We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Rikugien Garden
Reviews (897)
Filter reviews
897 results
Traveler rating
394
402
94
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
394
402
94
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews komagome station tea house weeping cherry tree jr yamanote line classical japanese green tea autumn season beautiful park edo period autumn leaves walk minutes serene oasis early december small hill full bloom enjoy the scenery shinjuku gyoen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 897 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2019

It's an OK garden to visit if you're in the area, but overrated, IMO. I like Hamarikyu and Shinjuku Gyoen much better.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Shibuyakko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

In a quiet suburb of Tokyo is this immaculately kept public garden. Entrance fee is a very reasonable 300 Yen. Walking round the garden without stopping will take about 30 minutes but you will definitely want to stop and take in the view at various points so allow at least an hour and a half. There are a couple of spots for refreshments as well.

Access is easy enough via Kamagome on the Yamamote rail line and a 10-15 minute walk.

Guided tours in English are available (on a couple of Sundays a month I believe)

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019 via mobile

This a great place to view cherry blossom at night. The view will take your breath away, and pictures taking will create memories that will last a lifetime. I highly recommend anyone traveling here to Tokyo Rikugien Gardens is a must during cherry blossom season or any other time.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank fernando1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2019

We visited this garden in the end of february but the famous cherry blossoms weren´t flourishing yet. But it was nevertheless beautiful there. It is a little, very cared off garden and we did have the luck to be there on a sunday for free entrance. And we got a free guiding tour in english with a lot of explanations. Although the garden is just in the middle of the city you enter the gates and you hear nothing of the streets. Just perfect for spending some time.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank ninat839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2019

We went as a small group just before closing. The cost to get in is 300 JPY for adults. The area is very well taken care of. Some ponds, trees, and traditional Japanese gardens. It was nice and quiet compared to the Imperial Gardens.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews