We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend”
Review of Hotel Meira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Meira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had an amazing weekend at "Hotel Meira". Extremely well located, near the beach, fabulous food. Very helpful staff. Confort and good taste. We had breakfast and dinner in the hotel: delicious. A wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia78_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeira, General Manager at Hotel Meira, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013
Google Translation

Estimada Claudia,

Agradecemos desde já, as amáveis palavras na sua avaliação do Hotel Meira.
É um enorme prazer para todos nós - Direcção e toda a Equipa do Hotel Meira, sentir este agrado por parte dos nossos clientes, pois é mesmo esse, o nosso objectivo principal.
Ficamos felizes por saber que o nosso empenho e dedicação é reconhecido.
Um grande bem-haja pela avaliação e ficamos desde já, a aguardar a sua próxima visita.
Melhores Cumprimentos
Luiza Vilas Boas
Directora
Hotel Meira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Meira
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 338 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent 37,5eur for a night with my wife in this hotel and I can honestly say that for the price, it has to be the best hotel I ever been. Breakfast was nice, the room was spacy and although not perfectly clean, clean enough. Location is very great. I loved the village, the seafood, and the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlosGomes83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This a perfectly OK hotel let down by a few minor issues. On the positive side, the location is great, the town and beach really nice and worth a visit, the restaurant was inexpensive and served pretty good food (although not exceptional) and the room was large, modern and well equipped. On the negative side the breakfast room was sterile and tired and the food itself not great. The hotel ambience and decor is also very dark and a little foreboding (many signs asking for 'silence'!). Customer service was fine but not particularly friendly. The beach is great for young kids, there is a lagoon by the sea with no waves or tides that is very safe for swimming.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdavies2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Loved this place, it has a pool. Amazing restaurant (lunch is the best I have ever had, wine €1 a glass). The breakfast was totally amazing, everything you could wish for.

Nice room with air con. Helpful staff with lots of tips for the local area. Close to the train station and beach. We got a good deal off the internet. Nice town with lots of bars and places to eat.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be good.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ascot P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Meira for just one night during our road trip Portugal&Spain. The hotel is well-kept, rooms clean and nicely decorated (not too big though) and the location is good, just couple of minutes from the beach.

The breakfast buffet was really good. Arriving late to the hotel, we decided to give the hotel's own restaurant a shot for dinner, and we were not disappointed. They offered 3-course menus for 35e/2 persons with ok local wine. Good value for the money spent.

The hotel has a garage (small fee) and a free outdoor parking lot some 100 meters from the hotel.

Would stay also longer in Hotel Meira if we ever return to the region.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jouluhauki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in a junior suite. The room was spacious and the beds comfortable. The breakfast buffet was great, plenty of choice.The only downsides I experienced were regarding the pool. The pool is only accessible between 10am and 7pm. Seeing as it gets pretty hot during the summer, it would be nice if you could have a swim a little later in the afternoon. Especially as dinner is usually only taken after 8pm. A thing that personally bothered me a bit was the fact that there was music playing continuously by the pool. I found that this takes away from the peace & quiet and is a little distracting if you're trying to read a book. But this is of course something that might not bother others.
All in all we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is a great base to explore the Minho region. Vila Praia d'Ancora is a lovely town to stay in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very few people here in July. We enjoyed the pool area which was shielding us from rather strong winds. Good breakfast buffet. Friendly reception. Cool design. Several signs telling you what not to do (don't bring your own drinks to the pool area, etc) that for me added to a feeling of "am I wanted here?".The friendly personnel weighed up the somewhat sterile feeling at this hotel that is perhaps more directed towards business and conferences. I missed a personal greeting when entering the breakfast buffet. The personnel there were kind, but not paid to see every guest. Plus for the free Port Wine and Sparkling White at breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albedonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Praia de Ancora
3.6 mi away
Hotel Porta do Sol
Hotel Porta do Sol
#1 of 3 in Caminha
585 reviews
4.4 mi away
Design & Wine Hotel
Design & Wine Hotel
#2 of 3 in Caminha
240 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
#3 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hotel Minho
Hotel Minho
#1 of 3 in Vila Nova de Cerveira
809 reviews
8.5 mi away
Flor de Sal Hotel
Flor de Sal Hotel
#8 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
238 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel do Parque
Hotel do Parque
#13 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meira

Address: Rua 5 de Outubro 56 | Vila Praia de Âncora, Vila Praia de Ancora 4910-386, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Vila Praia de Ancora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vila Praia de Ancora
Price Range: $72 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meira 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star hotel, located in Vila Praia de Ancora - northern Portugal, just 200mts from the beach, 16km from the nearest major city - Viana do Castelo, 80km from the Oporto Airport and just 10 minutes drive from Spain. This hotel has 52 rooms, totally equipped with private bathroom, restaurante, bar, outdoor swimming pool, business centre with free access to internet, games room, garage and private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cancelon, Otel, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Meira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing