We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good and typical ryokan !!!!”
Review of Homeikan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Homeikan
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Bunkyo
Brussel
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“very good and typical ryokan !!!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

very good traditionnal ryokan near a big mall with all facilities. peacefull neigborhood.
the staff was very nice and usefull...like japan people !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xsurfrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    43
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
24
43
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed here for two nights, and I can only say that I wish we would have spent our entire time in Tokyo here. Its a beautiful old building (we were told its one of the few in the area that survived WWII as well as the great earthquake) located on a quiet sidestreet in a lovely neigborhood. The staff were beyond friendly, and very eager to please. The place is small enough (20 rooms at the very most) that they seemed to know and recognize each guest by name. I stay in hotels about 150 nights per year, and I wish the staff at all the hotels I stay in were this cheery and accomodating. We also really enjoyed the Japanese breakfasts served in our room. If you stay here, I would highly reccomend this. Its actually a pretty good deal for room service too. We even got to really enjoy the communal baths too, as a nice hot soak was just the thing after walking around the city all day. As long as you can deal with not having ensuite facities (a fact we were aware of when we booked...Most Ryokan do not btw), I'd stay stop searching and book this place now. Overall, I can't say enough about how great this place was and how much we liked it. And for the price... Its hard to beat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyinFoodieGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This is a truly traditional ryokan, so don't expect noisy common rooms and big socializing opportunities. If you're looking for a nice room, very peaceful atmosphere, japanese gardens outside your window, traditional breakfast in your room and the traditional hot tub bath, come here. I stayed 2 nights and got upgraded for free for the third night - just because :) got my own extra porch and an even nicer room. Came here to get a rest from busy Tokyo and relax and let my thoughts run free - this was the best place for it. Someone mentioned the smell - the place smells like old wooden building with tatami mats but not bad, don't worry about it. Rooms have TV, aircon, fridge and fast wifi!
Close to subway Kasuga and Korankuen as well as to many restaurants, shops etc. Thank you very much for the great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a private porch with garden view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annana2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed a week at the ryokan and its annex. The annex was full of mosquitoes.
The managers offered us a Japanese breakfast one day.
In both locations the rooms were clean, the common bathroom clean.
It was a nice place to stay as we were working at the nearby Tokyo University.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OpheliaAutumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We loved this ryokan, which was our first night in Tokyo on a three-week trip. Definately going to stay there on our return trip through the big city.
Homeikan is a little out of the way, but we liked the area and found fantastic restaurants on our ten minute walk to the subway to visit busier parts of Tokyo.
The inside of Homeikan is breath-takingly original in decor, design and attitude. There is a little box of tea, cups and tea pot and hot water in the room and we had a lovely sun-room overlooking the street.
The women's bath is a large stone room downstairs with shared toilets and sinks closer to the rooms.
We had a double room with a little pebbled anti-chamber, hall and large sitting/sleeping room. We ordered breakfast in the room and could smell them cooking egg omlettes early in the morning.
The staff were attentive, particularly given the timing of our visit just after the earthquake/tsunami.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lostluggage80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

I visited Tokyo on business and decided that I'd spend a couple of days beforehand adjusting to the jet-lag and being a tourist. My wife had said I should consider a traditional Ryokan for a sample of traditional Japanese hospitality. I chose Homeikan on the basis of the reviews here and was not at all disappointed.

The staff were always very helpful and had good English. The rooms (different rooms for the 2 nights but they had told me in advance this would be the case) were spacious and airy. On returning in the evening a flask of hot water was in the room for making tea and the bed was made up. Breakfasts were traditional Japanese and served in the room and an experience in themselves. The communal bath was a very pleasant and relaxing experience even though the water was so hot.

At the end of the 2 nights I had to transfer to a regular business hotel more convenient for the office I was visiting and quite honestly on arriving there I instantly felt nostalgic for the Ryokan. I'm so glad I chose to stay at Homeikan as it made what would have been a wonderful first trip to Japan (earthquake excepted) a really special experience. If you are obsessed with having en-suite facilities and can;t cope with the idea of sleeping on the floor then this isn't for you, if however you're prepared to forego those frills to experience something different then I would thoroughly recommend Homeikan.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anataboga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

It was my first trip to Japan. I just want some special Japanese stay in the trip, so I chose Homeikan, coz of its not-so-expensive rate and its location. Can easily reach there by Tokyo Metro, walk along the road that pass Tokyo Uni.'s famous Aka-Mon, and then walk few min. by little street through neighborhood area, nice stroll!

The building is a beautiful traditional Japanese house, with koi pond and little court garden. The interior is bit too dark (give me 'lil creepy feeling at night!) but all was preserved in its traditional way. The room was decorated in old style, that included oh-so-small sized TV too :P But the best is its private 'Ofuro'. You can use this hot bath tub privately with lock on door, very soothing after all-day-long walking, I bet!

The staff here was veryyyyyyyy nice. I met one who ever came to Thailand, she can speak English and little Thai too. We had talked a lot, and she gave some advise about transportation in Tokyo and some interesting Japanese TV drama :D

This time I didn't book room w/ breakfast nor dinner, but will try it next time. It'll surely superb, I dare say after noticed that nice smell floating all over the lobby!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetiteePc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunkyo
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Tokyo Dome Hotel
Tokyo Dome Hotel
#2 of 21 in Bunkyo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Andon Ryokan
Andon Ryokan
#7 of 120 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
The Edo Sakura
The Edo Sakura
#2 of 120 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Hotel Fukudaya
Hotel Fukudaya
#4 of 11 in Meguro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Shigetsu
Asakusa Shigetsu
#32 of 120 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Family Inn Saiko
#1 of 55 in Toshima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeikan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeikan

Property: Homeikan
Address: 5-10-5 Hongo, Bunkyo 113-0033, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Bunkyo > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bunkyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten and HostelWorld so you can book your Homeikan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeikan Hotel Bunkyo
Homeikan Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing