We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yanque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel service is excellent and the infrastructure is great. But the best attribute of this beautiful hotel is how their well cared gardens and buildings bind with the natural surroundings. The spring water natural pools offer different temperatures and you can have a drink brought to you by the barman of the grill right next to the pools. The spa's atmosphere is truly peaceful. The massages are good (I believe the staff should have further training) and the steam room should have been two or three times hotter. However, the pool
Of natural hot spring water is breathtaking. The food is alright, definitely does not represent the high end Peruvian cuisine you find in the country. The rooms are rustic... Maybe management should think of including a mini fridge and improve the lighting.
Would I
Go back to Colca Lodge? Absolutely!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Xossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    357
    54
    21
    5
See reviews for
279
674
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

The last few miles of the drive to the lodge are interesting as you drive through a very run-down town on rough roads. But the hotel is set in its own grounds right on the edge of the river.

It has its own hot springs so you get free use of the hot pools (could be a bit hotter but that's nature for you).

Hotel is rather simple but good quality. Food is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gcluer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here in October 2007 when we did a roundtrip in the south of Peru. Our travel agent scheduled two nights in this hotel in the middle of our trip. Having slept in basic hotels before, this one really energized us for the rest of the trip.
We stayed in one of the lodges(not the main building). This hotel has its own natural hot springs.
In 2007, it was a quite a journey to get here. The road is very bumpy and i would not recommend doing it on a full stomach.
If i ever go back to Peru, i will certainly spend a few nights here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjorn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our room was comfortable with upstars arrangement for extra beds which suited our family travelling party of three. Rustic exposed beams and steps added to the charm. Plenty to do with hot springs, llama farm, and river walks. The quiet, the darkness and the sunrise were special, as was our breakfast with plenty of western and Peru choices. The walk back up the stairs was a challenge in such high altitude so allow plenty of time and don't rush. Wish we had more time here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue65H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Our one night stay in this wonderful retreat was well worth long drive from Arequipa. The hotel is a series of buildings following the contours of the beautiful landscape with thermal springs as a lure at the bottom. Our accommodation was in two levels at the end of one of the buildings with an intimate living area, open fireplace and bathroom on ground level while the bedroom was upstairs. A radio/CD player was provided but what a pity the hotel is out of range for FM radio. Our room had its own little thermal pool which we really enjoyed after so many hours travelling. The walks were most enjoyable beside the river, past the communal thermal pools and then across to a small farm which includes grazing alpacas and a museum devoted to them. Attached to the reception area are several levels of bars and dining rooms. For dinner there was a choice of buffet or a la carte options. We took the buffet included in the booking. It was well-prepared if not offering the most extensive range of options compared to city hotels. But after all this is a remarkable accommodation so far removed from obvious towns. Just as the radio reception wasn't expected and couldn't happen, the provided internet station in the lobby was by satellite connection: wayward and intermittent. Some guests were able to get internet connection on portable devices but it was unstable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

When you first look down on this place from the, slightly nerve jangling, road above you get the sense of how amazing your stay will be and all your worries disappear.
When you arrive into the beautiful grounds and are welcomed by the friendly staff and are served your delicious refreshing welcome drink you know you are in for a treat.
The rooms are gorgeous, the beds are ultra comfy, the towels are soft and fluffy and the bath robes are large and hooded perfect for your trip to the volcanic hot springs!
Across from the lodge itself is a small Alpaca farm where you can go and learn all about the different types of Llama, Alpaca and Vicuña and the different qualities off the wool, very interesting.
The volcanic hot springs are yours to enjoy 24 hours, wonderfully relaxing and leave your skin feeling amazingly soft. There are varying temperatures and depths and a plunge pool (I was to chicken to use it) and a wonderful spring side bar where you can also have some delicious food when ordered in advance.
I cannot comment on the spa as we did not use it but can imagine how good it would be.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SMcKay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, New York
Level Contributor
200 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

After a four hour drive from Arequipa to the Colca Canyon, you set eyes on this beautiful resort at the bottom of the canyon with killer views in all directions. It is a very modern place with minimalist furniture and decorations of the local people. It is very comfortable and affords all the amenities of the area. The resort has no tv or wifi in the rooms but does have it in the main building. The food was excellent and the service throughout the hotel was very attentive. I would have liked to spend more than two nights here - it is spectacular to wake up to the sun rising over the canyon. There is so much to see and do which I never had the time to partake of.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanque
0.6 mi away
Killawasi Lodge
Killawasi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yanque
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Casitas del Colca
0.0 mi away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
4.5 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Colca
20.9 mi away
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
#1 of 2 in Cabanaconde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel

Property: Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
Address: Fundo Puye-Yanque-Caylloma | Urb.Selva Alegre, Cercado, Yanque 054, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Yanque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Yanque
#2 Green Hotel in Yanque
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yanque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
there are places in the world where still the sun shines forth at dawn, and on cold nightthe stars dance in a eternal sky full of peace and magic ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs Hotel Yanque
Colca Lodge Spa And Hot Springs - Hotel
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel Peru/Colca Canyon - Yanque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing