We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and charming ryokan”
Review of Homeikan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Homeikan
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Bunkyo
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Nice and quiet neighbourhood. A bit out of the way, but clos to the metro. Attentitve staff. Cozy, with the little extra. Slippers and low tables give you the Japan-feeling to the bone! Very nice bath and free shampoo + soap!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soppen-suse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 151 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

Homeikan is pretty much the perfect place to stay in Tokyo. Although it's just four stops north of Tokyo station on the subway, it feels like you are far out, due to how charming, quaint and quiet the surrounding Bunkyo neighborhood is. Bunkyo itself is home to plenty of great shops and restaurants, which means that you can dine and shop in peace before you head downtown for sightseeing. The staff at Homeikan is also hospitable and really give you the feel that you're staying in a home, rather than a hotel. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leaveyourdailyhell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We love staying at Homeikan Ryokan in the university district of Tokyo.
It is located near enough to the metro lines to be convenient, in a non-touristy part of town which means it's quiet and peaceful.
This ryokan is spread out over three different buildings in the same neighbourhood, we usually stay in the Daimachi Bekkan building. Very traditional style, with lovely spacious tatami rooms. Tea making facilities are supplied in the room, as are dressing gowns and towels. The atmosphere in this hotel is just lovely and very homey.
The japanese style public baths are in the basement, and Daimachi Bekkan also has a 'private' bath if you want to use it as a couple or a family.
We would absolutely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maaike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Me and my friend had a great stay at Homeikan. The staff were more than friendly and during our stay this was one of the highlights of our trip. Homeikan is old, but in a good way. The room we stayed was like in the movies and the public bath couldn’t get any better after a busy day. So if you want an authentic Ryokan experience book yourself a room in Homeikan.

Besides, it is an amazing deal for the price with good location, few minutes walk to the subway stations.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Makeventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We booked 4 nights and after the first night we cancelled. The shared bathroom is very small, that small that you can't sit down on the toilet. At 7 o'clock in the morning kids were running around. It seems that they have two buildings, maybe we stayed in the old one. A mid-class hotel in Tokyo is much more comfortable and cheaper than this Ryokan. Unfortunately I really can't recommend that place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cosimania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

This ryokan was generally clean and staff polite and helpful. While the service was spot on, our room was a different matter. For the price we paid for and the experience we expected at a ryokan, Homeikan missed the mark.

We were placed in a building that seemed to be a later addition to the traditional ryokan - this building was more like a stark concrete box and the room was shabby. Since there is no way to specify preference for the traditional building ahead of time, it's a crap shoot where you will end up staying. I would recommend shopping around for other ryokans in the area.

Also, the traditional Japanese breakfast was meager for the $20 price tag. Skip it and explore what Tokyo's bakeries has to offer instead.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Happytangents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I was to happy to stay there my first 2 nights in Tokyo.
The lady at the reception was so kind all the time, she even gave us an umbrella when we left because it was raining too much.
It's a great experience, be sure you go to this place if you're in Tokyo.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunkyo
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Kizankan
Hotel Kizankan
#20 of 21 in Bunkyo
38 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Forest Hongo
Forest Hongo
#4 of 21 in Bunkyo
99 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Richmond Hotel Tokyo Suidobashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Wing International Korakuen
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 82 in Chiyoda
2,103 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
the b tokyo suidobashi
the b tokyo suidobashi
#7 of 21 in Bunkyo
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeikan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeikan

Address: 5-10-5 Hongo, Bunkyo 113-0033, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Bunkyo > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bunkyo
Price Range: $68 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 72
Also Known As:
Homeikan Hotel Bunkyo
Homeikan Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing