We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible”

El Artesano Wine and Cheese Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We came here as a treat after a 3 day hike from Xela and it was amazing. We ordered the cheese platter (for 2) and a plate of roast veges. The Malbec was delicious. The cheese was presented beautifully and explained well. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and if our budget allowed we would come again tomorrow.

Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    4
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
97 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

A very special reservations only spot with only 2 tables. Unfortunate that the reviewer below didn't bother to plan in advance. Call Diedrich (502) 4555-4773 well in advance and reserve an amazing experience. Try the Pheasant Pate, cured meats plate and of course the cheese plate for X number people.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dear Reviewer from S. Monica...”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Dear reviewer below from Santa Monica, we LOVE El Artisano for its lovely garden, incredible host and staff and of course the epic local collection of cheese served in generous portions. (Reviewer, you genuinely missed out and can't review somewhere you haven't been under the TripAdvisor guidelines) We go as often as possible and make our reservations a week to several months in advance because this is a 2 table RESERVATIONS ONLY restaurant. Its something very special, unique and really only for those who want to go and plan in advance. You didn't? Why should this outstanding local independent business suffer on TripAdvisor for your lack of planning? Please stop wasting time complaining and start making some reservations. El Artisano: May you always be full of polite clients. Reviewer: McDonalds will take you 7 days a week, no reservation necessary.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katharine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Truly one of my favorite restaurants and eating experiences on the planet. I have eaten here several times and tried a wide variety of offerings on the menu. I've loved them all! I highly recommend - but make reservations. Be aware that this is an experience where you want to plan a couple of hours to sit, enjoy the garden, and whoever is lucky enough to go with you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lheinbaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We arrived there after a 3 hours walk and we were looking so much forward to try it, but when we got there a gentleman that opened the door told us that he could not serve us as we did not have reservation and he did not have enough cheese neither wine.....isn't it supposed to have wine and cheese? We were shocked ! He even said that we could only have a glass of water and if we need to use to bathroom we were welcomed to do so. The thing is that we did not go there to go to the bathroom! We went there to have a glass of wine but, apparently he did not have "enough" for us! Bummer 'cause we would have wanted to open a bottle of wine....also outside it says that they are open from 12pm to 6 pm and we got there at 2 pm and the place was totally empty! No one was there. Very disappointing! If you open a business like that in San Juan La Laguna then buy enough cheese and wine to serve customers that walk in!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Artesano Wine and Cheese Restaurant also viewed

San Juan la Laguna, Lake Atitlan
San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
 
San Juan la Laguna, Lake Atitlan
San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
 
San Juan la Laguna, Lake Atitlan
 

Been to El Artesano Wine and Cheese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing