We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restful oasis, a few cautions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yanque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
northern california
Level Contributor
165 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Restful oasis, a few cautions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Comfortable, tranquil property situated in Canyon with natural hot springs and spa on site.
Well heated rooms, hot showers and walking and equestrian trails. Excellent breakfast buffet with cooked to order eggs.
Rooms have no TV or Wi-fi access.
Our room phone didn't work- investigation revealed the plug and jack had been pulled out of the wall (someone didn't like their wake up call??) and the bedside light fixture was broken.
No spa menu in room. Called to make an appointment, quoted 140 New Soles for a one hour massage, billed 165 for 45 minutes.
Nonetheless, a comfortable place to take a day or two out to relax.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beardiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    357
    54
    21
    5
See reviews for
279
674
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed one night here in October 2010 on our way to see Colca Canyon. The hotel sits in a little valley on the river bank and the setting was very calming. The hot springs are a wonderful treat and the accomodations were fantastic (rustic style cabins, with plenty of room and amenities). We even ventured out on a little walk and headed across the swinging bridge on the adjoining property (we had to pay a small fee). We saw where some of our guests were dropped off and we would definitely recommend this place over the area hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
85 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Colca Lodge during a tour through Peru to explore the Colca Canyon. The lodge is situated in a valley at the bank of the Rio Colca. It disposes over a Alpaca Ranch, Spa and hot water springs. The building and layout might not win a price for their beauty but everything is well tended and the staff is very friendly.
Our rooms were comfortable and had all amenities at hand. A very large bathroom where, unfortunately, a lot of small flies or midgets where around. We believe however that during the turndown service something was sprayed to kill them for the night. All in all not a too big problem. Min point in the room was the fact that the bathing robes were not changed and were even left to lie where we left them with the other used bathing towels (they were changed)
There is a cosy bar with free wifi ... But no connection. Oh, well ... Probably not the most important thing when on holiday but ... Nevertheless.
The restaurant serves nice food and staff is extremely friendly and helpfull.
An absolute plus for the lodge are the hot water springs. 80 C water that is cooled to charming volcanic stone pools to a temperature of 38 c while the temperature around you sinks under 10 C. In the afternoon a nice barbecue lunch is served next to the pool.
We used the spa one evening and it can be truly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antwerpengl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We had a great two night stay here during our time exploring the Canyon. Rooms are arranged in rows like small joined chalets in the grounds near the main reception and dining areas. Our room was very spacious and comfortable with a view over the garden, river and the llama farm at the other side, which was accessible via a small bridge.

The hot springs are on-site - very warm and really relaxing after a long journey - open til about 8 or 9 pm. We were a little confused about how meals were going to be organised. The first night we had a choice from the menu, and the food was well prepared and tasty. But the next night they only offered a buffet, which wasn't so good - in fact many dishes had already been emptied by previous diners before we got there.

With old Inca ruins just a short walk away, this is a lovely setting in the countryside.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McClos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had a really enjoyable and relaxing stay at Colca Lodge. The hotel is close to the charming village of Yanque. Our room was large and comfortable with a good bathroom, wall safe and heating - the nights get cold at this altitude. Reception and staff were efficient and friendly, the large restaurant served good breakfasts and dinner. The hot springs were great and a good way to relax after a day visiting the nearby Colca Canyon. The only drawback was the lack of Wifi in rooms and the internet service in the bar area was very slow.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed here mid-way through a busy 3 week trip to Peru and it was an oasis of relaxation where a real effort has been made to blend the buildings into the surrounding area. Beautiful location with stunning views from the rooms. The hot springs were lovely to relax in after a busy morning trekking and viewing the Condor in the canyon.
The bar/reception area has reliable wifi and a lovely fire in the evenings. We found the food in the restaurant, especially at dinner, to be of a high quality.
Colca Lodge is a perfect place to relax and recharge your batteries during an active trip.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Janni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed at the Colca Lodge in July. It is a bit of a drive to get to from Yanque but definitely worth it. Our room was large with heated floors which kept us nice and warm at night. The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of comfy bedding. There was a turn down service in the evening. We had a gorgeous bathroom which was very large with a massive walk in shower with a sky light. There was a private terrace off the back of the room which looked out onto the very well maintained grounds which had beautiful views. The spa was lovely with great choice of treatments. The hot springs are delightful. There is an alpaca farm where you can see adult and baby alpaca and llama with a small museum about the different types of animals and their wool. There is a path down to the river where you can stroll and see a variety of water birds. The staff were delightful. The sitting area in the lodge has a bar and they light the fire each night. We had breakfast and dinner at the lodge. There was a very good selection of fresh foods for us (we are vegetarians so that was not always the case in Peru generally). Our only regret was that we were staying here just to visit the Colca canyon and surrounding areas so we did not leave ourselves much time to enjoy the property and it would have been lovely to have another day in the wonderful hot springs!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanque
0.6 mi away
Killawasi Lodge
Killawasi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yanque
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Casitas del Colca
0.0 mi away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
4.5 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Colca
20.9 mi away
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
#1 of 2 in Cabanaconde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel

Property: Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
Address: Fundo Puye-Yanque-Caylloma | Urb.Selva Alegre, Cercado, Yanque 054, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Yanque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Yanque
#2 Green Hotel in Yanque
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yanque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
there are places in the world where still the sun shines forth at dawn, and on cold nightthe stars dance in a eternal sky full of peace and magic ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs Hotel Yanque
Colca Lodge Spa And Hot Springs - Hotel
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel Peru/Colca Canyon - Yanque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing