We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, bad kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel De Bilderberg - Trattoria Artusi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oosterbeek
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
241 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great staff, bad kitchen”
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with the family as part of a cycling trip. The hotel has improved tremendously since I was last there and really looks so much better than it did!
While seated for dinner it was soon clear to us that somerhing had sincerely gone wrong in the kitchen. It took à lifetime to get the food that turned out to be 90% prefab...
So, when visiting; have dinner in town!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moramare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    293
    112
    41
    4
See reviews for
99
361
20
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed in hotel De Bilderberg for two nights. The reception was very friendly. The room did not have much atmosphere but had two good beds, a decent bathroom and enough space. The tv was outdated (no flatscreen and very small) but the view from the window was great...
There was a nice swimmingpool and a sauna which we used frequently in the two days that we stayed here. The environment is beautiful and Market Garden (world war II) is very present out here. You must visit the Airborne Museum!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aline0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

My family and I really enjoyed the short break we had in this wonderful hotel with excellent restaurant facilities. it has a lot of style and the location is magnificent, in the middle of woods, yet easy to reach and close to the town of Arnhem. I can only recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: not really suitable for a longer stay with (small) children, although there are bikes for rent and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvis_tonight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Excellent scenic setting in pleasant small town with a fascinating WW2 history, impressive public rooms and grounds, staff pleasant and helpful, breakfasts enjoyable. My room was also generally good and clean, with a comfortable bed, even if the room rate was quite expensive for what was on offer.

And the Hotel de Bilderberg also has some significant weaknesses:

- The lift I used was ancient, scruffy and rattly - totally out of keeping with it's surroundings.

- The TV in my room was a barely working antique.

- The only English speaking TV station available was CNN (most other hotels of a reasonable standard that I have stayed in in the Netherlands catering for foreign visitors can offer BBC1, BBC2 and BBC World). No French and very few German speaking TV stations available either - do they not expect visitors from those countries?

- And internet access, which in this day and age should be free in all rooms of hotels of a reasonable standard, was very expensive. Yet it was so slow that it appeared to be steam driven - frustrating!

So basically quite good, but more investment is needed in certain key areas. Plus a more enlightened policy re. the internet.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bullythedutchfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Came without booking. Looks very impressive and majorpublic areas are good. Massive modern extension at rear houses rooms. Some tatty bits e.g. lifts are dirty and scratched. Room was adequate and quiet.

Bar food was excellent.

Breakfast was well served and offered massive choice. Excellent bread.

Make time to visit the museum at Oosterbeek - really good, especially the cellar.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grannywalescc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Quite the rudest receptionist I've ever met. Whilst searching for a friends booking she started dealing wih a man who had walked up behind us.
Only one key for her room and when the other occupant could not be traced reception claimed they did not have another key and could not arrange for her to be let back into the room.
The burgers on the bar menu were described as 6oz with tomato salsa and parmesan and black pepper mayo. They had been cooked down to 2 or 3 oz and had the appearance and taste of compressed sawdust. No sauces. When these were requested it took someone ten minutes to bring standard bottled ketchup and mayonaisse. TIP walk to the Old PancakeHouse a few hundred yards away and for the price of a burger in this hotel (e17.50) you can get a large perfectly cooked burger with lots of extras and two large beers.
Talking of beers at one stage in the hotel we payed for large beers but got served small ones, The difference was refunded.
But for all that good sized, clean,light rooms, pleasant and convenient location and good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derylanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of an extended holiday. Good base for Arnhem (bridge too far) and country walking and cycling. Quite pricy for what you get. We came without a booking and am not sure we got a great deal. Seems quite business/conference oriented - though over the weekend is full of walkers and cyclists on special 'arrangements'.

Room was at the back, comfortable but not outstanding. Really good breakfast, but very hectic with not enough tables for all.

Easy walking/cycling distance to Arnhem and surroundings; the airborne museum is excellent,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oosterbeek
0.7 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel Wolfheze
2.9 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel De Buunderkamp
2.5 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel Klein Zwitserland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
#1 of 14 in Arnhem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
16.6 mi away
Bilderberg Residence Groot Heideborgh
1.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Arnhem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Bilderberg - Trattoria Artusi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Bilderberg - Trattoria Artusi

Property: Hotel De Bilderberg - Trattoria Artusi
Address: Utrechtseweg 261, 6862 AK Oosterbeek, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Oosterbeek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oosterbeek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Bilderberg - Trattoria Artusi 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the wonderful forests of the Veluwe, you will find Hotel De Bilderberg. Once you enter Oosterbeek and approach our stately driveway, you will immediately understand why the Hotel De Bilderberg has become such an icon. Leave the hotel on foot and you will soon find yourself immersed in the fabulous forests of the Veluwe, in every direction. For style and culture, visit Oosterbeek or the famous Kröller-Müller Museum with its extensive sculpture garden. The Netherlands Open Air Museum, the famous Ouwehands Zoo and Burgers' Zoo are also close at hand. All our hotel rooms, suites and balcony rooms are spacious and offer a wonderful view of the surrounding area. Whether you are visiting the Hotel De Bilderberg for business or pleasure, you can enjoy outstanding Italian cuisine in our Italian-oriented restaurant Trattoria Artusi. But not before a visit to our wellness centre after a long day, where a dip in the swimming pool or a spell in the sauna will ensure a relaxing evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel De Bilderberg - Trattoria Artusi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Bilderberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing