We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Edoya”
Review of Hotel Edoya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Edoya
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Bunkyo
Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hotel Edoya”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

4 people all adults, we stayed 3 nights First week of Oct, 2012..we got one room Japanese style for 4 ppl..we stayed on the 4th floor..the room we stayed was good, the tatamis look new ..the toilet is narrow, considering many foreigners have big sizes..the shower is just right for any sizes..the shower handle is new and clean..the fridge is clean, the tv is a small to meduim size and flat screen..the futons were clean and good to sleep on..u will have also ur hotel yukatas and bath and toilet amenities..the room cleaning service is done everyday..abt the bugs that a few ppl were commenting..well..we did not have any experience abt it..

the breakfast is all right altho they serve the same breakfast menu every morning, coffee is good, too, where u eat the breakky is clean and good ambience..

the public bath like the locker /changing room for women is average, the place where u publicly have a shower before going to the public hot bath is also average but the tiles they have looks already very old..but the stone type hot bath outside looks all right..

the location is very good altho most comments said by many ppl is the hilly road going back to the hotel..well..its really true but then for me..its a good walking exercise and for awhile u dont really feel that u HAVE to go up again on that hilly road..it becomes a part of ur walking thing the hilly road..
its very near Akihabara..near train stations were u can connect from one station to another..its ver convienient..many food shops around the corner..many convienient stores..not really a problem to us when we stayed there..

there r 2 computers in the lobby and u can use it anytime, free including the printer with it..
WIFI in the lobby, too..
if u have ur own wifi u can use it in ur room just get the right place to put ur wifi to get a good signal..

the walk paths inside the hotel where u pass the rooms in each floor, well..yes its true, there is a smell which i think its because the hotel itself is very very old,,but not dampness..maybe they need to change their old carpets..coz i read comments that they said abt the hallways smells..

over all..its very good for groups staying coz its reasonably cheap..u can really save lots of hotel money from it..the staffs r good and can manage to speak english..

for me..if u r on a budget trip this a good hotel to stay just to give u a place to sleep, shower ..
if ur the extravagant type, the all u can traveler, well find another Japanese ryokan around Tokyo that r pricey..

we give this hotel a rating 8 out of 10..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    135
    45
    11
    10
See reviews for
83
85
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We chose to stay here because it was a traditional, not a western, hotel. Sleeping and living in a traditional Japanese room was a real experience for us. There were 3 metro/train stations all within walking distance which meant getting anywhere in Tokyo was easy (once you understand how the transport system works). There is a Japanese restaurant (not English speaking) on site and the hotel breakfast is very Japanese, not western, so be warned. Just up the hill is a lovely temple, worth a visit and check out the petrol pumps at the garage at the bottom of the hill. While a little old in decor, the atmosphere was great. English speaking staff at reception were very helpful. Try the communal bathing on level 6 which was great fun. Very close to Ueno station from where the trains to the airport depart, then a short ($10) taxi ride to the hotel. So much more character than staying in the tourist centres of Tokyo.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little more for the bigger rooms - we had one of each.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HafodBlueMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great central location - walk to Ueno Park, multiple major train lines, and Akihabara.
Stayed in a traditional Japanese room (2 adults and 2 kids) and space was fine - we spent most days out and about.
Bathhouse was enjoyed by both kids, and breakfast was included and had good variety.

Amazing value for where it is and with meals included. Free internet computers in the foyer. Laundry available for use (low cost for washers and dryers).

Desk staff very helpful and provided travel directions and advice.

Clearly popular with school groups as we had 4-5 different schools through in our week there.

Room Tip: Japanese room was good (three + 1 room) for a family with 2 small kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We came here on a school trip because it was reasonably priced and close to everything. First impression was it was TINY. I was sharing the room with three other people and we just fit in the room. On the first day, I tried to use the hairdryer and it gave me a mild electric shock as there was many holes in the cord. However, it has everything you need and is a great traditional ryokan experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at Edoya in the middle of September when the temperature was still over 30 degree and our room was too hot to sleep. It might have been only our room as nobody else seems to have complained about it. Otherwise, the hotel was very good. It is quite outdated, but everything worked and it didn't bother us. The baths on the top floor were great. Although it was very hot, we still took a hot bath and enjoyed it. The location was very good - close to Ueno, Okachimachi and Akihabara stations, very convenient to get to the airport. The taxi from the hotel to Keisei Ueno cost less than AU$10. We enjoyed walking around Ueno, especially between the Ueno and Okachimachi stations, through 'Ameyoko'. We stayed in Shijuku last time but the Ueno area is much more interesting It has got much more 'old day' feeling. Hopefully we will be back there before long.

Room Tip: The room 503 was hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pengapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmestrand, Norway
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I enjoyed staing in this hotel very much. There are both Western style and Japanese style rooms - I chose a Japanese style room and found it very good. The only reason I have not given 5 stars is that there is not network connection in the rooms although there is one in the lobby area.
In the top-floor, partially on the roof, there is a traditional Japanese hot bath, one for women and one for men. A rest in hot water unedr the Tokyo sky was soothing for my jet lagged body and mind! The staff is friendly and helpful, and as always I loved the traditional japanese breakfast.

Room Tip: I chose a "Single superior Japanese style" - this was not especially expensive and a delig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EspenSOre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Pros: large rooms, excellent traditional breakfast buffet, and terrific location. It is a very traditional ryokan. So traditional that it appears that the whole hotel has not been renovated for the last 50 years. Really felt like I was staying in a museum. The bedding was clean.

We took showers and baths in the 6th floor public bathroom. It is nice to be able to take a bath in the balcony. The bathtub can comfortably fit 2-3 people if you are from the same family. It is too small to have two strangers sitting in the bathtub together. The bathtub temperature is all over the place. Sometimes it is too scalding hot, sometimes it is too cold. I stayed for one week in this hotel; I know what I am talking about. I would recommend checking the tub's temperature first, adjust the faucet, then go take a shower. After the shower, the tub should be in the right temperature.

The breakfast (if you like a traditional Japanese meal) is quite sumptuous.

There is wifi in the room. Two old computers are in the lobby for guests.

The lobby has pretty tea rooms.

About bed bugs that some reviewer had written about... I did get one bite. Not sure if it was a bed bug. It definitely took a whole week to go away. It was not a mosquito bite.

The hotel has not been renovated for a long time and some part of the room looks very drabby. However, I did appreciate the relatively large rooms. There are certainly hotel rooms in other hotel in which you would have trouble finding room to open your suitcases.

I picked this hotel because this is a rare Japanese hotel that has room to accomodate four.

I recommend going to the nearby origami center to buy origami kits. I recommend going to nearby 7-Eleven to buy some cup-o-noodles and bring them back to the hotel to eat. The hot water pot in the room has been useful also for making tea. I also recommend going to "Niki no Okashi Bikku Kan" to buy all manners of Japanese snacks really cheap. And the whole area around that store is where the locals shop. Lots of cheap stuff there, all next to Matsuzakaya Department Store.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank battacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunkyo
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Tokyo Dome Hotel
Tokyo Dome Hotel
#2 of 21 in Bunkyo
1,174 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Richmond Hotel Tokyo Suidobashi
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Wing International Korakuen
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
the b suidobashi
the b suidobashi
#8 of 21 in Bunkyo
97 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Forest Hongo
Forest Hongo
#4 of 21 in Bunkyo
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edoya

Property: Hotel Edoya
Address: 3-20-3 Yushima, Bunkyo 113-0034, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Bunkyo > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bunkyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edoya 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Rakuten, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Edoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edoya Hotel Bunkyo
Hotel Edoya Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing