We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wished we could stay longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hospedaje Ecologico Hacienda La Florida
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tarma
Minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wished we could stay longer”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We spent two nights at Hacienda la Florida and were very happy with our choice. Our room was comfortable and clean. We had hot water and a good shower. We thoroughly enjoyed exploring the interesting property, taking many pictures and meeting the locals. Our hosts were extremely welcoming and a fountain of information. We did morning stretching in the garden, milked the cows and had great meals made with the local ingredients. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LMNMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
24
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Being cycle tourists we were excited to read that Hacienda La Florida offers space for camping. When we arrived we were greeted with a warm welcome and shown the amazing back garden which was set-up for camping. It included a bathroom, tables and seats, ample space and even an electrical outlet and light for the evening. We were very happy with how they accommodated us. Unfortunately the electrical shower head short-circuited so one of us didn't get a hot shower.

We have camped at a few haciendas in South America and find that they are a great place for food, usually. We decided to have dinner and breakfast there to treat ourselves. We were VERY disappointed in our dinner which was a cold hamburger like patty, rice with what seemed to be frozen peas and carrots, the soup was standard noodle soup. There was no fresh vegetables from the garden or anything than what you get for standard fair on a typical menu for a max of 10 soles, but we paid 25 soles per plate. VERY OVERPRICED.

The breakfast was good with nice bread, homemade jam and honey, but again overpriced.

The owners and staff are very nice and the grounds are beautiful. When we stayed there was a group of 40 - 13 year olds which was a little inconvenient and perhaps the reason the food was unexceptional, however when you are paying that kind of money you would expect a lot more. I hope our experience wasn't the 'norm' for their dinner service, otherwise I suggest to self cater.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoWheeledWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This place is the best choice in Tarma.
The food, the room and the service were great.
It's a perfect place for photographers; you will take excellent pictures.
You will enjoy this experience with friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis Eduardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I spent several days at Hacienda la Florida and greatly enjoyed getting to know the family and exploring the area. The rooms are clean and beautiful and it is a great place for children to explore the farm. Staff are available to take them around to feed and visit the animals and families can explore independently as well. I loved my side trips to Huaricolca and hiking around the Gruta de Huagapo. Tarma makes a really pleasant base for several side trips and Hacienda la Florida is removed from the noise of the city while being very easy to access with affordable and quick public transportation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ar_aventurera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iquitos
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our time spent at the hacienda was relaxing and inspiring, and we learned new things every day. Pepe, Inge, Marcos, & Johannes made us feel like family. The food was delicious, and the animals friendly. We took many walks through the wild and wonderful jardin, spotting owls and hummingbirds. We will surely be back next time we're in Peru!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
530 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our three nights in this 300-year-old hacienda were something of an adventure, as we had doubted the reports of a 7-hour requirement to drive up from LIma. We wish it had taken only 7 hours, as we had faulty directions and getting out of a city of 10 million with almost no highway numbers and horrible traffic congestion added a couple of hours to that number. We finally hired a cab to lead us out of the city, and the traffic up the mountains was pretty bad. But you might conclude that two old guys were crazy to rent a car and make the trek that way.

In any event, our host Marcos was very helpful, and provided a lot of interesting history about the place, from its 300 years of history to the time the Shining Path terrorists burned the place and searched for his father with the goal of assassination. We later met his father and a brother at dinner, and based on our eating experiences in town, we highly recommend the dinners here.

An 80-acre working farm with a variety of crops is part of the estate, which provides employment for 20 Peruvians. It was interesting to see them going about their work. The high mountains rising behind the hacienda provide an excellent backdrop. The headaches that resulted from the 10,000 foot elevation were cured by a special tea and putting some rolled-up local leaves between your teeth for a while. Coca leaves are for sale by the bushel in the local markets if you are interested.

While the rooms are unheated, we were not terribly uncomfortable in them at night, and were told that January is the cold season in this part of Peru. There was plenty of hot water, adequate breakfasts with the room, and suggestions for sights to see in the area. The rooms, while basic, are clean. And the price was unbeatable. We can certainly recommend it to you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

There are few haciendas left in Peru after the Velasco dictatorship. Most were confiscated through the Agrarian Reform. The remaining ones in the Central Sierra were attacked by Shining Path. Few survived--among them La Florida. It has a storied past, that goes back three centuries.

A beautiful property, that plants corn, artichokes, blueberries, etc. It has some cows, which produce great cheese and butter. Free range eggs are part of the hearty breakfast. Do purchase the honey, butter, cheese and marmalades that they serve you at breakfast. Ecological methods and artisanal recipes make a winning combination.

There is a 'secret garden' that inspired the Peruvian writer Julio Ramon Ribeyro to write 'Silvio en el Rosedal'. The property also has the biggest pine tree, I think in Peru--still standing in good health. There is ample space to roam in the gardens, light a fire, picnic or just lay in the sun. The air is crystal clear and you are 10 kms away from Tarma.

The rooms vary. Most have extra-thick adobe walls and tend to be cold. Some have been recently refurbished. Ours was spartan and basic, but with a good bed. Good water pressure in the bathrooms, and plenty of hot water.

Our package included dinner--which was very tasty and inventive. Besides there are few dining options in Tarma.

The service is cordial and homely, and they go the extra mile to make your stay a pleasant one. This is my second visit, and I want to go back again.

Room Tip: There are new suites with a view of the valley, backpacker rooms and the older rooms in the courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LimaNicodemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarma
3.6 mi away
LP Los Portales Hotel Tarma
0.0 mi away
Amazonia Siu Hostal
Amazonia Siu Hostal
#2 of 4 in La Merced
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente Selva
Hotel Presidente Selva
#1 of 4 in La Merced
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#4 of 6 in San Ramon
20 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hacienda Santa Maria
Hacienda Santa Maria
#1 of 7 in Tarma
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Normandie
Hotel Normandie
#3 of 7 in Tarma
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Ecologico Hacienda La Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Ecologico Hacienda La Florida

Property: Hospedaje Ecologico Hacienda La Florida
Address: Carretera Central km. 39 Junin, Tarma, Peru
Location: Peru > Junin Region > Tarma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tarma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hospedaje Ecologico Hacienda La Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing