We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel near the airport”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in july 2012. Nice, clean, recent hotel with large rooms (by European standards). Rooms are either a double bed with a couch or 2 twins. We had 2 rooms that could communicate with each other, which was very convienient eith the kids. Great complementary breakfast with lots to choose from. Only disapointment: the hotel does not have a shuttle to the airport available. The taxi ride costs about 15 euros and takes about 10 minutes.

Would definitively come back to this hotel for a short stay, although the hotel is far from the center of Porto if this is your final destination.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloutjea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    117
    59
    5
    11
See reviews for
56
73
15
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is a very good, modern & new building. A credit to Holiday Inn Express. The staff were very good and very, very helpful. Snacks are available during the day but this ends in the evening. You have three choices, eat from the machine, go out to eat or order pizza. Strange but true, reception will order pizza for you. It arrived 20 minutes later, I paid, he left I ate my pizza. I saw him return another there times for other orders. Don't knock this, it is very good pizza.
The hotel WiFi is very fast, free for the first 15 minutes then charged to your room afterwards. You can not complain about this, everything works very well.

Now the important directions: We had thought it was in Porto, wrong!!! The hotel is about 15 minutes away. So the Sat Nav couldn't find the hotel, in fact took us up a side street near a castle in the town centre. Beware, lots of people do this. Enter Leca da Palmeira as the town, then Av. Dr Antonio Macedo. It should ( should ) take you to the correct location. The hotel is yards away from the river and the sea. A great place to walk. Enjoy but remember the directions!

Room Tip: Remember the directions. Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, which I think are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJGKentUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I've stayed at Holiday Inn a lot. As others say; car is a must.

Rooms: OK and spacious for business the first 40-45 nights. From there you're kind of worn out. OK bath with shower, In-wall-dispenser soap. hard beds, but not uncomfortable.

Breakfast; dreadful +

Bar/lounge; decent - nocatering except from vending machines.

Service: This is key! The staff goes out of their way to facility your requirements and helps out on most things - spanning from restaurant recommendations to car rental. The give a very strong impression and ranks beyond many other Portuguese hotels.

The car rental is very convenient and for a short stay, avoid the bigger companies at the airport. They do also drive you to the airport.


A lots of excellent restaurants are availiable by foot in Leca or with taxi in Mathosinhos.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing front. Car rental in the reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank espenbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

This is by far the cheapest hotel location you could find in Porto with such a high standard. The hotel is on the way from the Porto Airport to the City Center. You can easily reach it with the high way, its next to the Exponor Exhobition Grounds. During my stay, there was a Classic Car Exposition. Day before I arrived at this location, I checked the internet rate which came up to be 45 EUR, as I did not reserve it at that time I thought I would have to pay the normal rate of 70 EUR, but to my surprise once I told at the check in that the rate was 45 EUR, they agreed upon it. The hotel is fairly new with standard Holiday Inn Express Rooms and bathrooms, you would not need more for such a short stay. We were recomended by the stuff to visit a local street with all the great fish restaurants where I ate Grill Sole with some garlic spinach - amazing taste for a fair price. As to the location, you can park the car on the hotel grounds without extra charge. As in each and every HIE the breakfast is included in the rate - it gave a good start to the day. The only problem is with the location, it is far from the Historic Part of the town, so if you don't have a car, don't bother to stay here. On my way back from Vigo I have stayed again at this place.

Room Tip: You can use PC's for no extra charge next to the reception desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomasztomczuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed one night while waiting for our connecting flight. I agree with Sweetviking's review except that on my stay I did not get free wifi.
Porto was very nice, I wish I had more time to explore it. The bus service is excellent. The cheapest way to the hotel is to take the bus. The 601 bus right outside the airport leaves you a the door of the hotel after a 20 minute ride (Assoc. Emp. Portugal stop right after the Exponor stop). The same bus line takes you to the city center which was a nice little excursion. To return you take the same bus line at the final stop downtown and 20 minutes later you'll be back at the hotel. The buses work until midnight. To go back to the airport, take bus 601 which passes by twice an hour (1.75 euros for a one way ticket). It is comfortable trip even with some bags.
The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Breakfast as described by MikeLizT.
I agree that tourist may want to stay closer to the city center but if this is the most affordable option, given the excellent bus service and the 20 minute ride each way, choosing this holiday inn express may be a good idea. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esculapio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Maybe it was because the other experience I had in the Holiday Inn of Gaia had been so nice that this one was so disappointing. I chose this hotel because I had business to attend nearby and I only stayed one night. Of course it is a 3 star and it shows. Although it is so modern, the rooms and beds are quite small and they offer no bathroom ammenities at all not even the shower cap or a small soap if you do not like to wash your hands with shower gel on dispenser. After a tiresome meeting I retrned to the hotel at 10,30 pm and asked if they had something that I could eat. No cafeteria or room service only a vending machine wher I bought a sandwich,The receptionist said there were several restaurants not very far away but I did not feel like going out so late and alone.The other option, he said, was to order from pizza hut because they delivered to the hotel. The only good think was the coffee and tea perculator in the room and the pillows on the bed. Even the parking space was mostly occupied and I had to look for a far away place to park when I arrived in the evening.The other people that attended that meeting stayed in Tripp hotel and had a more pleasant experience so next time I will also go to that hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwerkerken, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here 2 nights to visit Porto.
There was a lot of free parking space in front of the hotel and there is also a busstop in front. The ride to the centre take 20minutes and is not expensive (1,75 euro per ride).
The hotel staff was very friendly, when arriving we were asked if it was the first time in Porto and because it was the first time, we got information on Porto and info on what bus to take,...
The room was,like the other Holiday inn Express hotels we stayed in, rather modern and clean.
The breakfast was good and enough choice (only the orange juice didn't have much taste when we were there).
There was wireless lan available which I tried to use with my mobile, but in the evening it was very slow, in the morning it was less slower, but still slow.
But nevertheless it was a good value for money to spend your nights there when visiting Porto.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leca da Palmeira
0.5 mi away
TRYP Porto Expo Hotel
TRYP Porto Expo Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matosinhos
328 reviews
3.6 mi away
Star Inn Porto
Star Inn Porto
#47 of 108 in Porto
811 reviews
1.1 mi away
Urban Hotel Amadeos
Urban Hotel Amadeos
#5 of 6 in Matosinhos
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Senhor de Matosinhos
Hotel Senhor de Matosinhos
#2 of 6 in Matosinhos
106 reviews
3.2 mi away
Park Hotel Porto Aeroporto
4.9 mi away
Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor

Property: Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor
Address: Avenida Doutor Antonio Macedo 163, Leca da Palmeira 4450-617, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Leca da Palmeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leca da Palmeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Porto Exponor is the only one from this brand in Porto.The hotel is situated in front of the Oporto International Fair (Exponor) with easy access and connections to all major city ring roads. It is also minutes away from Francisco Sa Carneiro International Airport (shuttle service on request) and Oporto City Centre. This fantastic location and accessibility makes the Holiday Inn Express Porto Exponor an ideal base for business or pleasure! All bedrooms, including accessible rooms, are equipped with air-conditining and Wi-Fi High Speed Internet Access. In the morning you can enjoy a delicious Complimentary continental buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor Hotel Leca Da Palmeira
Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor Portugal/Leca Da Palmeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing