We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal attention and excellent quality!”
Review of Killawasi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Killawasi Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Yanque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at Killawasi in April 2013 as part of a our visit to the Colca Canyon (within a larger trip to Peru). The hotel is of very recent construction, and was designed with lots of care to meet the needs of both Peruvian and foreign guests by the owners, who are a very charming couple. The rooms are roomy with large, comfortable beds; modern, clean, and bright bathrooms; 24/7 hot water; heaters; and adjoining private balconies or patios with great views. We were impressed with how modern and clean everything was, even though the town of Yanque, where it is located, is quite small and remote. The owners personally attended to the needs of the guests, although they also have a staff on hand. We loved the four-hour guided hike that the owners arranged once we arrived to the hotel -- Killawasi is in the town of Yanque, but it takes only a couple minutes on foot to be in a picturesque countryside filled with Incan and pre-Incan ruins, agricultural fields, thermal baths, and stunning lookouts over the valley. When we returned from the hike, the owners were waiting for us, took our dinner orders, and after we showered they had prepared a gourmet three-course meal that was as good as any of the fancy restaurants in Arequipa. The breakfast the next morning -- including both a European-style buffet and eggs made to order -- was also excellent.

The owners arranged for our transport and guided bus tour through Colca Canyon from Arequipa (on a van shared with guests of Killawasi and other nearby hotels). We really appreciated this tour, but in retrospect would have loved to have spent an extra night in Killawasi. The service and beautiful countryside was that good!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor for the best views!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elliott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
There are newer reviews for Killawasi Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 646 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked a three day two night Colca Canyon tour through Killawasi Lodge and stayed here both nights. The property is beautiful and very well cared for, all the rooms have balconies and there are hammocks in the yard. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The owner was so helpful and sweet. There is a restaurant on site with creative food (alpaca steak, local trout, etc) and reasonable prices. The three hour guided trek is a must do, and the horseback ride was awesome. The Colca Canyon in general has been one of the most amazing places we have seen yet. Breakfast is included at the lodge and it was probably the best breakfast we've had in South America-delicious eggs cooked to order, fruit, jams, crepe, fresh juices, ham, cheese.

Definitely stay here when visiting Colca Canyon!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lululani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Colca canyon, a Must do. Take the 2 day trip and tell your agency you want to stay overnight at yanghi instead of chivay, had a wonderful stay and very warm welcome at killawasi lodge by rose maria, free guide for an nice 3h afternoon hike with jose and you van eat well for diner. Something different then the normal tourist track.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
Thank Christian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

In September 2012 we had a very nice stay in the Killawasi lodge. The owner is very nice and assists you in everything you may need. He also offers free hiking tours around the canyon to give a first impression. The food at the lodge is great! I absolutely recommend the alpaca steak and the great desert - most definitely the best food we had in our 3,5 weeks trip! The owner also gave us a very good impression on the Peruvian culture and told us which places to visit. I would recommend the Killawasi lodge to everyone!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nz736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

AWESOME… LOVED THIS PLACE… Can’t say enough good things about it.

Elegant, simple, beautiful, views are amazing..Clean, fabulous linens and lovely balconies. Rose-Marie who runs the place is magnificent, welcoming, friendly, and provides for your every need.

Food is SO good. Cooked to order, in other words you order through Rose-Marie, dinner is prepared and served in the restaurant about an hour later.. At our 6am breakfast I asked to bring some of our breakfast rolls on the tour bus.. Rose-Marie brought out ham, cheese, plastic bags and napkins to pack a proper snack.. SO awesome later in the morning.

The trek with Edwin through hills, ruins and hot springs with just our family for the afternoon was amazing. WE LOVED it. Off the beaten path, so beautiful.

The only negative I have to say is that I wish we had spent longer at the Killawasi Lodge… Thank you....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4travelersUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying in Killawasi Lodge in January. It is located in a fabulous setting with amazing views. Rose-Marie went out of her way to make us feel at home, and was so accommodating. The food was fantastic-breakfast was included- and dinners were of a high standard and very reasonably priced. She arranged a half day trek of the area with local guide Edwin who which was great, and finished up with a relaxing trip to the thermal baths.
Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muireanndp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We did the Arequipa-Colca-Puno 2 days 1 night trip through Killawasi lodge. The trip was definitely worth it – a great start to the seeing the Andes and all the terraces built by the Incas. The tour was excellent.
But we had been travelling a lot and were really tired by the time we got to the lodge. Sadly it also rained heavily as soon as we arrived so we could not walk around to get a feel of the quite town of Yanque and missed the three hour hike that comes with the deal and the chance to go to the springs.
But we really enjoyed our dinner there and appreciated the hospitality of the husband and wife team who run the lodge.
The room was clean and comfortable – large with a beautiful view of the hills and countryside. Free coffee and cocoa tea. No TV.
I would recommend breaking up the tour with 2 nights and one day in the peaceful town of Yanque. It’s just too much to sit on a bus for two days in a row. If you are on holiday and want to relax, this could be a good way to soak up the culture of the area, sit on your lovely balcony at the hotel, walk around the town or hike to see the sites, and just chill.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZSEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanque
0.6 mi away
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
1.0 mi away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
1.5 mi away
Belmond Las Casitas
Belmond Las Casitas
#3 of 5 in Yanque
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
3.9 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Colca
21.4 mi away
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
#1 of 2 in Cabanaconde
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killawasi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killawasi Lodge

Address: Calle Caravely 408 & calle Lima S/N | Esquina Calle Islay, Yanque 54, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Yanque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yanque
#1 Green Hotel in Yanque
#2 Family Hotel in Yanque
Price Range: $91 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Killawasi Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KILLAWASI LODGE is a hotel located in the heart of the beautiful Colca Valley,in the cozy village of Yanque, minutes of their thermal waters, its central square and its beautiful colonial church; an strategic place to visit the Colca Canyon and engage in ecotourism and adventure activities. (Distance: 160km Arequipa, Chivay 8km, Cruz del condor 35km ).We offers our guests an unforgettable life experience,sharing with them the warm attention of our people and an architecture that blends comfort and rusticity in an environment surrounded by nature and mysticism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Killawasi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killawasi Lodge Peru/Colca Canyon - Yanque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing