We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastique hotel in colca canyon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Las Casitas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yanque
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
124 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fantastique hotel in colca canyon”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel and the house we slept in are really nice.

Little warm pool outside each house that is brillant.

Location is certainly a bit far from everything but that was cool to relax and enjoy the canyon.

Two bad things :
For such an hotel, food is not extraordinary
At Check out i take the laundry bag to carry my dirty shoes. They wanted to charge me 40 soles which is mean when you pay $800 for 2 nights.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thierry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-LCDC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Belmond Las Casitas, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest:

Receive a warm greeting on behalf of the entire family of the Hotel Las Casitas del Colca.
We value your opinion and the time you spent to share your opinion with us.

Your feedback helps us to identify some details that can affect the image you have took from our hotel with your experience.
We will evaluate the price of our laundry bag and the quality of food.
On despite of this "bad things" you found, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Your opinion encourage us to continue working every day to provide excellent service looking for make a memorable stay to our guests.

Best regards,

Maria Gracia Vilchez
Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    29
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
75
145
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I am originally from Peru but have lived in Canada for the last 24 years. Every visit I look forward to the incredible food choices an amazing variety of the Peruvian kitchen. Being in this beautiful and unique setting I was pleased to learn they had their own orchards, gardens and greenhouses. The menu looked great although the waiter seemed clueless and not vey well versed on the menu choices. We ordered and awaited for what we hope would be an awesome meal. We were not only disappointed, but we were mad for the poor quality of the food - the risotto was a wet rice with no flavor, the lasagna was cold, sent back and returned microwaved and all the other dishes were equally bad. And the PRICE.... The most expensive meal we ever had in all of Peru. We know they price this for tourists that are used to paying high prices for everything But this was beyond ridiculous. The staff was unresponsive and completely indifferent to our comments which were given to the front desk the next morning. Yeah- the beds are comfy and bathrooms are great but since there is no where else to go for dinner I would not recommend this hotel as you are stuck with bad food and extremely high prices.

Room Tip: Bring your own snacks and drinks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-LCDC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Belmond Las Casitas, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped:

Reciba un cordial saludo en nombre de todo el equipo de Las Casitas del Colca.

Lamentamos que su estadía con nosotros no haya cubierto sus expectativas y que se haya llevado una imagen mala de nuestro hotel y nuestro personal.
Uno de nuestras políticas de calidad es no cobrar a nuestros huéspedes algún alimento que consumieron pero que aún así no les gustó y esto fue lo que hicimos en el caso del risotto. De igual manera estamos tomando en cuenta su opinión acerca de la comida y el servicio que recibió para verificar las situaciones que menciona y poder tomar medidas correctivas en el caso que corresponda.

Su opinión es muy valiosa para nosotros yaque nos permite identificar las debilidades u ocasiones que generaron su molestia para poder enmendarlas y trabajar muy duro con el fin de brindar un excelente servicio a nuestros huéspedes.

Cordialmente,

Maria Gracia Vilchez
Supervisora de Operaciones & Calidad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The accommodation is a lodge with private garden & plunge pool plus bathroom with large bath and indoor outdoor shower.The room was large with seating, gigantic bed and separate wardrobe area ; the nicest room I have ever had.
The restaurant which was not busy served good food.
It is worth noting that the hotel is at approx 12000ft and the road pass over from Arequipa is 15000ft and so our first day was rather lost to acclimatisation. We spent two nights here to see the condors and we felt that at least 3 nights might have been better as there were more things to do in Colca canyon

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldcodger2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-LCDC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Belmond Las Casitas, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

On behalf of the entire team of the Hotel Las Casitas del Colca, receive a warm greeting and our welcome for the time you spent to share your opinion with us.

We are glad to know that your stay with us met your expectations. We know that two nights are not enough to enjoy tha most of our property, especially taking into account that the altitude affects the majority of our guests on the first day.

We appreciate your comments and description of the hotel, which make us feel proud of our workplace and encourage us to continue working very hard in order to provide an excellent service to our guests.

Best regards,

Maria Gracia Vilchez
Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Las Casitas del Colca is set in a stunning location and the accommodation can not be faulted, spacious individual lodges with stunning bathroom, sitting area, outdoor terrace complete with private plunge pool and the most heavenly bed and quality bedding, but that is where it ended.
The reception area and restaurant lacked atmosphere and there were few guests, maybe the price put people off- not sure.
At times it was difficult to find staff at reception or in the restaurant and at times there was difficulty understanding our requests. This however was passed on to someone who understood English and quickly resolved.
I can see that the staff are trying hard to make this hotel a viable option in the Colca Canyon and I hope that they succeed as the location is spectacular, but they need more guests and a refurbishment of the public areas may help as they were a little tired looking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dghp9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-LCDC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Belmond Las Casitas, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

Receive a warm greeting on behalf of the entire team of the Hotel Las Casitas del Colca. We appreciate the time you spent to share your comments with us.

It is gratifying to know that beyond the difficults you found with our staff, you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate and thank you you value our staff effort that makes every day to provide excellent service to our guests.
Your feedback helps us to identify our weaknesses and work harder to improve our service in each of the areas you have mentioned.

Best Regards,

Maria Gracia Vilchez
Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is the most improbable place we could think of to put a 5-star hotel. After a long drive in an 8-seater tour bus, we headed down the longest, steepest, narrowest stone paved driveway we have ever seen. Fortunately the hotel has staff at either end of the driveway so they control the traffic as it would not be possible for two vehicles to pass. Once down the driveway you come to a hidden treasure land of green gardens surrounding pretty cottages, with ponds and trickling water and even greener lawns.

The hotel covers many acres, so if you don't like walking ask for a cottage near the main dining room. Our room 15 was located way down the site facing the river way below, and we loved how spacious and comfortable it was, with probably the largest and most impressive bathroom we've ever seen, combining indoor and outdoor showers, a deep bath, and lots of soft white towels as well as the usual amenities.

We took a well-made path along the edge of the river escarpment to watch the sun set, and followed it along to the small farm where they keep a few animals, mostly for tourists to photograph. The walk took us through impressive gardens and two glasshouses where they grow most of their own vegetables, making the dining room experience very fresh and inviting.

Staff were courteous and helpful, and we rated the restaurant highly too.

If we ever have the chance to come back, we will. As we were here on the way to Colca Canyon to see the condors fly, we had to leave early next morning and did not really get to enjoy the place. Our advice: plan to spend two nights here if you can, and relax in the green, tranquil setting as well as the local area. This is truly a 5-star experience to remember.

Room Tip: If you don't like walking ask for a room close to the dining room: otherwise you need to stroll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris15570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-LCDC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Belmond Las Casitas, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

Receive a warm greeting from the entire family of the Hotel Las Casitas del Colca., and our .

It is a pleasure for us to know that all services we offer and the infraestructure we have, both have achieve our main objective which is your satisfaction.
All the team of Las Casitas del Colca, work harder every day in order to improve our service and fullfill our guest's expectations.

We appreciate your comments and we want to thank you for the time you spent to share an opinion and describe our property.

Best Regards,

Maria Gracia Vilchez
Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, VA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Las Casitas del Colca had been on our bucket list for a long time, but by the time we worked it into our itinerary for our second trip to Peru, it had changed hands from Orient Express to GHL Hoteles, a Colombian hotel group. We had hoped that the same high standards expected from an Orient Express hotel had been maintained, but it was not to be. We had reserved a Deluxe Casita, but during check in the receptionist took us down to one of their "Combined" casitas, i.e., a duplex. The receptionist was adamant that each type was the same size and had the same amenities, but that was not the point and she just didn't get it. We had to sit and wait for 90 minutes before a Deluxe casita was ready, and I'm sure that was the real issue. Under Orient Express this was an all-inclusive hotel, but no longer. And it gets worse. The receptionist pointed to a tray of tea bags and instant coffee and proudly beamed, "These are all complimentary!" Whoopee. 2-3 star hotels provide instant coffee as well.
Meals were included in our package and the dinners were a nice 5-course affair, but the new management limits you to one glass of Peruvian wine (not bad) for the entire meal; you can purchase more, naturally, but at the rates they charge there's no reason they can't pair wines with each course, and the hotel information book in the room implies that. It gets worse. One night we ordered coffee with dessert and the waiter handed us a check for 30 soles; this makes no sense. You would expect that in a restaurant in Arequipa, for example, but not at your hotel when you have a meal package. Service varied from night to night depending on your waiter, and, as has been pointed out, not all of the staff are fluent in English. Lunch was also nice, but breakfasts were just average compared to other 5-star hotels.
One reason we picked this hotel is you would expect peace and quiet in such a remote, pristine location, but this turned out to be the ugliest surprise of our stay. There was some sort of celebration taking place in a village across the valley and Peruvians in this area apparently love loud music, and I mean loud. They started at 3:00 in the afternoon and didn't miss a beat until 3:00 in the morning, and I'm not exaggerating one whit. Sound travels far in the thin, cool air, and you just couldn't escape it; I finally had to put on my Bose headphones to get some sleep. I complained to the front desk, but they said there was nothing they could do and even opined that the policia were probably at the celebration having a good time. The next day started out quiet and the waiter at lunch was confident that there would not be a repeat performance; it was Sunday after all. Well, his optimism was misplaced. Right on schedule the noise cranked back up at 3:00 in the afternoon, but they mercifully stopped around 1:00 in the morning. Realistically there's not much hotel management could do, but at least you've been forewarned.
Bottom line: Given the price break of this hotel, this was a disappointing stay. The new management/owners are obviously in a state of transition and don't have all the bugs worked out, but this should have been a relatively seamless turnkey handover. Most of the shortcomings we observed/encountered, are just common sense in the hospitality industry, not rocket science.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 73Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-LCDC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Belmond Las Casitas, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest:

Receive a warm greeting from Las Casitas Del Colca. We appreciate and value the time you took to share your opinion with us and let us know your feedback.

We regret that your stay with us has not met your expectations for various reasons.
Unfortunately, the days that you were staying with us there was a party in the town that is in front of our hotel. In Peru, and especially in small towns at the highlands is a custom for each village to make their parties at the main square and all the people involved, including residents of other towns around, prepare typical dances and make music competitions. We understand that this issue was one of the reasons that didn't let you enjoy the hotel and the relaxing environment it offers with a beautiful scenery around.

On the other hand, if we have a request for a guest to change the assigned casita, preparing it takes about 1 hour and a half so it can be under the standards we have, so like this with a good temperature, because our heating is through the soil and the heating system is a gas which is not common as a system having other hotels. The same process happens with the hot tubes.

Our staff works very hard, every day, looking for the satisfaction of our guests and we regret that we have not achieved our main objective.

Thank you for your comments, they helps us to identify situations that may harm our image.

Sincerely,

Maria Gracia Vilchez
Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were here for two nights, it is expensive but worth it

The staff were not great in English but we managed with our Spanish and their was always a smile and a helpful word in English and Spanish.

We did the Pisco and cooking lessons, fed the alpacas, did the spa treatment and managed a very respectable 6 hours in the Canyon.

The rooms are lovely, big and well appointed. If you need 100% connectivity, outback Peru is not for you but we managed well.

Thanks for a great stay guys!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-LCDC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Belmond Las Casitas, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest:

On behalf of the entire team of the Hotel Las Casitas del Colca receive a warm greeting and our welcome for the time you took to share your opinion with us.

It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and know that all the activities and services we offer have been achieved our main objective: Your satisfaction.

Your opinion help us to identify our weaknesses so that in this way we can improve every day.

If you have any suggestion or additional comment, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Maria Gracia Vilchez
Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanque
1.0 mi away
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
2.5 mi away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
1.5 mi away
Killawasi Lodge
Killawasi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yanque
5.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
#1 of 2 in Cabanaconde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
5.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Colca
1.7 mi away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Las Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Las Casitas

Property: Belmond Las Casitas
Address: Parque Curina s/n, Yanque 5154, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Yanque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yanque
#3 Family Hotel in Yanque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Las Casitas 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Las Casitas is Peru’s hidden gem. Surrounded by the peace and serenity of Colca Canyon, this collection of luxurious bungalows and fabulous spa offers the ultimate Andean retreat. Blending effortlessly with the natural environment, this secluded 20-room hideaway offers a rare opportunity to experience the traditional beauty of Peru. Spot condors high overhead, hike through the sprawling fields or visit the hotel’s farm. Spend time in harmony with the astounding nature and warm local communities of this lush valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Las Casitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Del Colca By Orient-Express Hotel Yanque
Las Casitas Del Colca Canyon
Belmond Las Casitas Peru/Colca Canyon - Yanque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing