We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation and excellent food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Verde Resort Inn
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed for two nights at Green Verde in one of their beach huts with shared bathroom; we paid 800 Peso a night.

The room was very basic with a double bed, fan, table and mirror; we shared a shower room and toilet with one other beach hut, this was clean and a better option to a private bathroom as it was actually nicer and cheaper at 1200 Peso per night for double with private bathroom.

At Green Verde there was the added advantage of electricity throughout the night until 6am which is ideal as this kept us cool as we could use the fan, although the implications of having overnight electricity means having to listen to a generator all night but this applies to any beach hut accommodation in Sabang so cannot be seen as a negative specifically for Green Verde alone, just remember to take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

We ate in the restaurant on a number of occasions for both breakfast and dinner. The staff, specifically Gerald and Junil were excellent and the food was good value for money and really tasty, probably the best from what was offered by the beach hut resorts in Sabang. We had no interest in eating in the two ‘western’ resorts, I would imagine they were far superior considering the prices and facilities but this isn’t what we went travelling for.

The menu was extensive and we didn’t experience any problems with availability of the dishes the only downside to the restaurant was their lack of liquor license so we could not have a beer with our dinner. The shrimps were huge and the banana pancake was delicious. We had the option of adding our food and drinks to our room so we could pay at the end of our stay but we opted to pay as we went. They also offered a laundry service for 60 pesos per kilo, this was a next day service.

Francis can arrange a boat from Sabang to Port Barton for 1200 pesos per person, this is the standard price for this trip. He can also arrange the underground river trip for the same cost however I would recommend organising this yourself as we did this for 650 pesos per person.

Go to the port to register for a following day trip, they will tell you what times are available. The underground river costs 250 pesos per person, the ferry boat which takes you to the river is 1600 pesos approximately for the boat which will take 8 people, you just need to group together with other tourist waiting at the port and split the cost between you, we shared 4 in a boat so our trip cost 650 pesos per person in total.

If you are used to 3+ star accommodation then Green Verde is probably not for you but if you are a traveller or want to experience

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FunkyMarshmallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Green Verde Resort Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 44 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2012

Three friends and I ate her once in January 2012. There was a lot of choice on the menu, but we were informed that most of it was not available. For starter, all four of us ordered chicken noodle soup. The only available fish was jack, which, having seen some sizeable examples in the sea earlier in the week, we decided to order for main course.

The noodle soup starters were all quite clearly made from a packet, despite costing well over 100php. The jack fish - where do I start? It was minuscule, full of tiny bones and had been deep fried. It was served with soggy vegetables.

We discovered the Daluyon restaurant the next day and didn't bother going back to the Green Verde again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CharlieInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I visited this restaurant after it being highly recommended in the Rough Guide. How wrong can a guide be, this place is just awful. They served us cup a soup noodles as a soup starter and put our rice for the mains on the table to allow the flies some where to rest. Our 'JackFish' mains then arrived, what a disappointment. considering this was their only fresh fish special. Two inedible little fish, we are not a fussy bunch but we quickly paid up and went to the Daluyon up the beach, which does the best food we had on a two week trip around Palawan. Green Verde is by no means cheap and will not have any thing on the menu available, hard to believe they can't do any fish with the sea on their doorstep!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonLoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at GreenVerde for two nights between Christmas and New Year’s 2011. The accommodations are quite simple (but, to be fare, the place is quite cheap) and the bed could be more confortable, but if you’re only staying there for a couple of nights on your way to someplace else, it does its job. Food is very good and staff is nice and helpful, specially Gerald. It is right on the beach, which is definitely something that we appreciate.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brazinglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Well, there is the Sheridan Hotel Bar that I think is open until and after 10PM but their prices are not for budget travelers. The Green Verde (redundant or redundant?) bar is the only one open until 10PM (this is when the electricity shuts off for the entire beach and is only turned on the following day at 6PM). Anyway, the cottage - its a Nipa hut with two twin size beds, a fan that you can only turn on for 4 hours, a mirror, and a small bathroom without a heater. Its basic as basic can get without having to sleep outdoors. Just a tip: ask for a mosquito net - its free but you have to set it up yourself. Expect nothing more than a place to sleep in, put your bags, and shower before-after your day on the beach.

Room Tip: Taraw Resort is just your neighbor - it has the best restaurant in Sabang so get your breakfast/lunc...
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PauloGonzalezReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

On arriving at Sabang the tout from this place literally attacked us to get our bags and take them to their place. We had made reservations but upon arrival saw that it was 100 meters along the beach (in the dark). As we had two pensioners with us we wanted to look elsewhere but the attitude of the aforementioned tout was aggressive and pushy so we kept with the plan and unfortunately booked in. The rooms are shabby full of mosquitoes and cockroaches. We actually counted eleven cockroaches which had died during the night after we had sprayed the room ourselves. The bed was also covered in mozzies.

In the morning we saw that the left over water from the manual water pump had run across the garden to form a lovely swamp perfect for breeding Dengue carrying mosquitoes. Excellent thinking there chaps !

When we checked out the staff and tout so eager to check us in and grab our bags just looked on as two ageing pensioners struggled along the beach with heavy bags. Whenever we looked at them they turned their heads away. That must be the famous Filipino hospitality we have heard so much about.

One Staff member with a serious attitude problem, slow service and other staff who once they have taken your money don't give a xxxx about helping two old pensioners with their heavy bags, mosquitoes and roaches everywhere and a lovely swamp providing a breeding ground for dengue fever carrying mosquitoes make this place totally avoidable and potentially dangerous.

Another option would be to stay at the opposite end of the beach at Dayunon which is new and very nice or avoid staying in Sabang altogether as there are very limited options here in terms of food and places to stay. Sabang itself is nothing special and made worse by vans full of tourists descending on it everyday.

Room Tip: Stay away from Sabang or stay at Dayunon
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giff f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Firstly, we were on a budget and this place fit perfectly within that. Secondly, don't expect any frills. Green Verde is a small resort right on the coastline in Sabang, next to the Sheridan.

Electricity is provided by a generator only from 6 - 10pm every day. (The Sheridan is the only place that has 24-hour electricity.) The rooms have fans. The bathroom is a little scary at first, having only cold water showers and a typical Filipino toilet - no toilet seat, cistern or flush, you pour water down it to "flush" it. However, it is all you need really...the place is clean, the beds are comfy (we had 2 single beds in our room). You have to remember you are on a very rustic island.

We paid PHP400 pppn and stayed there for 3 nights. There was a minor ant problem which I think is no fault of the establishment - again, they are surrounded by nature and lush vegetation. Just be careful if you have any food in your room, especially if it is open, as they'll get in there very quickly.

The staff really made our stay memorable and food at the Green Verde was out of this world!! We ate there every night and twice had the same meals as the night before, they were that good. Their chef, Jomar, has only been there for 4 months - I certainly hope he stays as long as possible! Foods I recommend are the lemongrass chicken, the pineapple chicken curry and the sizzling tuna salpicao. Everything is extremely well priced.

Nothing was too much trouble for the guys. Junil, the young waiter (Jomar's little brother), was fantastic. Always smiling and willing to please. The same applies to Gey Ar. They were excellent.

A tip on the underground river. An amazing experience, I regretted only doing the standard 45-min trip. If you can, arrange the longer trip into the cave. I think you can do this in Sabang itself, but Lonely Planet says to do it in Puerto Princesa at least 2 days before. Definitely worth doing.

We did the 5km jungle trail to get there and it was quite hard work. It was pouring so very muddy and slippery and there are some very steep uphills and downhills. Definitely wear appropriate shoes if you plan on doing this! Once you get there you can catch a boat back - don't let them talk you into paying PHP600 for a one-way trip!! You can share a boat with one of the many tourists going back for PHP100-150.

Also, when shopping in Sabang for souvenirs: EVERYTHING you see in those shops you can get for a fraction of the price in Puerto!! Don't be fooled, as we were! :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare-bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabang
0.0 mi away
Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort
0.0 mi away
Cafe Sabang Rooms & Cottages
Cafe Sabang Rooms & Cottages
#7 of 90 in Puerto Princesa
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seashore Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Manarra Seaview Resort
0.0 mi away
Jack Daniel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Verde Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Verde Resort Inn

Address: Sabang, Mindoro, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Sabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Sabang
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing