We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little green haven in Tokyo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Bunkyo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Let's start with the bad points:
1) Walking from the subway station can be a bit taxing, especially after the entrance through the garden is closed (around 10ish). We had no problems finding a taxi after getting out from the subway though, and there are always taxis waiting in front of the hotel, so no loss of time.

2) Communication with the spa is difficult. I wanted to offer my mother a treatment for her birthday, and despite several mails AND an offer to pay beforehand AND a visit in order to confirm that there should be no mention of the costs, the lady in charge of the treatment still had to tell her what the room would be charged. I did not like much the small envelope slid below the door to remind me either. Still, the treatment was good, and I guess that is all that matters.

Apart from that, the staff was wonderful and the beds are great (best sleep we had in Japan).

We only had the western breakfast and it was filling, despite being à-la-carte.

Will definetly stay there next time I go to Tokyo

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiisanawani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 696 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

Not only registered guests also public people can enter and walk around the beautiful garden. This hotel is located in the central area of Tokyo, but, its garden is beautiful and leafy. Every weekend, many wedding parties are held in the hotel. So, you can see the traditional Japanese wedding suit here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suits_caser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is a wonderful luxury hotel, from the moment you want in the you walk in the door, a wonderful experience. The room is comfortable, the service impeccable, the garden lovely. The hotel caters to a lot of weddings, so there is lot of amenities and expensive restaurants. The directions to the hotel are excellent, I took the bus from the airport which was convient and inexpensive.

The only caveat is that the hotel is located away from the busy active center of the city. This is great for people looking to get away from the crowds. Also, the style is classic but with elements of the traditional, but not the bright and modern style of Tokyo.

Enjoy the garden and the walk among the camelia's.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve-h132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Finding a spot to "de-stress" in Tokyo can be a challenge. This hotel provides an oasis from the bee-hive of activity that is part of the energy and charm of Tokyo. The reception at the door, at the desk, and the escort to your room sets a new standard in service in my experience. The rooms are quite, clean, clean, and did I mention clean. The real treat of this hotel is its gardens and grounds that demand a walk and some quite time. The food and service at the restaurants in the hotel meet the same standard of excellence for the hotel.

It is not the least expensive hotel in Tokyo but the best value to what it does cost. You cannot put a price on service and tranquility.

Room Tip: Try to get a garden view room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a wonderful stay here on our trip to Japan. The rooms are large and clean, there is very little noise from other rooms or the hallway. The food is good, and of course the staff was very attentive. The garden is spectacular and you get a lovely view from the breakfast restaurant. Tip: if you are ordering the "American Breakfast" get the crispy bacon - the "not crispy" version is something a little bizarre that I couldn't eat. The subway is a five minute walk and we found it relatively easy to navigate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed only for one night but it was spectacular. The gardens are beautiful, the rooms was very spacious and the service was off the chart - 7 stars. I was greeted by name as I got out of the car (still not sure how they knew it was me - never stayed there before). My sheet was ready for check-in at reception, when I picked up bags from the concierge they magically appeared in 15 seconds - amazing. Wifi was very functional (a pet peeve in many other hotels), bathrooms were generous. The hotel is somewhat removed from downtown Tokyo, but the hotel has generous shuttle services. Will definitely stay again. Obviously, getting a garden view room would be a plus.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of April. We arrived very early and the hotel staff did everything they could to get us into our room before the check in time which we were very thankful for since we had just arrived from London on a 12 hour flight.

We had an executive suit with a view of the garden which was amazing. I'd recommend you ask for a high floor garden view when you make the booking. The executive suite was very comfortable and had a large bathroom. It was very clean and the house keeping staff did a great job of keeping the suite clean and tidy while we were out.

Breakfast in the hotel was nice enough, but be warned that there is usually a queue ( approx 25 mins wait )around 730am so i'd recommend going around these times if you don't want to wait. As an alternative you can pick up a free coffee and mini muffin in the hotel lobby between 5 and 8am which I took advantage of some mornings !

During the stay my partner made use of the spa for a back massage and was delighted with the experience.

Hotel bar is nice and relaxing with a decent selection of whiskys and cocktails, although do be aware that smoking is permitted in the bar.

Overall very pleased with the stay and as you expect in Japan the hotel staff were only too friendly.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view of the garden !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunkyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 75 in Chiyoda
2,056 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 75 in Chiyoda
2,047 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 116 in Minato
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,472 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 116 in Minato
3,219 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 83 in Shinjuku
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo

Address: 2-10-8 Sekiguchi, Bunkyo 112-8680, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Bunkyo > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bunkyo
Price Range: $226 - $592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo is located uptown in Mejiro. While it is in the heart of Tokyo, the hotel is surrounded by our spacious scenic green garden, which gives the hotel an aura of quiet serenity. The property consists of three buildings: the hotel, the plaza and the tower; and a traditional-style Japanese garden. The hotel has 260 rooms, 36 banquet halls, 5 wedding facilities and 12 restaurants. The garden lets our guests experience the four seasons through its changing colors: camellias bloom in the winter, cherry trees bloom in the spring, fireflies fill the garden in the summer and the leaves change colors in the autumn. Please come and see why so many of our guests are awed by the changes of the seasons in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Tokyo At Chinzan-So
Four Seasons Bunkyo
Four Seasons Hotel Bunkyo
Four Seasons Tokyo
Bunkyo Four Seasons
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing