We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Las Casitas
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Yanque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

The views of the valley itself would be enough, the outdoor heated Spa, the fireplace, the 3 course dinners - though the altitude limits your ability to indulge - the top level service, their own produce, the baby lamas, the transfers to/from Arequipa all mean a great experience. It is really an amazing and unique place.

You do need to watch the bill as they seemed confused in my case. But reasonable and stuck to the agreed rates. 5 stars otherwise.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-LCDC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Belmond Las Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest:

On behalf of the entire team of the Hotel Las Casitas del Colca receive a warm greeting and our welcome for the time you took to share your opinion with us.

It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and know that all the activities and services we offer have been achieved our main objective: Your satisfaction.

Your opinion encourage to continue working every day to provide excellent service looking for make a memorable stay to our guests.

Best Regards,

Evelyn Villanueva
Quality Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 296 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

I first visited this hotel when Orient Express had recently purchased the property and it was called "El Parador de la Colca". It was a simple hostelry with one model "casita". We were the first guests years ago to stay in the model casita and I have been waiting for 10 years or so to return. Our first trip was truly memorable and the hospitality of the ex-GM, Cesar, was exceptional.

Orient Express sold this property recently. I was a bit hesitant to see if it would still be worthwhile. It's still an exceptional property but not as polished as you would expect an Orient Express hotel to be. I suspect that new management lacks the standards of the famed Orient Express chain.

Room

The casita we were assigned was on the far left side of the property with an amazing view. The casitas aren't villas. They are rather compact rooms with a sofa / seating area in front of the bed. Are they luxurious? No. They are rustically elegant.

The patio area features a small plunge pool. Ours was dirty and not properly heated. Complaints didn't resolve the issues.

The grounds are beautiful. This is truly a special place.

Dining

The food was excellent especially considering the remote location of this hotel. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all delicious. Service was a bit spotty at times and guests who only spoke English did have some noticeable issues.

Spa

The spa is large and beautiful but looks abandoned and a bit ran down. The steam room / shower area needed a good scrub. The light bulb was burned out in the shower area outside of the steam room. Towels smelled mold from disuse. There was only one therapist in the spa and she doubled as the receptionist!

The spa is probably too large for such a small property. Nevertheless it needs some cleaning and maintenance.

What was lacking?? Hummm.......that special feeling that you except from a small boutique property in an isolated location. There was no great host like the ex GM Cesar. Nobody was roaming the property and taking "ownership" of everything. At a small hotel like this I expect individualized attention and a host to chat with.

All staff were friendly but there was just that something special missing....

Overall a great property in an amazing location. Will I return? Twice in a lifetime is probably enough for the hard to reach and isolated Colca Valley. if you have a two week or more trip to Peru I would definitely include it in your itinerary. Three nights here is perfect. No more is needed.

Room Tip: Pick a casita that is isolated. Request a casita with an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darrell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-LCDC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Belmond Las Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team of the Hotel Las Casitas del Colca receive a warm greeting and our welcome for the time you spent to share your comments with us.

We regret not having achieved our objectives and hadn't met your expectations, giving a misleading picture of our work and our company.

We are taking into account the errors they did make your stay with us has been dissapointing, to thereby resolve those deficiencies.

Your feedback encourages us to keep working every day to provide excellent service to each of our guests, seeking their satisfaction and stay memorable.

We can assure you that our staff is committed to improving every aspect mentioned.

Best Regards,

Evelyn Villanueva
Quality Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here just one night on a jaunt from Arequipa to see Colca Canyon. Big mistake. This property is spectacular - in luxury, setting, and activities. One night just doesn't do it justice. Casitas is among the best hotels we've ever stayed at, and probably the best in Peru. The casitas - bungalows - remind us of the Four Seasons in Carmelo, Uruguay with the large rooms, incredibly spacious bathrooms, and outdoor showers. Every feature is high end understated luxury, which we love. The staff is incredibly attentive - we asked for a fire to be built in the room's fireplace and in 5 minutes someone was there to do it. Dinner was also among the best we've had in Peru, with a great selection of dishes and wines. The grounds are spectacular with ponds, vegetable gardens, flowers, and view of the canyon. My wife reports that her massage (in addition to the free 10 minute scalp massage everyone receives!) was fantastic. The only downside was that the pool was empty - presumably for maintenance. Do yourself a favor: stay here, and for more than one night.

Room Tip: All casitas are great and have good views, but 12-15 are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeanCEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-LCDC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Belmond Las Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Guest

On behalf of the entire team of the Hotel Las Casitas del Colca receive a warm greeting and our welcome for the time you took to share your opinión with us.

It is a pleasure to have received your comment. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our installations and especially our service leaves a good memory.

Our goal is to offer our guests a quality service and we glad we achieved, this helps us to improve every day.

Thank you very much once again.

Evelyn Villanueva
Quality Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We seriously considered cancelling our trip to Arequipa to stay longer at this hotel. We had a fabulous four posted bed, cosy sitting area, large open fireplace, outdoor heated spa and so much more. The bath had a herb garden next to it so that fresh herbs could be used to scent the bath water. There were so many included activities, most of which we did not have time to sample. We did have our complimentary 15 minute head and neck massage and it was professional and very relaxing. The room service was prompt and beautifully presented. It was probably the best Salmon we have ever eaten and washed down with champagne, it made for a perfect evening.

Room Tip: There are no bad choices here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliannekillara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-LCDC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Belmond Las Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Guest:

On behalf of the entire team of the Hotel Las Casitas del Colca receive a warm greeting and our welcome for the time you took to share your opinion with us.

It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and know that all the activities and services we offer have been achieved our main objective: Your satisfaction.

Your opinion encourage us to continue working every day to provide excelente service looking for made a memorable stay to our guest. We appreciate your comments and opinion of us


Best Regards,

Evelyn Villanueva
Coordinadora de Calidad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We spent 2 nights here, and I think this is the absolute minimum time to fully acclimate and enjoy the amenities of the resort, as well as its gorgeous setting. The drive from Arequipa is closer to 3.5 hours, as the early portion of the road can have heavy truck traffic that can slow you down until an opportunity to pass presents itself. The drive to the Condor Lookout (unpaved from the hotel on) is another good hour further from the hotel (they will tell you 1.5 hours), and I wouldn't have wanted to do all this in the same day. Arrive at the hotel, relax the rest of the day, and get up early the following morning to make the drive to the viewpoint. Then come back and enjoy all this amazing property has to offer; they have even set up cushy lounges and chairs at viewpoints along the perimeter walk, with gorgeous vistas of the canyon.

About driving: we read the many opinions discouraging people from driving on their own in a rental, but decided to do so anyway, as we prefer to have the independence of being on our own. This drive is totally do-able! We had no issues at all, the road is paved the whole way to the hotel, 2 clearly marked lanes, and not terribly heavily trafficked. If you prefer renting cars, don't be put off by the many negative warnings against doing so. Hertz will meet you at the airport with a car, although they do NOT have an office there.

Now to the hotel: this property is incredible! It is one of the most luxurious, elegant, beautifully designed resorts we have stayed at. You will be overwhelmed by the high quality of every single detail, every fixture, especially when you consider the context and what it took to build it! The casitas are all identical, and therefore there are no bad rooms; the only decision you have to make is location, and this seems to affect price. We took the cheapest level, but couldn't have been happier with the total privacy of our unit (#24), the views from our (well-furnished!) patio and jacuzzi, and the relative proximity up to the main lodge. The room is enormous, and beautifully and stylishly furnished, with a dressing room/storage area between the bedroom and bathroom, with a large safe. There is also tea/coffee (including coca tea for the altitude) in your room, and a fireplace that they will set for you. No television. Altogether a very romantic accommodation!

But it is the bathroom that will knock your socks off. Fabulous, enormous separate tub (for when you need a 2nd soak after enjoying the outdoor jacuzzi with its beautiful daytime views and star-studded night sky), huge indoor shower stall with rainfall fixture, that leads directly outside into the private walled garden containing a 2nd shower, for al fresco showering in the dry desert climate. Double sinks, separate toilet room, full amenities (including sun block!) - and everything to the highest standard of quality.

The check-in procedure is handled in your room, where you are welcomed with drinks and a snack, and everything is explained to you. The main lodge is a long building at the top of the property that includes bar, dining room, computer room (dreadfully slow and clunky, not worth the trouble; the wifi works great in the rooms!), and what has got to be one of the most inviting terraces where you can take any of your meals. If tables are not already set, they will happily and quickly do so, because you want that view with your meal!

And now the meals: I'll start with what they do best, and this is breakfast (included). There is no help-yourself buffet; they bring to your table separate trays of cheeses, meats, fabulous pastries, and a large bowl of pre-cut fresh fruit, all truly delicious. And then, you order whatever you want (eggs, etc.) which is cooked to order and brought out to you. This is 5-star quality, and totally consonant with everything else about the stay here. It is the other meals that will disappoint, especially if, like us, you have been eating the phenomenal cuisine of Peru on the rest of your travels.

We ate both a lunch and a dinner, and skipped having a 2nd dinner on our final night. Perhaps there are other options back in Chivay, but we didn't feel like leaving the resort. They did slightly better with lunch, but dinner was terrible, the pork almost inedible, at least those bites that we could actually get a knife through to cut a piece. There obviously is a good bread maker in the kitchen, as all the breads/pastries were really delicious, and the greens that seem to come with every dish are all directly from their own gardens. But it's really expensive for what you ultimately get, and portions were somewhat small. I think they need to look at the execution of their menu.

When we were there, the property was not full by any stretch, and we only encountered one or two other tables eating meals when we did. So it felt a bit dead; I hope people are not put off by the price. I suggest you keep checking back with the website, as they do run specials and I was able to re-book our room for 40% off, or $316 a night. This is an incredible bargain for a property of this quality! And it IS a 5-star luxury property, with service to match. This is one of those truly memorable places.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zorro_and_Gatinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-LCDC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Belmond Las Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Guest:

On behalf of the entire staff of the Hotel Las Casitas del Colca receive a warm greeting and our welcome for the time you took to share your opinion and suggestions with us.

It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and know that all the activities and services we offer have been achieved our main objective: Your satisfaction.

Your opinion encourage us to identify our weaknesses and continue working every day to provide excellent service looking for make a memorable stay to our guests.

If you have any suggestion or additional comment, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Evelyn Villanueva
Coordinadora de Calidad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We booked a package at Las Casitas del Colca through Luxury Link and were looking forward to our visit. Unfortunately, we never made it.

We were unable to access the property after being stopped at a police check point outside the Arequipa airport. The driver, provided by the hotel, was "undocumented." Since the driver didn't speak English, we didn't understand the details of the issue. However, the police told us the driver did not have proper documentation and therefore did not allow us to pass. They also told us it would be dangerous to proceed on the remaining 3 hour trip. The hotel explained that the police may be seeking a bribe. We told the hotel staff we were uncomfortable proceeding and would return to the airport, following the police officer's instruction. The police escorted us back, along with the driver, to the airport. We re-booked flights, hotel stays, etc. to accommodate this unforeseen travel issue.

Luxury Link promptly refunded our money, and told us the hotel would be contacting us with an apology. We never received the apology.

The property looks beautiful, but the customer service needs serious work.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-LCDC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Belmond Las Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Mrs. Jessica:

Receive a warm greeting from Las Casitas del Colca and our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience you had during your transfer on the way to the hotel and that unfortunately you didn't arrive.

We are really sorry that you and your husband did not get the chance to arrive to the hotel and left with the feeling of a lack of service.

Our main objective is to offer our guests a pleasant experience, we focus all our work on it. This is why we work with a warranty transfer company since last year.

We understand your discomfort with the difficult process to get to the hotel and the scary event with the police.
The driver did have the documents the police requested, we even have copies of them. Unfortunately, they just tried to give him a really hard time because they wanted some money to let him go.
This situation is really embarrassing for us and unfair with our guests.
The transfer company will take legal actions to stop this abusive events and we will support them in order to not affect more of our guests.

About the apology, we don't know the reason why your husband didn't receive it. Our general Manager sent him a prompt comunication with our apologies and the explanation about the incident.

We understand this problem affect directly our image and the impression you took about our service.

Once again, we are really sorry for this situation and hope that despite all of this, your stay and trip arround our country was in general pleasant.

Sincerely,

Maria Gracia Vilchez
Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel and the house we slept in are really nice.

Little warm pool outside each house that is brillant.

Location is certainly a bit far from everything but that was cool to relax and enjoy the canyon.

Two bad things :
For such an hotel, food is not extraordinary
At Check out i take the laundry bag to carry my dirty shoes. They wanted to charge me 40 soles which is mean when you pay $800 for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thierry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-LCDC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Belmond Las Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest:

Receive a warm greeting on behalf of the entire family of the Hotel Las Casitas del Colca.
We value your opinion and the time you spent to share your opinion with us.

Your feedback helps us to identify some details that can affect the image you have took from our hotel with your experience.
We will evaluate the price of our laundry bag and the quality of food.
On despite of this "bad things" you found, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Your opinion encourage us to continue working every day to provide excellent service looking for make a memorable stay to our guests.

Best regards,

Maria Gracia Vilchez
Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanque
1 mi away
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
2.5 mi away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
1.5 mi away
Killawasi Lodge
Killawasi Lodge
#1 of 5 in Yanque
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
5.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Colca
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Refugio
Hotel El Refugio
#9 of 15 in Colca Canyon
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Las Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Las Casitas

Address: Parque Curina s/n, Yanque 5154, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Yanque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yanque
#3 Family Hotel in Yanque
Price Range: $518 - $805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Las Casitas 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Las Casitas is Peru’s hidden gem. Surrounded by the peace and serenity of Colca Canyon, this collection of luxurious bungalows and fabulous spa offers the ultimate Andean retreat. Blending effortlessly with the natural environment, this secluded 20-room hideaway offers a rare opportunity to experience the traditional beauty of Peru. Spot condors high overhead, hike through the sprawling fields or visit the hotel’s farm. Spend time in harmony with the astounding nature and warm local communities of this lush valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Las Casitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Del Colca By Orient-Express Hotel Yanque
Las Casitas Del Colca Canyon
Belmond Las Casitas Peru/Colca Canyon - Yanque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing