We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great western meals”
Review of Frankie's Cafe

Frankie's Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great western meals”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stopped into here while killing time before a ferry and had a great lunch. Great food and excellent service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    28
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tagbilaran City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not just another cafe...”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Was in island city mall yesterday for an event, and was looking for a coffee shop to pass the time. We actually was ordered from dunkin donuts but noticed a cafe beside it. Frankie's caught our eye sight. It kinda looked different. It's a mixture of American, Italian, Greek and some other cuisines. Long story short, we tried more than just coffee. And we're glad that we did. The food was a welcome change... Try their pizza with extra mozzarella cheese. And if your lucky, might strike a conversation or two with the owner...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tagbilaran
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“what a find”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Frankie`s food is so refreshing, his taco`s are the best i have had in pi, and pizzas are not massed produced rubbish, the chicken pasta salads also refreshing and fresh, try his iced tea, takes a like apple juice sarup/lami, also
his menu is so good as a expat, when shopping at icm i go there everytime and also order takeway, no one has his
food or can copy, so healthy...good luck frankie,also his imported coffee 2 for 50p.....good stuff. do not be fooled by his location as small but sooooo holesum......ooohhhhh yeahhhh.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank horhay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service, food, and location!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had the chance to meet the owner, while we dined here! Super friendly and outgoing guy, provided us with amazing service, first place to have Sriracha sauce since we got to the Philippines, and more importantly NO MSG! The burgers, coffee, and sweet and sour chicken were all great. For the price, you can't beat it either.
Will definitely eat here again if in Tagbilaran!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We went to the island of Bohol and checked the customary recommendations at trip advisor and saw Frankie's cafe among the highly recommended place when in ICMall. We checked out the place and saw that it was just a small stall on the 2nd floor of the mall with a few tables and some tables placed along the hallway. I don't like eating out on hallways while people pass by oggling at your food but because of the good sreviews from TA we decided to give it a try. Frankie the owner was even there helping out the lone waitress on duty that night. Yes, the menu offered something different from the usual Filipino fare and the service was fast enough considering that there was only one staff acting as waitress and cashier. But the food was far from exceptional. They used ordinary american loaf (called tasty bread locally) and the fries were small, obviously from local, cheaper potatoes. The go green salad had a few lettuce leaves only and consisted mainly of red beans, cucumber, tomatoes and tofu made to look like cheese. The saving grace was atleast the food tasted ok and the price was reasonable enough, four dishes for P750.00. Will I go back? Probably not... Will I recommend it? Nope, I'd rather recommend Buzz cafe of Bohol Bee Farm a few steps away.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveldoc298573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie's Cafe also viewed

Tagbilaran City, Bohol Island
Tagbilaran City, Bohol Island
 
Tagbilaran City, Bohol Island
Tagbilaran City, Bohol Island
 
Tagbilaran City, Bohol Island
Tagbilaran City, Bohol Island
 

Been to Frankie's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing