We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun but waiting for Thunder Dolphin to reopen”
Review of Tokyo Dome City

Tokyo Dome City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A fun way to spend the day in Tokyo for both adults and children. Full of great shops and eateries as well as rollercoaster rides and live entertainment shows for children.
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun but waiting for Thunder Dolphin to reopen”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The kids had a good time in this vibrant spot. Magi Quest is an amazing place but the kids should have at least some Japanese Language abilities to enjoy it. Thunder Dolphin has still not reopened since the earthquake. It is/was an amazingly smooth ride and we miss it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    284
    96
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is "the future"”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

When I brought my friends here, they realized the futuristicness of Japan. Not only can you see shows and sports games here, there is an amusement park (with a roller coaster going through a hole in a building), good food (Moomin cafe and a buffet restaurant), and shopping. It looks beautiful at night also, and it's near Ueno and Tokyo University if you want to hit up that area in one go.

Helpful?
2 Thank lalalava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun For Everyone”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The Tokyo Dome is an architectural wonder, seating 55,000 people and being the only done in the world with a membrane top that is held up with air pressure. I didn't get a chance to go inside (and I didn't see any tours to do so), but just seeing it was pretty cool.

Tokyo Dome City is like a mini amusement park right around the corner! There are a few rides but my favorite were the "Big O" (a center-less fares wheel with a great view), and the "Thunder Dolphin" (a mild roller coaster that goes through the "Big O's" center), I highly recommend both rides. You can buy an all day pass or individual ride passes at easy to use kisko's.

Also on site is LaQua, a mini strip mall where you can eat, take a break from the day, and play in the arcade (which had an ice cream claw machine when I went).

Be sure to bring your camera, some comfy shoes, and around $40 in yen per person if you plan to play around. Just as a side note when I went it it seemed rather windy so avoid flirty skirts. I easily spent my morning there just playing around and exploring. It wasn't very crowded, and even though I spoke zero Japanese (except thank you & hello), the staff was VERY friendly and happy to help.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Breshiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great place to go”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Its great for shopping you can buy many household goods they have the body shop, ice creams ,Japanese eateries which please eye and belly.
For the kids theres amusement rides like a mini rollercoaster, video game pallor,gift shop ,merry go round and clown game , with parks near by..

Helpful?
Thank kiwisinjapan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good for kids!!”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Clean and safe ! If you can meet Tokyo Giants game. It's gonna be a great fun !!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Dome City also viewed

 
Bunkyo, Tokyo
Bunkyo, Tokyo
 

Been to Tokyo Dome City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing