We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (878)
Filter reviews
878 results
Traveler rating
557
239
51
14
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
557
239
51
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four seasons beautiful garden luxury hotel soba restaurant japanese garden room service il teatro extensive gardens the nearest train station l occitane impeccable service fabulous hotel every evening executive suite luxurious rooms yu spa pool and spa area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 878 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2019 via mobile

What we had:
King room, garden view. Cost about $650 AUD per night including breakfast.

What we liked:
Room is big for Japanese standards;
Room is very nicely appointed with a huge bathroom;
Hotel is tastefully done;
Free use of pool etc;
Extensive gardens (Our favorite part) with some restaurants in them;
Soba restaurant which is actually good value;
Breakfast - probably one of the best Japanese breakfasts we've had;
Nice staff;
Outside area is quiet and pleasant with more gardens nearby.

Not so much:
It is a fair hike to get there from Narita airport- probably 2 hours;
Most restaurant prices are a bit over the top. Set menus look good but a lot of food.

Summary:
The pro's far outweigh the con's. After a major disappointment with Tokyo Station Hotel last year, we have found a new favorite.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htl-chinzansotokyo, Director of Guest Services at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Dear Peter M Sama,

Thank you for staying with us and for giving the "likes" and "not so much" on this site. Feedback, both positive as well as negative, is important to us. We do want to know what our guests think and feel.
We are happy that our hotel is a new favorite for you and hope to welcome you back many times. By the way, there are a few quicker options from Narita to our hotel. One recommendable way is to use the Skyliner to Nippori station (about 40 minutes) and next a taxi from Nippori to our hotel (about 25 minutes).

With warm regards, Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019 via mobile

We were so delighted with the superb service at this hotel. The amenities were plentiful. The gardens lovely. Nothing was any trouble and all extras were thought of. An easy cab ride to anywhere. Very quiet, comfortable and luxurious. Very spacious rooms. The staff are just amazing. Very good value for money.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Mckayt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htl-chinzansotokyo, Guest Relations at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Dear Mckayt Sama,

Thank you so much for your kind words! Your review will be shared with the staff. Everybody will be glad to see that their efforts are much appreciated.
Thank you once again! With warm regards from Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Nothing was overlooked. It was a complete pleasure to stay in this hotel. The staff were exceptional.
The rooms were very spacious as was the bathroom. Slightly far out from city centre but worth the effort of travelling back to such luxury after a day of sight seeing

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank jcat10v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htl-chinzansotokyo, Guest Services at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Dear jcat10v Sama,

Thank you for your review. Your comment made us very happy! Thank you once again and we hope that we can welcome you back for another pleasant stay. With warm regards, Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2019 via mobile

Luxury does not equal to class. I have been to a few luxury hotels that are unfortunately classless. Some would expect a lot of tips for just doing their job description, nickel and dime on service charges etc.

Hotel Chinzanso is the opposite. It sees going above and beyond as a requirement, like its simply what it is supposed to do. Not to mention all the small but sweet touches, such as a hand written welcome note from the manager, boiled hot water for tea and a box of snacks, a hand folded paper crane for good luck, as well as a local cellphone for each room’s guests to use during their day trips free of charge. And did I mention the property itself is just beautiful. The garden is of course gorgeous, but all the decorative antique items placed throughout the hotel is equally worth looking at.

The only “downside” is the location. It is in a residential neighborhood; so unlike my friends hotel which is located at the heart of Ginza, it does not have any convenient stores or many cool and popular restaurants by its door steps. The hotel itself has a number of restaurants. We have eaten at a couple of them and they are pretty tasty. But their prices are at higher end and some requires advanced reservation. I feel for the same prices, you probably can find sth even better somewhere else.

It is also a 10-15 minutes walk to the nearby subway station. However, if you mind the walking, taxis are always waiting right outside the hotel lobby. Because the hotel is centrally located, taxi fairs to most Tokyo major attractions are relatively reasonable.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank ms_miu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htl-chinzansotokyo, Director of Guest Services at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2019

Dear ms_miu Sama,

Thank you for staying with us and for writing a very friendly review. Your comments will not only help other potential guests to make the right decision, but also motivates the staff to keep on doing their job with pride and pleasure.
As you wrote, we are indeed in a centrally located residential area of Tokyo. You cannot compare it with Ginza or other busy commercial districts, but nearby there is a very charming neighborhood, called Kagurazaka. Here you can find all kinds of interesting restaurants (from simple noodles to 3 star Michelin restaurants), shops, temples and attractions. I hope you had a chance to go there. If not, maybe on a next visit. We would be glad to welcome you back! With warm regards, Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019

This hotel is amazing.clean hotel with superb service and very beautiful garden. the minus point is the hotel locate in the hill so when you go to edogawabashi station (the nearest station) is ok but when you come back need extra energy. but you can choose more flat walk via edogawa park. But in the front hotel there is 61 bus stop so you can use this transporation

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hartarto J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htl-chinzansotokyo, Director of Guest Services at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2019

Dear Hartarto J Sama,

Thank you for staying with us and for giving us 5 stars! We are glad to see that you fully enjoyed your stay and appreciated the garden and service. We are indeed on a hill and as you mentioned, the walk back takes some energy. Besides the bus, you can also walk along the river and through the garden to avoid the climb up the hill. The garden gate is normally open from 10:00 until 21:30. Thank you once again! With warm regards, Andre Sol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews