We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the under water scooters”
Review of South Sea Divers

South Sea Divers
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Sabang
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Since 1983 our relaxed and friendly dive shop has been conveniently located right on Sabang Beach in Puerto Galera, Philippines. Within a 10 minute boat ride you can enjoy a wide range of scuba diving experiences; from exploring wrecks and leisurely drift dives in shallow bays, to challenging depth and exciting current dives.We dive only in small Groups and are happy to cater for individual needs and wishes.
Reviewed April 29, 2017

A small shop with good personal attention. Paul does great under water videos especially with the scooter my favorite. you can go through 3 dive sites with one tank and not worry about currents. He then adds music to the video.

going back for the 4th time soon

1  Thank BROSMANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

2 - 6 of 51 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2017

Thanks for a great dive. Paul was an excellent instructor and took great care of my fiancé during her DSD. It was just the 3 of us for the dive.

Thank CoryC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2017

Boutique dive shop with nice, friendly people, good equipment and good boat. Unfortunately we didn’t dive with them a lot, have to leave in Anilao. But in case if we stay, I guess we will have good time with them. We like a lot the owner; he is European guy, very honest and open. Coming to the office, you feel that you are at home and the team will care about you like about welcome guest.
I wish success to this nice dive shop and its team!

Thank ikhlopunova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Sea Diver... S, Owner at South Sea Divers, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2017

HI........... Just want to thank you for you nice comments of our dive shop.....we hope you come back soon so we can blow some more bubbles again together. Sky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2017

This's small Dive Shop long Sabang beach with high competence and professionalism guaranteed. Moreover if you want to feel as in a family this's the right place for all divers. They are familiar with the best sites of interest where with a little luck, you can meet the best attractions of these waters..corals, micro and big fish, etc etc. They're also multi leanguage. Highly raccomand

Grazie a tutto lo staff Dave, Paul, Cherry, Amil ed anche ai ragazzi.. Mi hanno veramente fatto divertire, sono veramente un team speciale.. fidate

Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Sea Diver... S, Owner at South Sea Divers, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2017

Thank you very much Mario for your very nice review.
We hope you enjoyed your vacation in our place.
Hope to see you again.

All the best,
Sky/TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2017

We just finished 9 days of diving with South Sea in Sabang Beach. We did 22 dives at various sites from 30m (100 ft) to 10m (30 ft). We saw turtles, frog fish, cuttlefish, mantis shrimp, eels, sea snakes and hundreds of varieties of fish. South Sea divemasters know the sites and go at a nice relaxed pace. The reefs off Sabang are very healthy with vibrant, diverse and colourful coral.

There are 4 divemasters at South Sea, two of whom are also instructors. Safety comes first with all of them but that is closely followed by service and satisfaction. We booked our accommodation through Cherry, the dive shop administrator/manager/ambassador and everything was perfect. More importantly we felt like family. We discussed everything you could think of with Sky, the owner and Paul, the co-manager. Sitting having a cup of tea or milo after a dive and talking with the staff or whoever happened to drop into the shop was a hi-light of our day.

We heard that diving in the Philippines was inexpensive but we didn't really anticipate the value we would get. Although the advertised price is 1200 php (24 USD) per dive we were offered a rate of 16,000 php (320 USD) for 18 dives. We ended up doing 22 dives at the same per dive rate, which worked out to 890 php (just under 18 USD) each. Nitrox and a larger tank were 200 php (4 USD) and 100 php (2 USD) extra. A two dive trip to Verde Island cost us only 1350 php (27 USD) extra for the banca rental even though we only had 4 divers on the boat. Setup, transport and rinsing of our heavy gear was included so we just had to worry about masks, computers, wetsuits and fins. We had a maximum of six divers to a divemaster, but often it was 3, 4 or just the two of us....no number was too small to not do a dive.

All in all great value, great fun and some new friendships.

Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Sea Diver... S, Owner at South Sea Divers, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2017

Hi David and Chris.

Thank you so much for you kind words.........you guys are a fun couple to have around during surface intervals. We so do hope you will return soon. It makes our job in the dive shop not seem like a job with people like you around.

Sky and SSDTEAM Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Sea Divers also viewed

Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
 
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
 

Been to South Sea Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing