We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem in Consuegra”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Vida de Antes Rural Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
228 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in Consuegra”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

In the otherwise not too attractive town of Consuegra this little inn with just a handful of rooms is definitely worth making your home base while you explore Don Quixote Country. Above the inn are a dozen windmills and a huge 11th century castle, an awesome sight especially if you approach from the direction of Toledo on the little back road and not on the main highway. We arrived at La Vida de Antes late in the day after a long and exhausting drive. We were greeted by a lovely receptionist who spoke excellent English, we could see that she was really concentrating on it. She provided some excellent guidance including a tip to to and have tapas at Gaudi, which we took her advice, waiting until it opened at 8:30 by having a drink in the town square, sitting and watching the townspeople go by was interesting and easily filled the hour we had to spare. The food at Gaudi was exceptional and we ate and drank our fill for an amazing low 21 Euro. Back to La Vida, our room was spacious and comfortable. A bit worn, but spotless and everything smelled wonderful. We explored some other rooms. I think we were the only guests. It seems as if the rooms with the bathtubs are largest. We will ask for one of those the next time around. We had a room with a shower and while it was fine for one night, a little more space would have been nice. The lovely back garden and terrace is gorgeous. We arrived too late to use it. Breakfast was the usual typical minimal, but only 4 Euro so what can you say. Starving for protein we asked for some yoghurt and the owner, Paula, brought us a lovely bowl full of excellent natural stuff. We had some of our best coffee in Spain at La Vida de Antes.

Room Tip: Ask for a bathtub and the room size will be very large. Pillows are hard. Ask for extras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequent_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    45
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
76
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were driving to Granada from Madrid, but leaving in the evening and I didn't want to arrive in Granada after dark so I looked for a place that we could stop out of Madrid. So glad I found Consuegra and La Vida de Antes. The hotel is just lovely, with large rooms with comfortable beds and updated baths and beautiful tile floors, built around a courtyard. The staff was so kind and welcoming, and the breakfast was good. Later, we enjoyed seeing the restored windmills--Don Quijote country for sure--and visiting the castle. We had a delicious meal in town at Al Alfar restaurant, and my only regret is that we couldn't stay another day.

Room Tip: Our room was called La Despensa and it had a separate room where our son slept. It's the perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We went back for our second visit this time to see Consuegra in the last weekend of October with a different and very lively air during the Fiesta de Azafran and we could not have been happier with the welcome, home comforts and attention to detail in what must now be our casa preferida in Consuegra. Above all, by evening the log fires in the guest salon and the afternoon sun in the patio were a delight! As before, Paula and Irene and Diana were so accommodating and helpful.

..we intend to be back soon!

Room Tip: Our favourites were La Cuna for its double aspect and natural light and and La Despensa for the smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabethisabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at La Vida de Antes for a number of days while doing the Ruta de Don Quijote in various parts of La Mancha... What a find!

The hotel marks the perfect balance between quaint, traditional Manchegan hospitality, and a high-end B+B. The breakfast is amazing, and the location is fantastic -- just below a hill with (in my opinion) the most beautiful windmills in La Mancha! (Be sure to climb up the castle on the hill, and watch sunset from the base of the windmills).

If you get the chance to go during Consuegra's Patron Saint festival -- when Consuegra becomes alive with music, food, and life all night -- don't miss it (they can tell you the dates at the hotel).

I travelled in tiny towns all over La Mancha, and this was one of my favorite spots. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthonyvinciguerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Wonderful and beautifully restored 19th century Spanish country house.
The name of this Bed & Breakfast says it all.
3 star, comfortable bed, gorgeous breakfast. Staff very helpful and friendly.
Staying in this place alone feels like a holiday in itself. If you like a bit of sight seeing, you will find the Windmills made famous in the Don Quijote book by Cervantes.
Try also The Alfar restaurant an old Potters place, very good quality food value for money, the ambience is great, eat al fresco under almond trees.
Market day is Wednesday.
Worth a visit. Great if you want a stop before going to Madrid and Segovia.

Room Tip: La Palangana was our room, but all very good and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

A family run hotel withl the proper attention to all important details and with very professional and friendly staff. The hotel's atmosphere is calm and relaxing, decoration is cozy with well restored original pieces and personal touches to reflect the good bits of "life as it was" (but with enough modern facilities for confort). Just loved it!!
Erwin-Switzerland

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwin664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

We booked for two days and stayed five so taken were we with the atmosphere and the attentive nature of the hotel as truly a home from home. All the team and especially Paula the owner and Irene were just wonderful especially as my husband was feeling the painful after effects of an accident. We thought the area was so interesting and just loved the peace of the famous windmills. We will return ere long...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethisabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Consuegra
24.7 mi away
Villa Nazules Hipica Spa
Villa Nazules Hipica Spa
#1 of 1 in Almonacid de Toledo
387 reviews
21.1 mi away
Intur Alcazar de San Juan Hotel
Intur Alcazar de San Juan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Alcazar de San Juan
293 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hotel Hidalgo Quijada
Hotel Hidalgo Quijada
#2 of 6 in Alcazar de San Juan
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Casa Rural Los Laureles
17.1 mi away
Hotel A Posada
Hotel A Posada
#2 of 2 in Tembleque
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Complejo Retiro de la Mancha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vida de Antes Rural Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vida de Antes Rural Hotel

Property: La Vida de Antes Rural Hotel
Address: Calle 2, 45700 Consuegra, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Consuegra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Consuegra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Vida de Antes Rural Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Vida de Antes Rural Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing