We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A traditional ryokan guesthouse in a lovely but quiet area of Tokyo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homeikan Morikawa Annex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Homeikan Morikawa Annex
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Bunkyo
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A traditional ryokan guesthouse in a lovely but quiet area of Tokyo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

My husband and i stayed at Homeikan Morikawa as part of our month of travel through Asia, and it hit the right notes for us. I am trying to figure out how to review this particular stay, because while there were downsides to Homeikan Morikawa, there were, in my opinion, more upsides, depending on the type of stay you are considering. The upsides were that our room was lovely and traditional, the beds comfortable (despite the bean bag pillpws), wifi accessible, the price extremely reasonable (especially for Tokyo), and the location was in a quiet neighborhood with easy access to the metro lines which we try to use as often as possible while traveling. The ryokan had an odd charm that we enjoyed. The downsides were that the bathroom facilities were just average (although we did enjoy the family showers and bath), but we're not overly picky in that respect. Another downside would be the location for some (out of Tokyo center), but as we used the subways for easy transport around the city, we were able to go out for the nightlife to Shenjuku and navigate easily home. The ryokan is also very close to Ueno Park which houses a lovely lake, walks, many temples and the Tokyo Zoo. We visited during the cherry blossom festival, and the park was beautiful and lively and full of food vendors and absolutely worth a day visit. given the price and the loveliness of our room, we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend Homeikan to certain, less "fussy" travelers who lean towards experiences over luxury.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
3
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed in four different Ryokans over a 11 day period in Japan. This one was shocking! Toilets were smelly and bathrooms not even to the style and standard of a ryokan.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bunkyo hotels

Stockholm
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

Homeikan Honkan and Morikawa February 27 to March 3.

We stayed the first 3 nights of Honkan (also read my review on Honkan) and was moved last night due to Morikawa refurbishment of Honkan.
Daimachi appeared not to have family who escaped us 5 family, which was a shame because we would have liked to have had direct access to Daimachis nice garden.

Homeikan have very good prices to be living in Tokyo and could also accommodate our family of 5 persons, which was otherwise difficult to find. We also assessed that the situation was good to visit other attractions in Tokyo where there were two nearby Metro stations and lines that reached almost everywhere.

Morikawa
Morikawa We spent our last night in Tokyo after being escorted by the staff at Honkan in their minivan. It is about a few hundred meter further from Hongo sanchome and Kasuga stations.

The staff were like at Hokan, very friendly and helpful. And the reception staff knew some Swedish words!

Our family room was much warmer than the Honkan, but the room smelled a bit musty and seemed older. Whole Morikawa felt old and rustic with its wooden columns and many details.

The bathroom (women's) was smaller with only 2 showers and a total of 3 taps. The pool was smaller than the Honkan, and therefore easier to bring down the temperature of the otherwise very hot water.

We also ordered breakfast at Morikawa and payed 1000yen/person for this. Can not say the food (bowl of rice, fish cakes, susages, miso soup, cabbage with bonito/onion flakes, pickled vegetables and strawberries) was worth its price, but we probably paid more for the room service which was impeccable, of course.

We discussed back and forth on whether we should book Homeikan again when we return for our last night in Japan prior to departure back home to Sweden.
But we decided at the last minute to try a western hotel (Prince Hotel Sakura) in Shinegawa instead and then paying about 8000 yen more. But of course with a comfort that we recognise with our own bathroom, toilet, flat screen TV and 4 pieces of 120 cm beds. AND a view of Tokyo Tower.

We do not regret at all our experience in Homeikan. Homeikan offers a rustic atmosphere that feels more like home rather than a hotel. But travelling around the days after to the various parts of Japan and Japanese style accomodation, we realised that we could have better japanese style than Homeikan. But Tokyo is Tokyo, with its high housing price, Homeikan is certainly affordable accommodation for such a big family like ours.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TraveladdictedAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2006

This is a reasonable option for Tokyo accomodations, especially if you're trying to limit your budget. But note that the location, next to Tokyo University, is not central and there's nothing much open at night except for a couple of combinis.

The staff are nice and the rooms are fine--nothing special, although they are a bit larger than average by Tokyo standards. The baths are located in the basement and are clean.

Homeikan has two other buildings--the Honkan and Daimachi. I think the Daimachi is supposed to be the nice one, so it might be worth a look.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Denizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunkyo
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Forest Hongo
Forest Hongo
#5 of 21 in Bunkyo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Tokyo Dome Hotel
Tokyo Dome Hotel
#2 of 21 in Bunkyo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Edoya
Hotel Edoya
#4 of 21 in Bunkyo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
#1 of 21 in Bunkyo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Richmond Hotel Tokyo Suidobashi
Ueno, Asakusa
The Edo Sakura
The Edo Sakura
#2 of 121 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeikan Morikawa Annex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeikan Morikawa Annex

Property: Homeikan Morikawa Annex
Address: 6-23-5 Hongo, Bunkyo 113-0033, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Bunkyo > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bunkyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, JAPANiCAN, HRS and Rakuten so you can book your Homeikan Morikawa Annex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeikan Morikawa Annex Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing