We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City Centre Hotel”
Review of Hotel Lungwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lungwood
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels / Ryokan in Arakawa
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This hotel located at city centre, couple min. walk to JR train station, its got restaurants bars all around the hotel, shopping area as well. The rooms in Tokyo area is small on average, but this hotel rooms are consider above average in size. Free wifi and lobby area, for room there are free computer dataline avaliable, and if you want wifi in room, you better bring a wifi box to connect for your smart phone.Service is friendly and good. Its not a large hotel but well kept. Price for room is very good compare to other Tokyo hotels.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turhanwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 212 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

I've stayed in quite a few Tokyo hotels, and this was the first disappointing hotel stay I had.

I stayed in two different rooms here (if my booking had allowed me to cancel the second, I would have!). Both were very dirty, grungy, and had a terrible odour. Like very old cigarette smoke, even though both rooms were non-smoking. In the first room, there was hair everywhere in the bathroom, mould on the grout and in the windowsill, and the bath mat had a sticky spot on it. In the second room, the shower curtain was filthy, and there were mystery stains on the carpet. Just gross. When I mentioned this to the very non-English speaking reception, I received a shrug.

Oh, and the walls are paper thin. I'm not exaggerating when I say that you could hear the people in the next room roll over or cough.

I walked in to get a massage at the location in the lobby, and the carpet had so much dirty worn in a path to the rooms you probably could grow plants there.

I didn't dare to eat at the restaurant, due to concerns about cleanliness.

They did have an iPad connected to someone who could speak excellent English if their skills to communicate weren't working out.

I would not stay here, nor would I recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BElliottSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

There wasn't anything majorly wrong with this hotel... I just know that there are better places in Tokyo to stay than here.
PROS:
*Very convenient if going to or from Narita airport as the Sky Access train station is directly across the road.
*The same station across the road is the main JR line into Tokyo - 2 minute walk.
CONS:
*The location (Nippori) is okay, but still a 25 minute train ride into Shinjuku.
*Even by Japanese standards, our room was small.. like... really small.
*So, if the room is small, imagine what the bathroom is like - think aeroplane toilets.
*Carpets, furniture and fittings were old and tired. Time for a refurb!
*We wanted to ring up and reserve a table at a Kobe Beef restaurant but don't speak Japanese. We asked the staff at reception (who spoke English and obviously Japanese) if they would call on our behalf, but they flat out refused. I was really surprised at this.

We're really not fussy travellers at all and most of the time we stay in mid-range accommodations so don't expect anything too flashy. But despite all that, this is somewhere that we wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

So easy to get to from Narita, the Lungwood gave me an excellent large room, with very helpful attention from the staff... there is very useful food shopping nearby and the train station can easily take you to all parts of Tokyo. Noise from nearby rooms remains a problem (walls are a bit thin), but when I did complain about some over-joyful folk across the corridor, the staff moved them somewhere else within about 5 minutes. For me, that is 100% good service. The nearby cemetery is nice and quiet too... I will stay at the Lungwood again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayeffSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Did not like location. Not tourist friendly area, close to train but not many restaurants, shops close by. Room smelled funny. Not very clean. Water stain on walls. No English news channels. Would not recommend

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank goo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend for 2 nights. I liked this hotel a lot, it was near to train station and it is a good place for living, if you don´t want to be in a room for a long time and want to see Tokyo during a day. Room was small but very normal and clean. Breakfast was really good- combined with japanese kitchen and continental food. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirjamsoon31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

A lovely hotel, slightly out of the main city, although just around the corner from the Nippori Train Station.
Very nice rooms, but very small, especially if you ask for a single room.
Bath is roman in style,so you need to climb in, very dangerous for the elderly.
My room had water created mould on the wall under the window, I heard most rooms had that problem.
There is a 24 hour supermarket down the road, avoid the vending machines, as you are paying 10 % more.

Room Tip: Learn Japanese fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vicpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arakawa
Hotel MyStays Nippori
#4 of 13 in Arakawa
201 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Candeo Hotels Ueno-Park
Candeo Hotels Ueno-Park
#52 of 155 in Taito
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Livemax Nippori
Hotel Livemax Nippori
#88 of 155 in Taito
30 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#32 of 155 in Taito
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lungwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lungwood

Address: 5-50-5 Higashi Nippori, Arakawa 116-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Arakawa
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels / Ryokan in Arakawa
Price Range: $70 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lungwood 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
◆BEST LOCATION FOR TOKYO TRAVELLERS Only a 1-minute walk from Nippori Station, Hotel Lungwood is especially popular for its convenient location, just 37 minutes away from Narita and Haneda Airport. You will easily find mini mart and convenience stores nearby. ◆CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE HOTEL Free Wi-Fi is available anywhere within hotel. Our rooms with excellent cleanliness come with a flat-screen TV and a private bathroom. For your comfort, you will find slippers, free bathroom amenities and night gowns. ◆CLOSE TO MAJOR TOKYO ATTRACTIONS Ueno Zoo, Tokyo National Museum, Ueno Park and National Museum of Western Art is only 4-minute train ride from Hotel Lungwood, while Akihabara is 8 minutes by train. Edo Tokyo Museum and Ryōgoku Kokugikan (Sumo Arena) is 16 minutes by train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Lungwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lungwood Hotel Arakawa
Hotel Lungwood Tokyo, Japan - Arakawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing