good idea too.

Airport bus will just drop us at North Entrance of Marunuochi Line and we have to take to Awajichio, 2 stops away. (Just walk across the main road towards JR line and take the underpass to Marunuochi line(red)). The hotel just behind Tully , take the small lane and turn left.
I suggest a 24 inches luggage bag for mobility and easier to store in their locker in the train station at Y500.

We can walk around 22 mins to Ameyoko street and Ueno Park as well from this hotel.
Breakfast quite decent, scramble eggs are good but same daily menu.
The Aunty that served the breakfast was very friendly.
Good Cofee machine on the lobby area and free flow anytime.

Locker available if you wanna leave your bag and check out earlier and return for luggage later.

I can say this hotel value for money allthough it might not be cheapest alternative.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor room or non smoking room. Ask for Air - refresherner spray if no choice and op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SakuraMadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo ochanomizu, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Dear SakuraMadness

Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts about the b ochanomizu. We sincerely apologize that we were not able to get you a non-smoking room. We do not know where the noise you mentioned came from so we will investigate to improve the situation. As you mentioned, our location is very close to Awajicho station and the Tokyo Metro Subway Lines and the JR lines are very convenient to access many of the popular Tokyo sights. Thank you for your kudos about the coffee complimentarily available in the lobby and the b breakfast. We will try to improve and change the selection. We do hope you will be back for a longer stay next time! Thanks again for your review!

Sincerely,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The "b" chain includes a number of hotels in Tokyo, and a few dotted around the country. They're business hotels, but up to date, efficient, and clean. They're well marketed, and you pay a small premium over a non-branded hotel, so they won't be the cheapest, but still good value for money.

Finding the hotel the first time was a challenge. Not only is it on a side street, but it's set back from the street. Even with a full address and GPS, the taxi took a couple of passes to find it. Print out and bring the location map on the website! Apart from that, the location is good if you're going to be travelling widely around Tokyo - it's close to 3 or 4 subway lines and a couple of JR train lines, so accessibility is excellent. Note that you're slightly closer to Ueno than Tokyo station, so for the airport, use the Keisei Ueno line not the JR Narita Express, as it's faster.

Check was efficient and easy. They were offering discounts through some loyalty card, which I didn't have, so adjusted the room rate instead. I didn't test the staff's English but a non-Japanese speaker would be welcomed just as well I suspect. They have maps and area information available.

I booked a double room for more space, but it was still, as expected, quite compact. It was in a corner so an odd shape which I liked, tho' I'm not sure what a feng shui master would have thought! It had all the standard features of a business hotel: wired internet (free and fast), kettle, fridge, good quality unit bath... nothing remarkable, all clean, all in good working order. The desk was a reasonable size for working, although the lighting could have been better. There was no view (well, there was, but it was of a wall...) but then in a budget city hotel I wasn't expecting a view. The bed was comfortable and I slept well.

There's no gym, and you're in the middle of built-up Tokyo, so your morning run will be along city streets. The only peripheral facility was a public computer in the lobby, and an espresso machine (very welcome!). There is only one elevator, so at peak times (mostly first thing in the morning) expect a bit of a wait.

Breakfast was included in the price, but to be honest wasn't great. I'd have preferred to pay JPY1,000 less, and go out for a coffee shop breakfast. There was white bread, blister-pack jams, 2-3 unappealing hot items, and so-so coffee. It wasn't bad, and I've often had worse, but just nothing to get excited about.

Check out was fine, and they provide free luggage storage lockers if you need to leave your things.

If you're on a modest budget, want somewhere clean and reliable to sleep, and will be visiting different areas of Tokyo (or need to be in Kanda!), this is ideal.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotels, Manager at the b tokyo ochanomizu, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Dear hoboesque
Thank you for taking the time to post your response on your stay at the b ochanomizu. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back again.
It really is a wonderful area, close to the ski shop area, book shops of Kanda and the music centres. There are many sales to be had in the area and it is always a great place to pick up a bargain - and so much variety.
In addition to this there is easy to access the whole of Tokyo with the subway lines and JR station nearby.
We look forward to your return visit to the b ochanomizu.
Kind regards
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Place was great :) all the staff were very friendly and helpful! Always got a nice warm welcome when you entered the hotel. Room v clean and had everything you needed. Breakfast was basic but hit the spot in the morning. Location was perfect ! V close to the underground. Felt v safe in this area. Would definitely stay again!
Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank key-eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo ochanomizu, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

Dear key-eat

Thank you for staying at the b ochanomizu and for taking some time to write a review for us. We' re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We try our best to provide the best customer service and the clean and comfortable room so we're happy to know you are satisfied.
Thank you again for your comment. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We booked this hotel as it was a reasonable price and was located very close to the Tokyo underground system.

When we arrived the four of us were jet lagged and incredibly culture shocked so the warm and friendly greeting when we walked through the door was really appreciated. In fact, the staff at the hotel were incredible throughout the stay. Every morning, afternoon and evening we were greeted by the staff and when we had questions these were answered instantly and in perfect English.

This hotel was a bargain given that we had wifi and breakfast included. The breakfast was one of the best buffet style breakfasts I have had in a business hotel. It is also located very close to a number of restaurants, bars and convenience stores, which made it a good base for us.

I should point out that this hotel is designed for business people. This means that the rooms are relatively small. However it was perfect for our stay and we would come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laursbobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideyuki_Yanagi, フロント オフィス マネージャー at the b tokyo ochanomizu, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2011

Dear Sir/Madam Laurasbobbins

Thank you for comments and for choosing to stay at the b ochanomizu on your recent visit.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the good location and the service from the team. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to them.

The hotel is within walking distance to several trains and subway stations making it easy to get all around Tokyo.
But as you know, there is also so much close-by – including a variety of restaurants and the famous book-shop, music stores and the ski and sports shops of Kanda.

It is our goal at the hotel to meet and exceed our guest expectations, and we are pleased to have succeeded by delivering excellent hospitality during your visit.

Please feel free to contact me if I can assist you in the future.
Once again thank-you and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Front Office Manager
the b ochanomizu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

The staff at this small hotel were wonderful - reception staff couldn't do enough for us. We had a double bedroom; they are small however they have everthing you need including a trouser press! The Japanese just seem to be very smart and efficient about putting things together and making it all work - the small, very clean and efficient bath/shower/toilet room is a good example.
The housekeeping service in the hotel was very, very good - everything was spotlessly clean. All in all I would certainly recommend this hotel - we loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penepolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideyuki_Yanagi, フロント オフィス マネージャー at the b tokyo ochanomizu, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2011

Dear Sir/Madam penepolly

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit and for taking time to send your valuable comments.
We are glad you appreciated the housekeeping service provided by the team and the efforts of the Reception Team - they certainly take great pride in hotel and make sure our guests are always satisfied. We will be sure to pass your comment on to them and will continue to provide excellent hospitality.
Once again thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Front Office Manager
the b ochanomizu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

The hotel is a little tricky to find, closer to Awajicho station than Ochanomizu stn. Get familiar with the map before you show up! I found a pocket compass helpful in the Tokyo subway! The hotel is a small place with mostly business travellers. The room was a reasonable size (considering we were expecting something really tiny) no problems moving around with our big luggage! The breakfast is pretty good, with a decent selection. Try the salad, but I'd skip the eggs. They have good coffee in the lobby, internet, and a really handy luggage store for day tripping after you check out. Really good value for a place like Tokyo!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tofer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiyoda hotels
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Akihabara Washington Hotel
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
APA Hotel Kanda Jimbocho Eki Higashi
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Villa Fontaine Kudanshita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Mystays Kanda
Hotel Mystays Kanda
#37 of 82 in Chiyoda
64 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
remm Akihabara
remm Akihabara
#13 of 82 in Chiyoda
536 reviews
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Tokyo Green Palace
Tokyo Green Palace
#31 of 82 in Chiyoda
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the b tokyo ochanomizu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b tokyo ochanomizu

Address: 1-7-5 Kandaawajicho, Chiyoda 101-0063, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Price Range: $50 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — the b tokyo ochanomizu 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your the b tokyo ochanomizu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Tokyo Ochanomizu Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing