We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to go in Colca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Yanque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 24, 2013

An absolutely amazing experience.

My sister-in-law held her wedding at this wonderful hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and very accommodating through the adventure that is any and every wedding. The scenery was great for the occasion. A view of the Colca river from many of the rooms and a great location in the valley of the canyon itself provides a great environment to just sit, relax and appreciate nature.

The hotel's restaurant offered many different dishes and everything I tried was well prepared and very tasty(everyone in the party that I spoke with about food had the same response, delicious).

The hot springs were well maintained, as we went down to the springs after breakfast they had drained one and were cleaning it, the staff member said they clean the spring pools daily which keep them looking nice and the smell down (natural spring hot water smells of sulfur and can be quite potent if the pool isn't well maintained).

Keep in mind when traveling the altitude, its really nothing to underestimate and altitude sickness can feel different for different people, but I can attest to the hotel's attentiveness to this, especially with foreigners. They even provided an oxygen tank for me at 3 in the morning when I woke up having trouble breathing, they brought it to my room, cleaned the mask in front of me, and left the tank all night for me, and this was completely free of charge!

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to the area, or even to someone who is looking for a nature based destination hotel, it was amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,414)
There are newer reviews for Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at the Colca Lodge for two nights as part of a package tour arranged in Arequipa (guided tour for two days - third day we would make our own arrangements).

The Lodge is about a 30 minute drive from Chivay (S/35), and made up of about 50 rooms across a number of buildings along side the Colca River. Rooms 25-31 are closest to the river with views to the valley. Rooms 3-18 are probably more convenient for the out door hot springs. The hot springs are excellent (various temperatures, 3-4 pools, views down the valley), and drinks and food can be ordered from the BBQ area just metres away. The rooms all provide hooded bathrobes that can keep you warm on the run to and from the springs (they have them by the springs too).

We had a room close to the river; very large, ceiling following the pitch of the roof creating a very tall space. The bed was very comfortable, and in the evening all we could hear was the sounds from the river. The bathroom was clean and rustic, toiletries were OK, hot water can be an issue later in the morning (presumeably if a large tour group have used up the tank before a 6:30am departure to the Condors). We had a second door that opened onto a small patio facing the river, great for warming up in mornings and a bit of star gazing in the evenings.

Breakfast accommodates the Condor sightseeing tours and starts at 5:30am. The selection was good, they had an egg station - just not often manned.

Evening meals in the restaurants will set you back about S/60 a head. We were there for both a buffet dinner and a la carte. The buffet was a full selection of everything on the menu, with chef on hand to advise what was what. Quality of the food was very good. Wait service was always friendly and efficient. We only noticed how full or empty the hotel was at dinner times.

We tried a massage at the Colca Lodge, generally good but definitely about 10 minutes shorter than the listed time.

Overall, a very relaxing stay, friendly service, and an amazing location.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GilbertoAndJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is set in an amazing location in the valley with it's own hot springs. We had a room right at the bottom of the hotel, although more of a walk was worth it as was one of the rooms nearer the river. We found the room very spacious with high ceilings and very comfortable beds. The food in the restaurant is 'ok' but the service very good. A little disappointed with our spa treatments and personally the 'hot' springs could have been a lot warmer (we noticed they can regulate the temperature).
Certainly a one-off experience.

Room Tip: Try for rooms at the bottom of the resort near the river
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brightonbeachboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had a relaxing visit to Colca Lodge, agree with another reviewer that the food could be better. We also got smoked out of the restaurant when a waiter didn't light the fire in the room properly. We would return for another visit, however.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the hot springs water to be hotter if needed, as the staff has to re-route the in...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabernash33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

In the middle of nowhere but what a fabulous setting. Much is said elsewhere I shall not repeat it. The hot springs by the river are well worth sampling with a beer served there by an attentive waiter. Rooms are comfortable with four single beds two on the ground floor and two on a mezzanine level accessed via a steep ladder like stairway.
The staff are warm, welcoming and friendly and I can see how this hotel won a Trip Advisor best hotel last year. It's tempting to give it 5 stars just for its truly magic setting but the food is almost awful and if they invested in a good chef they would walk the award every year

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exkgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Colca Lodge is a great hotel deep in the Colca Valley. The rooms and bathroom are a little small but still cozy.
What is wonderful is the thermal water pools. It is so gratifying to take a dip in the thermal waters after 5PM until sunset. The atmosphere is quite cold at that time and the temperature differences make it a whole new experience.
The food and service are also very good.
You will enjoy a totally different experience!!!

Room Tip: Roomd clse to the thermal water pools are great
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggarridop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I totally adored the treatments this place has to offer. The view from our room was beautiful and the food was great too!! Overlooking the river while in the hot springs was a fantastic experience, so in touch with nature. The staff was very helpfull too, everything about this hotel was great for us

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luisana20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanque
1.6 mi away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
1.0 mi away
Belmond Las Casitas
Belmond Las Casitas
#3 of 5 in Yanque
283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Killawasi Lodge
Killawasi Lodge
#1 of 5 in Yanque
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
4.5 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Colca
20.9 mi away
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
#1 of 2 in Cabanaconde
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel

Address: Fundo Puye-Yanque-Caylloma | Urb.Selva Alegre, Cercado, Yanque 054, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Yanque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Yanque
#2 Green Hotel in Yanque
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yanque
Price Range: $167 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There Are Places In The World Where Still The Sun Shines Forth At Dawn, And On Cold Nightthe Stars Dance In A Eternal Sky Full Of Peace And Magic ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs Hotel Yanque
Colca Lodge Spa And Hot Springs - Hotel
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel Peru/Colca Canyon - Yanque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing