We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian meal I can remember!”
Review of Darjeeling

Darjeeling
Ranked #1 of 1,182 Restaurants in Arakawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Central Victoria
Level Contributor
122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best Indian meal I can remember!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Wow!! What a gem. Don't tell anyone!
The decor and Charming gentleman who owns the restaurant are enough reason to visit, but the food is absolutely beautiful.
I like my curries hot, but as we were all sharing the food, we just let the chef decide on the spice level and were all delighted.
Every dish was clean, not oily like some Indian joints, and the ingredients were very fresh.
It's not exactly cheap, but the quality of the dishes meant we left very satisfied with what we had spent.
An easy stroll from the station, there's no reason not to visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandals246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    15
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Dont miss if you are @Nippori”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Great place to have your lunch or dinner. The owner himself serves with his golden touch of the menus offered in his restaurant. He would end up as good friend not to miss when you travel to Japan.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Tokyo”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

If I could sum my recent meal up in one word it would undoubtably be yummmmmmmmmmmmmm. The flavours, variety and quality of food is excellent. The meal was cooked from fresh to order and made a welcome change from the more common fast food options. As a vegetarian it was a pleasure to be able to eat a wide range of options but I would suggest you ask the owner for a recommendation. His knowledge and experience shines through in his passion for serving high quality food and tea to exceed your expectations.

His command of English, Japanese and Indian makes this a charmingly easy restaurant to attend.

Service was excellent, decor and location fantastic, I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EAF0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Passionate about food”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We went to Darjeeling because we were passing and it looked nice (oh and there was English on the menu). What a find!

Ok firstly it's easy to find and a short walk from Nippori station (north exit then west side, go up the street and cross over as you get near the top. It's not far from the Yanakaginza street which is worth a visit too).

If you don't speak japanese don't worry - English is spoken.

The decor - for those who are interested - is great and it gives the restaurant a lovely ambience.

The owner is a lovely Indian gentleman who was really helpful and in the end we told him what we liked/dislikes and could/could not eat and went with his recommendations. We were glad we did as the result was the best meal we've had in Tokyo!


The owner is really passionate about food (and tea) and goes to great lengths to get it right. He was able to talk at great length about the various spices and ingredients and the effort he goes through to get a perfect tea. All this really reflects in the food which is fantastic! We found it spicy and flavoursome but not too hot and I would say its one of the best curries I have ever had!

Also he was able to 'get' vegetarianism and my desire to avoid certain foods due to allergy and structured his recommendation to suit.

Finished with fabulous tea which changes as it brews and the different leaves open and infuse.

The bill was reasonable, I thought, especially for the great food and we left not only having had a great time but feeling like we made a new friend!

I think this is a real hidden gem of a restaurant and it's worth a travel to get to!

I can't wait to return!

Helpful?
Thank Individual_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great decor - good curry”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Go to this Indian restaurant for the decor alone. But the food is also very good with generous portions and a wide range of curries and entree options. English menu and staff speak English. A good gluten free option in Yanaka.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4leaf1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darjeeling also viewed

 
Arakawa, Tokyo
 

Been to Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing