We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious chicken Inato”
Review of Payag Restaurant

Payag Restaurant
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious chicken Inato”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by our rental van driver when we asked him for a cheap must eat restau in Tagbilaran. A.K.A. Jo's Chicken Inato but more commonly known for its Payag name. Got there around 8:30pm since we came from Panglao that day and needed to check in first at El Portal Inn. I think we came just in the right time when it is not too crowded (but their still almost 75% full).
Service is quick, surprisingly for the BBQ pork and Chicken Inato. Unlimited rice. Pork BBQ is perfect. Chicken Inato is delicious but a bit burned. Could have been perfect if not. Buko Halo (Halo-halo served in a fresh coconut) is great. We are on a budget but we can't resist to order it. One serving is big enough for a couple to share. Good ambiance with a very relaxing atmosphere. We needed that from an exhausting Panglao day trip.

Very cheap that we were so full yet so happy that we paid less than 1000php for the 6 of us.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ryeken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    52
    19
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“good food, good value”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

this was my second visit to payag/jo's chicken inato. the first time we sat indoors - i have never seen so many chicken representations in my life (porcelain, paint, tapestry, metalwork, etc). it would be worth going there just to see the decorations

this time we sat in the more open section where the birds are cockatoos not chickens, and real (caged) not representations. there are some sulphur crested cockatoos (funny birds) and some philippine cockatoos (colourful)

the food here is good, and reasonable priced for the traveller. this is a good place to eat when you are in tagbilaran and it is rated highly by the local population

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gregs3071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best BBQ chicken in Bohol....”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Very good BBQ chicken...can't wait... This will be the first place I will eat at when I return to Bohol next week..... 2nd place is JJ's Seafood...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jammy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tagbilaran City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasty barbecue”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

As far as I know, this was the first restaurant in Tagbilaran which served barbecued chicken and pork. This is definitely one of those places which Filipinos abroad look for when they come to visit Bohol. The barbecued chicken is their specialty. I also like the fried isol and their fish kinilaw. Now, they are serving unlimited rice in their main branch. That's a plus factor for the rice lovers.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank abelle_salise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna, philippines
Level 6 Contributor
463 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Barbecue”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

The first floor was full, so we were led up to second floor. Interiors had a collection of roosters. Very interesting and amusing. Kept us entertained while waiting for our food.

Chicken and pork barbecue with unlimited rice for P123; had sauteed vegetables (pakbet); kinilaw (ceviche) fish with coconut milk (different- worth trying) with crunchy pork rind topping; generous buko pandan dessert; and big coconut juice! Yum! Affordable!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mamabelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Payag Restaurant also viewed

Tagbilaran City, Bohol Island
Tagbilaran City, Bohol Island
 
Tagbilaran City, Bohol Island
Tagbilaran City, Bohol Island
 
Tagbilaran City, Bohol Island
Tagbilaran City, Bohol Island
 

Been to Payag Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing