We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bizarre”
Review of Don Forno

Don Forno
Ranked #1 of 151 Restaurants in Maia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed June 10, 2019 via mobile

We booked here as it was close to our hotel and had good reviews. The experience was a little odd. The waitress was very friendly and pleasant but didn’t want us to spend time choosing what we wanted to eat. We were told everything was cooked for two so we all had to share. She was determined to sell us all a fish and rice dish but failed when we said we had one vegetarian and one who didn’t eat fish. The two awkward ones were then allowed their own dish but everyone else had to share. The vegetarian dish - chosen by the waitress was quite frankly awful. Stick with salad if you are vegetarian. The homemade chips were the highlight of everyone’s meal oh apart from the non fish eater who got beef Wellington and said it was delicious! We won’t rush back

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank jettingjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 1,310 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2019

We had octopus from the oven. Very smooth, nice texture. Good local white wine made it complete. A typical family restaurant with friendly people!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Passionfortechnology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

Easy to get to and an easy parking. House steak is delicious and the seafood rice is a must have. It's a very modern place and I will be visiting again.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019

Delicious food in a modern quiet restaurant. The Cod fish is to die for. Also definitely try the seabass rice!!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Stefanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

Restaurant modern with home made food!
The person are really nice and attentious. It’s a quite place, octopus rice with same fillets , monkfish rice, and streams rice and many wonderful plates.
Everything is clean , and you see it even when you go , you see it, I’ll be back soon!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Sandra272628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Forno also viewed

 
Maia, Porto District
Maia, Porto District
 
Matosinhos, Porto District
Matosinhos, Porto District
 

Been to Don Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing