We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Akasaka Ninja Restaurant”
Review of NINJA AKASAKA

NINJA AKASAKA
Ranked #5 of 6,807 Restaurants in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $199
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Pearl City, Hawaii
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Akasaka Ninja Restaurant”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This restaurant was a kick with all kinds of fun gimmicks, making your dining an adventure. The food is wonderful and served by "ninja" dressed in black. A magician comes to your table for close magic. You get several different courses or dishes, each one with unique presentation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    280
    77
    32
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Disney-esque dining”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had a large group of 25 so they gave us a private room. We had "nomihodai" (all you can drink for 2 hours). The bring out fun things while we dine and the best was the magic show...we still could not figure out how they did it. Food was decent, but nothing to scream home about. Drinks a bit slow to arrive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pammyvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great fun for the whole family”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a ball here. Good food, good theming. As others have said, it is hard not to give too much away, so just trust us, it's fun! Allow about $150 for 2 adults with a few cocktails. :) My kids (aged 7 and 5) thought it was one of the highlights of our trip!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryans_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food good experience.. try it”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Went here based on recommendation from a friend.. did not disappoint.. dont want to spoil any surprises so better if you dont read up about what to expect. The food is actually quite good and along with the details and efforts by friendly staff justifies the price. Had good times.. special thanks to Kenji!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZaidAlothman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
154 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Campy fun and really nice food”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Definitely not your everyday restaurant, as it falls in a higher price range, but worth a visit at least once. It is just the right amount of camp and cheese: entertaining and silly, but not so much as to feel like a kiddy diner. The food can stand on its own, which to me is pretty important: you can't eat atmosphere.

As others have mentioned, ordering one of the prix fixe/course/ sampling menus tends to be a better value than a la carte; on both menus, each menu item is a bit small, but with several courses you definitely leave satisfied.

Our favorite dishes: the "treasure box" salad, which is baby greens presented in a bowl, at first looking quite uninspired. The server returns with a small box for you to open. Inside the box is an egg, cloaked in mysterious dry ice fog. Crack the egg and a perfect egg of seafood gelee and shaved veggies tumbles out. Mix it in with your salad and once you get over the "this is odd" factor, it's incredibly tasty, nicely balanced, crisp and light. And the spicy tuna roll was one of the best we had in Tokyo; more of a spicy tuna igloo than a roll, the rice was really soft and perfectly seasoned, and the tuna incredibly fresh, with a nice spicy kick but not so much as to drown out the tuna.

I'm not sure we would go back immediately--- it really is a special occasion kind of place--- but I am sure we will end up there again eventually.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dcpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NINJA AKASAKA also viewed

 

Been to NINJA AKASAKA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing