We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Camping!!”
Review of Jostedal Camping

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jostedal Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I wished I stayed in Norway longer to really enjoyed the camp and the surrounding area. The cabin was so nice and it had a mini fridge!! The place was so clean and well maintained. Astrid (the owner) and her mother were so pleasant and made me feel so welcome. There is a small store walking distance to buy groceries and a hotel next door to buy breakfast/lunch/dinner. The camp has a nice community room with stoves and sinks for preparing food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah999999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 86 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very nice accomodations, clean, surrounded by mountains and a perfect spot to go on hikes and visit the glacier. A special thanks to Astrid who was always smiling and happy to help, she made the stay even better!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aureliecotesergent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was just impressed by the two nice ladies that run this camping, they have the place in perfect shape. Clean and tidy. They lend us a hair dryer and gave us a few other recommendations. Also gave us two free tokens for the showers.
I love the concept of family shower were you can for all the family and also go to the bathroom. From here you have a few minutes drive to the glaciers.
Best facilities I've seen so far.
Also compared to other campings I found it of really good price for the value.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Offbeatdrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in cabin 1 for one week and had a perfect time, lovely weather on a perfect campsite. For everybody that is looking for a campsite in this region, don't look any further, you just found the best one!!

hospitality: 10/10
Clean and tidy: 10/10
kitchen: 10/10 (all new)
maintenance: 10/10
activities near campsite: 15/10 (!!)
location: 10/10

The site is owned by Astrid, the sweetness herself and we had so much fun with her husband 'Tommie' (the host)

For sure we'll come back here again! Thank you, P&R

Room Tip: make your reservation in time, because we were not the only people that found this great place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ducati1200mts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I think the most amazing thing about this camping place is the location, theres a river right next to it and a horse stable on the other side. Not to mention being surrounded by beautiful mountains!
Its close to the glacier and we also did the rafting, right from the camping site.
The owner lady was super nice and welcoming,so we had nothing but great experiences at this place. Probably the nicest one from all the ones we visited on this trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ievai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed there September 17-20, 2012 for our honeymoon. The cabin was immaculate. We stayed in one of the cabins for 6 with shower, bathroom, full kitchen, fire place and three bedrooms. The owners were wonderful, they knew it was our honeymoon and had told my father in law they were going to give us the linens and clean it for us when we left for free as a honeymoon present. The whole area is beautiful. You look out the windows and see snow covered mountains and can see and hear the stream running next to the cabin. There is a fully stocked store and restaurant in the hotel with in walking distance. We loved the whole area, we did the Icetroll trip one day and kayaked to the glacier with it snowing and the other days we went hiking and exploring on our own and finished each day with a romantic dinner by the fire in the cabin. I would recommend this place to anyone and hope to be able to go back some day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timc2167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Cabin 12 has 3 rooms, enough for 6 people to stay. There were just 2 of us though, and the price was reasonable.

The kitchen is well-stocked so best that you bought stuff from the supermarket and you can cook a meal. The location is well-situated for the glacier hike we were going to do the next morning.

The lady at reception was pretty helpful, and said her mother will help us to book the glacier hike the next morning. Next morning though, the mother was at the reception, and she tried to call, but no success. We drove direct and booked it ourselves.

Room Tip: Choose this large cabin! It's Cabin 12!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripchoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luster Municipality
0.1 mi away
Jostedal Hotel
Jostedal Hotel
#2 of 5 in Luster Municipality
73 reviews
22.8 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
369 reviews
14.6 mi away
Skjolden Hotel
Skjolden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skjolden
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Sande Camping
Sande Camping
#1 of 3 in Loen
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vassbakken Kro & Camping AS
15.8 mi away
Gaupnetunet Hotell
Gaupnetunet Hotell
#1 of 1 in Gaupne
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jostedal Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jostedal Camping

Address: Gjerde, 6871, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Luster Municipality
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Luster Municipality
Price Range: $56 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jostedal Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jostedal Camping Norway/Sogn Og Fjordane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing