We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent meal - a fine host”
Review of Tomar de Sal

Tomar de Sal
Ranked #2 of 151 Restaurants in Maia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed May 25, 2019 via mobile

This is a gem of a restaurant. If you are staying near the Porto airport, make sure you take the time to dine here. The food is wonderful, the presentation is lovely and the host is an amazing gentlemen. Our whole experience here was five star!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank carolfromcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 201 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed my meal at Tomar de Sal. It’s a little hard to find, tucked in the corner near the park, but the owner saw me looking around and invited me in 15 minutes before the restaurant opened for dinner. His English is very good and he’s very friendly. He brought the menu over and translated everything for me. When he found out I was from California, he got excited and brought his new California guide book over to show me and we talked about places he wanted to visit in the US. I had the cheese appetizer, the curried shrimp with rice, an amazing chocolate cake, and a glass of white wine. It was all very tasty and reasonably priced.

There were several cats wandering around outside the restaurant and he told me how he and the fish market next door take care of about 10 of them, including having them all fixed. He even paid the vet bills for one that had been hit by a car, the sweet thing is doing fine now and is very friendly. So if you’re looking to adopt a cat from Portugal….

In summary, the owner is extremely nice with good English and he loves animals, and the food is good and not expensive. I highly recommend Tomar de Sal if you’re staying near the airport.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank PurdueBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

Such a friendly owner, pleasant conversation. Translated menu for us. Food was so very delicious and well priced.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank EstherPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019 via mobile

Everything was delicious!! The hosting was so nice and welcoming, best place for dinner befor catching a flight

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank ilitm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

Excellent cuisine and warm welcome in a very friendly way. Cuisine by the mistress of the house. A little difficult to find though!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank MSMMMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomar de Sal also viewed

Maia, Porto District
 
Maia, Porto District
Maia, Porto District
 
Matosinhos, Porto District
Maia, Porto District
 

Been to Tomar de Sal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing