We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Airport Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor
Seattle Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Airport Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

So, I'll be honest...its a Holiday Inn Express and not the Ritz. BUT, if you are looking to overnight near the airport before catching a flight out of Porto, or picking up a rental car in the morning after a late flight, its just great. Its quite modern, with very nice rooms. We also found it very quiet. The service was also excellent...the young woman at the front desk was very helpful in printing directions for us for the next several days of our trip. The breakfast in the lobby was also very good.

Simple, convenient, well priced, good service, clean and nice. This hotel does everything its supposed to do very well.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ASeattleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    111
    51
    5
    8
See reviews for
48
62
15
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

A very nice hotel located at Porto subsurbs. Very clean and modern. About 15 minute walk away from the ocean. Great for people who are looking for a hotel outside the Porto city centre or close to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jagoda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here 1 night before we came back to the states. Wanted to stay as close to the airport as possible. The property looks new, not sure when it was built, but it looked fresh and modern. Room was a decent size, worked for the 1 night we were there. It is off the beaten path, nothing really around you can walk to. Bathroom was fine. Breakfast was offered and was very nice. If we have to stay close to the airport again would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IssyM011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
190 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very close to Exponor, good clean and spacious rooms with cable tv. In our stay we received the standard Holiday Inn client treatment, being the staff very polite and helpfull it's hard to find something bad to say. Recommend for sure!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank World S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I usually try not to stay in a airport hotel or an American chain hotel when I'm away and especially when I'm I'm out of the country, because it's a boring and safe choice. I try to be more adventurous in my travels. Local airport hotels have just been a horrible way of ending my trips. They have been in dingy and sometimes not the most sanitary hotels and after staying at very interesting places staying the last few hours at a airport hotel in a bland area is a buzz kill! Plus, many of these airport hotels are expensive which adds to my animosity towards them.

A couple of times on this past trip I had very early flights and I just didn't want to take a chance and be late or worse yet miss my flight. So I decided to go the airport hotel route. The Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor was a 5-7 minutes drive away from the airport. I had a rental car from Avis and it was perfect. Avis let me drop the car off at any hour and I walked the 5 minutes to the airport from the Avis rental car office.

This hotel was not fancy to say the least. It was efficient, reasonably price and convenient, which is all you need for a hotel that you will be in for less than 6 hours. The room was a good size, decent size bathroom with nice hot water and clean. The bed had a good selection of pillows and the TV had a wide variety of channels.

The only negative thing about the hotel is the lights to the hallways are set on motion sensors, so if there is no movement, there is no light. For instance, when you are attempting to open your door and you took too long or when you are standing still waiting for the elevator the hallway lights go out. That was a bit disconcerting especially when it's was 4am and you're half asleep. My suggestion to the hotel would be to make those time settings a bit longer. Other than that, a stay at this hotel is just want I needed for the purpose.

All in all, I would definitely recommend the place for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeniceInMyHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in july 2012. Nice, clean, recent hotel with large rooms (by European standards). Rooms are either a double bed with a couch or 2 twins. We had 2 rooms that could communicate with each other, which was very convienient eith the kids. Great complementary breakfast with lots to choose from. Only disapointment: the hotel does not have a shuttle to the airport available. The taxi ride costs about 15 euros and takes about 10 minutes.

Would definitively come back to this hotel for a short stay, although the hotel is far from the center of Porto if this is your final destination.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloutjea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is a very good, modern & new building. A credit to Holiday Inn Express. The staff were very good and very, very helpful. Snacks are available during the day but this ends in the evening. You have three choices, eat from the machine, go out to eat or order pizza. Strange but true, reception will order pizza for you. It arrived 20 minutes later, I paid, he left I ate my pizza. I saw him return another there times for other orders. Don't knock this, it is very good pizza.
The hotel WiFi is very fast, free for the first 15 minutes then charged to your room afterwards. You can not complain about this, everything works very well.

Now the important directions: We had thought it was in Porto, wrong!!! The hotel is about 15 minutes away. So the Sat Nav couldn't find the hotel, in fact took us up a side street near a castle in the town centre. Beware, lots of people do this. Enter Leca da Palmeira as the town, then Av. Dr Antonio Macedo. It should ( should ) take you to the correct location. The hotel is yards away from the river and the sea. A great place to walk. Enjoy but remember the directions!

Room Tip: Remember the directions. Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, which I think are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJGKentUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leca da Palmeira
0.6 mi away
Tryp Expo Porto Hotel
Tryp Expo Porto Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matosinhos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
2.1 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#15 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Senhor de Matosinhos
Hotel Senhor de Matosinhos
#2 of 6 in Matosinhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Star Inn Porto
Star Inn Porto
#46 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
OPO Hotel Porto Aeroporto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor

Property: Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor
Address: Avenida Doutor Antonio Macedo 163, Leca da Palmeira 4450-617, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Leca da Palmeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leca da Palmeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Porto Exponor is the only one from this brand in Porto.The hotel is situated in front of the Oporto International Fair (Exponor) with easy access and connections to all major city ring roads. It is also minutes away from Francisco Sa Carneiro International Airport (shuttle service on request) and Oporto City Centre. This fantastic location and accessibility makes the Holiday Inn Express Porto Exponor an ideal base for business or pleasure! All bedrooms, including accessible rooms, are equipped with air-conditining and Wi-Fi High Speed Internet Access. In the morning you can enjoy a delicious Complimentary continental buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor Hotel Leca Da Palmeira
Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor Portugal/Leca Da Palmeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing