We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!”
Review of Killawasi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Killawasi Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yanque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

That was a wonderful experience.We stayed here for 3 days 2 nights,the room was very clean and safe.This lodge is located in Yanque which is a small and beautiful town.The food was so yummy and fresh,the rate include the breakfast,the view was great with delicious meal.If I will have chance to come here ,I will choose this lovely lodge again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris_Chuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    98
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
112
352
35
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is located in Yanque, the rooms are spacious and the views are awesome. Hot water, heatin, delicious breakfast and the tour to Uyu Uyu ruins without extra price. This is a nice place to stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coralie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, great food, great location and a good price. Highly recommended.

Guillermo is the best host you can imagine. The rooms are impeccable and very comfortable! They arrange a pick up from puno, a colca excursion and drop you off in arequipa

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you're lucky on your trip to Colca Canyon, as we were, then you will see condors as part of your visit. But regardless of your fortune on that aspect of the trip, Killawasi is a great place to spend a day or two. The lodge is very comfortable, the location is beautiful, the food is good and the hosts were fantastic. You will receive a very warm welcome, and caring stay, at this lodge ... so go if you can.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillLA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The people that run the lodge are awesome! And the food is good. It's in a beautiful, quiet village, very peaceful.

We were on a tour of Colca Canyon, which we booked through Killawasi. I forget the name of the tour company, but if I went again, regardless of the company I would skip any organized lunches at the "touristic" restaurants in Chivay, which are expensive and not that great. The lodge's restaurant was great! Wait to eat there instead if you can!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
647 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 498 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We spent 1 night here during our visit to the Colca Canyon. The hotel arranged the tour for us and included pick up and drop off from Arequipa. We found it to be very good value. The tour company that they use is Colonial which is a big company. The buses fit a maxium of 14 people. It can be a bit cramped in a bus all day but they do a good job explaining the area and there were adequate stops.

Unfortunately I got very sick with high altitude when I was there (as we ascended to 15K feet in elevation) and could not partake in the hike offered by Killawasi but my spouse did and said it was quite strenuous. The hostess at the lodge was very hospitable and offered my spouse room service since I was too ill to leave the room and could not eat at all. Also, in the morning I still was not feeling well and she said I had to option to not go to Colca Canyon and they would pick me up for the return drive to Arequipa.

Breakfast is also included in the rate and there is complimentary bottled water in the room.

The room we had was clean and functional and very good value for your money. Just be aware if you are travelling to this area that if you have altitude issues, prepare to bring your own remedies. I also asked if they had the high altitude pills for sale but unfortunately they did not.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We dithered over where to stay in Colca Canyon, but Killawasi Lodge proved to be an excellent choice. The owner, Guillermo, picked us up from Chivay, having previously made our travel arrangements to the canyon, made a few suggestions of local trips we could make and was, in general, very helpful. Rosemary too was an excellent hostess and took care of our every need.

Yanque is a small enough town to feel that it is largely untouched by the modern world, but easily with enough to do: within easy walking distance from Killawasi there is a fascinating church; interesting museum; walks alongside, or into the canyon; as well as the rope bridge across the canyon; and the highlight for us, the thermal pools (Go while the sun is still shining on the pools as it cools quickly). There are beautiful views over the Colca area from the upstairs rooms of Killawasi and the atmosphere in the lodge is calm and restful, reflecting the surroundings.

We ate delicious meals in the restaurant which, despite its small size, caters for every food preference and is happy to provide food at any time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x2_travel_bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanque
0.6 mi away
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
1.0 mi away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
1.5 mi away
Belmond Las Casitas
Belmond Las Casitas
#3 of 4 in Yanque
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
3.9 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Colca
21.4 mi away
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
#1 of 2 in Cabanaconde
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killawasi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killawasi Lodge

Property: Killawasi Lodge
Address: Calle Caravely 408 & calle Lima S/N | Esquina Calle Islay, Yanque 54, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Yanque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Yanque
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yanque
#2 Family Hotel in Yanque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Killawasi Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KILLAWASI LODGE is a hotel located in the heart of the beautiful Colca Valley,in the cozy village of Yanque, minutes of their thermal waters, its central square and its beautiful colonial church; an strategic place to visit the Colca Canyon and engage in ecotourism and adventure activities. (Distance: 160km Arequipa, Chivay 8km, Cruz del condor 35km ).We offers our guests an unforgettable life experience,sharing with them the warm attention of our people and an architecture that blends comfort and rusticity in an environment surrounded by nature and mysticism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Killawasi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killawasi Lodge Peru/Colca Canyon - Yanque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing