We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay. We will be back”
Review of Hotel Meira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Meira
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very good stay. We will be back”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Loved this place, it has a pool. Amazing restaurant (lunch is the best I have ever had, wine €1 a glass). The breakfast was totally amazing, everything you could wish for.

Nice room with air con. Helpful staff with lots of tips for the local area. Close to the train station and beach. We got a good deal off the internet. Nice town with lots of bars and places to eat.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ascot P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    145
    42
    6
    3
See reviews for
79
176
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Meira for just one night during our road trip Portugal&Spain. The hotel is well-kept, rooms clean and nicely decorated (not too big though) and the location is good, just couple of minutes from the beach.

The breakfast buffet was really good. Arriving late to the hotel, we decided to give the hotel's own restaurant a shot for dinner, and we were not disappointed. They offered 3-course menus for 35e/2 persons with ok local wine. Good value for the money spent.

The hotel has a garage (small fee) and a free outdoor parking lot some 100 meters from the hotel.

Would stay also longer in Hotel Meira if we ever return to the region.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jouluhauki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in a junior suite. The room was spacious and the beds comfortable. The breakfast buffet was great, plenty of choice.The only downsides I experienced were regarding the pool. The pool is only accessible between 10am and 7pm. Seeing as it gets pretty hot during the summer, it would be nice if you could have a swim a little later in the afternoon. Especially as dinner is usually only taken after 8pm. A thing that personally bothered me a bit was the fact that there was music playing continuously by the pool. I found that this takes away from the peace & quiet and is a little distracting if you're trying to read a book. But this is of course something that might not bother others.
All in all we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is a great base to explore the Minho region. Vila Praia d'Ancora is a lovely town to stay in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very few people here in July. We enjoyed the pool area which was shielding us from rather strong winds. Good breakfast buffet. Friendly reception. Cool design. Several signs telling you what not to do (don't bring your own drinks to the pool area, etc) that for me added to a feeling of "am I wanted here?".The friendly personnel weighed up the somewhat sterile feeling at this hotel that is perhaps more directed towards business and conferences. I missed a personal greeting when entering the breakfast buffet. The personnel there were kind, but not paid to see every guest. Plus for the free Port Wine and Sparkling White at breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albedonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Good clean hotel. Lovely room overlooking the pool. Towels changed everyday. Staff really friendly and helpful. Great location as very near beach and public square, which was great for people watching.

Pool absolutely freezing, but I did try it ONCE!

Ample provisons for breakfast but the evening meals could have been better and they did not really get to grips with vegetarian food!

If there was anything I needed I just asked at reception as I found them extremely helpful and received a complimentary tray of tea and coffee each day for my room!

Small cafe across the road will supply freshly made rolls for a modest cost.

As this was a walking holiday I did not spend an awful lot of money, but when I did, I found the area very inexpensive!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of asking as the staff couldn't be more helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindabarclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great food, great amenities(Algotherm), great staff service and wonderful bed, the superior room was very cosy and the romantic package gives you a breakfast in the room, rose petals and champaign. Very beautiful hotel, as new!
We stayed only for one night but we will be back for sure.
Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diogo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Stayed there on a Ramblers Holiday and it was very enjoyable. Our room was very clean with a balcony (handy for drying walking gear we had rinsed through). The hotel & pool were well maintained. Good breakfast with plenty of choice. Very close to the beach & various restaurants. Staff & service very good. I made use of the roof sun terrace a couple of times to relax after walking all day. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tattyowdbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Praia de Ancora
3.6 mi away
Hotel Porta do Sol
Hotel Porta do Sol
#1 of 3 in Caminha
560 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Minho
Hotel Minho
#1 of 3 in Vila Nova de Cerveira
787 reviews
4.4 mi away
Design & Wine Hotel
Design & Wine Hotel
#2 of 3 in Caminha
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Tempus Hotel & Spa
Tempus Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Ponte da Barca
307 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
#4 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
200 reviews
7.8 mi away
Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel
Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Char...
#3 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meira

Property: Hotel Meira
Address: Rua 5 de Outubro 56 | Vila Praia de Âncora, Vila Praia de Ancora 4910-386, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Vila Praia de Ancora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vila Praia de Ancora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meira 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star hotel, located in Vila Praia de Ancora - northern Portugal, just 200mts from the beach, 16km from the nearest major city - Viana do Castelo, 80km from the Oporto Airport and just 10 minutes drive from Spain. This hotel has 52 rooms, totally equipped with private bathroom, restaurante, bar, outdoor swimming pool, business centre with free access to internet, games room, garage and private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Meira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing